Ratings based on 2,136 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

Don't do it

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Not much
Cons: Lots
Location: Location is excellent
Not what you'd expect for almost $400 a night. 1) Lousy greeting at check in 2) no coffee in the room??? 3) took room service almost 5 minutes to answer my call for breakfast 4) waited 30 minutes for a waiter in the restaurant for lunch
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Nice place to stay in downtown Chicago! Neat rooftop lounge.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very nice hotel!

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Walking distance to shopping, navy pier, Chicago river and Lake Michigan.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location, location, location.

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Everything, but mostly my comfortable bed and the fast service of the hotel staff.
Cons: Waking maps of the immediate area would be nice.
Location: The Billy Goat from Saturday Night live...cool bar and hamburger spot Trump Tower, Signature bar and Boat Cruise
We walked to the BEST pizza pie place "Giordano's from the Gwen within 5 minutes. We walked to Trump Plaza to enjoy the terrace bar overlooking the river and back with no problems. This hotel and my room was clean. The lobby has an amazing decor with a friendly staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Great location for us

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Todd, Brian, Meg Centrally located for the things we did--within walking distance to everything
Cons: The lobby was very clean, attractive and up to date although I am not a fan of modern decor. I found the lobby cold and uninviting.
Location: Volare-excellent Italian restaurant, Architectural river cruise Art Institute Planetarium Navy Pier Grant Park
Excellent service, with WiFi connection, from Todd at the front desk. Both concierges, Brian and Meg, helped us with useful information on our 3 day stay in Chicago.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Within walking distance

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Bathrooms
Cons: Some of the renovations appear spotty in places
Location: Michigan Avenue, Eataly, and lots of restaurants within walking distance
So many great places to get to right outside the hotel. It's small and comfortable yet with one of the largest bathrooms I've had in a hotel of this vintage.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from m

Needs a better iron

Posted Sep 3, 2016
I may be the only person that ever irons, but their model leaked and never got hot enough
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Outstanding

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Very nice hotel. I thought the food and the service were outstanding. Staff very attentive and knowledgeable. Would stay there again and recommend to others.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Nice hotel with a wonderful views

Posted Aug 29, 2016
I will certainly come back . I really enjoyed staying in the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

Romantic weekend.

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Location and amenities.
Cons: Wish the elevators to lobby and rooms were combined.
Location: Shopping, Navy Pier, dinner.
Great central shopping location. My second stay at the Gwen.