Ratings based on 2,764 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sc

Fantastic girls trip

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Very friendly, prompt, customer friendly staff. The room was huge.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, California

Historic and yet updated and comfortable

Posted Aug 13, 2016
This was our first time in Chicago and if you're into the history, charm and architecture brilliance of large cities like this, The Drake Hotel is a must. It is beautiful, elegant and though old--very updated and accomodating. The location was perfect for a tourist-type and the staff was friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Great location!! Close to everything and neat history
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Great overall experience. Friendly and helpful staff. Great location. I will stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Vintage feel and very elegant. Room felt weird with odd proportions (area-wise). Overall good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Al

Beautiful historic hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Hotel was lovely; staff pleasant ; closet had some cobwebs; blow drier didn't work and I had to ask twice for another (once upon checkin and then again the next morning). Room was small but luxurious. Public rest rooms had a "old" smell.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Candiac QC.

Confort et Style

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Chambre spacieuse ,emplacement de choix pour le shopping.
Cons: Le Wifi pas très puissant
Location: Une belle plage (facile d'accès) ,le shopping partout autour....
Un hotel qui met l'accent sur la propreté et le confort,le personnel attentionné et expérimenté toujours à l'affût de nos besoin.Nous y retournerons sûrement .....
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Happy Little Weekend

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Spent three days at the Drake and was pleased in every way. The room was comfortable; the service was lovely and the hotel was extremely well located. Three cheers!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Paul

Old Classy Hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: The old elegance and charm. Staff were excellent.
Cons: Wifi, dresser in room.
Location: Great location near water and walking distance of most sites
The service and decor was excellent and elegant. Quite surprised that there was no WiFi. That really should be part of an expensive hotel. Some reports said there was a pool and there was not. Close to the beach, yes, but not always beach weather. Our room had no view which was also a disappointment for our Chicago trip. A dresser would also be nice when you are staying several days
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location is great for beach lovers and shoppers

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: Its location.
Cons: Everything - bedroom amenities and cleanliness but most importantly less grumpy staff.
Location: The beach is across the road.
The hotel is tired and jaded and so are the staff. Other than the doormen the staff were generally unenthusiastic and unfriendly. It is a hotel trading on its past reputation and all in all staying there was a major disappointment. The room - a junior suite - felt musty and smelt awful and the bathroom was what one would expect in a YMCA - plastic bath and soap containers, grubby toilet. I would not stay here again.