Ratings based on 2,122 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

Romantic weekend.

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Location and amenities.
Cons: Wish the elevators to lobby and rooms were combined.
Location: Shopping, Navy Pier, dinner.
Great central shopping location. My second stay at the Gwen.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Perfect location! Great hotel!

Posted Aug 3, 2016
My friend and I spent 5 days at the hotel. It is in a perfect location for shopping, site seeing and exploration. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and clean. The fitness studio on the 11th floor was clean and updated equipment. They offer water, apples and towels in the studio. The valet staff were friendly and helpful. Overall it was a great hotel. We would definitely stay there again. A few sites near by include Michigan Ave, DuSable bridge, Navy Pier. Shopping includes Magnificent Mile, Nordstrom's, Eataly,Marshalls. There is a great AMC theatre near by if you want to catch a movie. Great food around the hotel area including Joe's steak and seafood.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N

Muy buen hotel.

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Excelente hubicacion y atencion, limpieza, servicio, etc. Definitivamente volveria a hospedarme aqui.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to downtown

Posted Jul 26, 2016
My only complaint is that the room got cleaned so late in the day but otherwise it was a great hotel! Convienent location you can walk everywhere.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Expedia room description was misleading and hotel was very expensive for the basic room
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Gwen

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: We liked the attention we received from the staff and the of the room. We ate breakfast at the Gwen and the food and service were both excellent.
Location: The hotel is located 1 block west of North Michigan Ave. and 4 blocks west of Navy Pier. It is located near quality restaurants, shopping.
The Gwen is a first-class hotel, conveniently located to Michigan Ave, and Navy Pier. The staff was exceptional and our room was clean, very comfortable and well-appointed. I would highly recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Great location, close to everything

Posted Jun 9, 2016
Pros: Location can't be beat but they need to upgrade the rooms. They did give us a late checkout at no charge which was appreciated.
Cons: Rooms need to be cleaned better.
Location: Lots of restaurants nearby and also the Navy Pier. Close to shopping as well.
Room not very clean, Fridge did not work. I looked behind to see if it was plugged in and so much dirt/dust behind there. Bathroom was nice but vomit on the door. As the fridge didn't work went to get ice, the icemakers not working either. We had breakfast included but they gave us cards for a continental only and informed we had to eat in the restaurant. We go for breakfast and no continental breakfast on the menu so we had to pay everyday. We went to have a drink on the patio and informed you cannot eat or drink there without a reservation. Found the staff a bit snobby. When I phoned the front desk to tell them fridge did not work - they said it only comes on for 5 minutes every 4 hours and should be used for beverages only - I guess if you like your beverages warm. Liked everything about Chicago accept the hotel. We are going back in September but not staying here. Not a luxury experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Österreich

Sehr gutes Hotel an der Magnificent mile

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Pros: Die Kompetenz und Hilfsbereitschaft des Personals....
Cons: Die etwas abgenutzen Einrichtungsgegenstände aus den sonst sehr schönen Zimmern erneuern.
Location: Unzählige Einkaufs und Shoppingmöglichkeiten in der unmittelbaren Nähe ;-)
Das Hotel liegt fast unmittelbar an der magnificent mile und ist über den Eingang der North Bridge Shoppingmall oder über die Rush Street erreichbar. Die Lobby und das Restaurant im 5. Stock wurden komplett neu umgebaut. Auch die Zimmer sind sehr sauber ( werden täglich gereinigt ) und man fühlt sich gleich Wohl. Rundum, ein paar schöne Tage in einem sehr guten 4* Hotel in einer großartigen Stadt.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Impecable

Posted May 21, 2016 on Hotels
Muy buena estadía. Altamente recomendable!
4 out of 5
by JOSE P

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
El staff muy amable y servicial. Estaban en obras, la zona provisional del desayuno en un pasillo!! no era adecuada. El desayuno pobre e incompleto.