Ratings based on 2,755 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Al

Beautiful historic hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Hotel was lovely; staff pleasant ; closet had some cobwebs; blow drier didn't work and I had to ask twice for another (once upon checkin and then again the next morning). Room was small but luxurious. Public rest rooms had a "old" smell.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Candiac QC.

Confort et Style

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Chambre spacieuse ,emplacement de choix pour le shopping.
Cons: Le Wifi pas très puissant
Location: Une belle plage (facile d'accès) ,le shopping partout autour....
Un hotel qui met l'accent sur la propreté et le confort,le personnel attentionné et expérimenté toujours à l'affût de nos besoin.Nous y retournerons sûrement .....
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Happy Little Weekend

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Spent three days at the Drake and was pleased in every way. The room was comfortable; the service was lovely and the hotel was extremely well located. Three cheers!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Paul

Old Classy Hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: The old elegance and charm. Staff were excellent.
Cons: Wifi, dresser in room.
Location: Great location near water and walking distance of most sites
The service and decor was excellent and elegant. Quite surprised that there was no WiFi. That really should be part of an expensive hotel. Some reports said there was a pool and there was not. Close to the beach, yes, but not always beach weather. Our room had no view which was also a disappointment for our Chicago trip. A dresser would also be nice when you are staying several days
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location is great for beach lovers and shoppers

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: Its location.
Cons: Everything - bedroom amenities and cleanliness but most importantly less grumpy staff.
Location: The beach is across the road.
The hotel is tired and jaded and so are the staff. Other than the doormen the staff were generally unenthusiastic and unfriendly. It is a hotel trading on its past reputation and all in all staying there was a major disappointment. The room - a junior suite - felt musty and smelt awful and the bathroom was what one would expect in a YMCA - plastic bath and soap containers, grubby toilet. I would not stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and convenient to shopping and restaurants.

Posted Jun 26, 2016
My complaints are that our room did not have a view and that at one point we came back to our room and there was a strong smell of cigarette smoke. When I complained to the front desk they said it was from the outside intake vents. My daughter is allergic to cigarette smoke and when I told the man at the front desk about this he shrugged and said there was nothing he could do. Though the smell was largely gone when we returned to the room after dinner, I really felt like he should have offered to move us.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent hotel in a great location.

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Pros: Excellent hotel, great facilities, wonderful staff, very close to shops, bars, restaurants and attractions. 10 out 10.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Great location, very easy to get around.
Had a fantastic trip. Chicago is a brilliant place to visit. Very easy to get around, either walking or using the 'L'. The locals were extremely friendly and welcoming. Always felt safe walking around the city in the evening, there were plenty of police officers around, never ever felt intimidated. Plenty of great walks, for example the lake shore, Grant, Millennium and Lincoln Parks. Fantastic views of the lake and city from the top of Hancock and Willis Towers. Would definitely recommend the architectural river cruise, it was very interesting and a great way to see the city. Lots of great places to eat, something for everyone. Went to watch the Chicago Cubs play the LA Dodgers at Wrigley Field, it was awesome. Chicago gets a 10 out 10.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

We Love the Drake

Posted May 17, 2016
When in Chicago, we always stay at the Drake. Location is excellent and so are the people.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from w

Great location

Posted Apr 27, 2016
The hotel lobby and main level were impressive. The room itself functional but nothing special. I'm surprised there was no toilet paper after the room was cleaned and the used wine glasses weren't changed.. Yes, I would still reccomend this hotel. The bar there was great
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seoul

an old-world hotel at the best location

Posted Apr 27, 2016
Pros: location and atmosphere
Was at the best location to enjoy downtown Chicago and lakeside. Old fashioned hotel but clean.