Ratings based on 2,407 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

The love the Gwen, but...

Posted May 25, 2017
I've stayed at the Gwen at least five times...its a beautiful facility...every stay has been great...until I was meeting a friend at the hotel bar and was accosted by ear splitting music, very (VERY) scantily clad men and woman (tiny bikinis) and the walk ways to the exits were generally blocked the do and a woman belly dancing...as I write this, I can't believe I am complaining, but this is s business hotel and you can not only not walk to the elevator, you can't talk to someone in or around the lobby...you want an amateurish, poorly executed party, I guess this is your place...not mine
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, illinois

Hotel full of potential

Posted May 16, 2017
The hotel was great. Close to the pier and the magnificent mile for shopping. Really Good services. Was only disappointed with the wifi and the deposit of $150 you add to pay extra on arrival wasn't expected . When I read my Expedia booking,it was saying I haven't got anymore payment to make . Extra was only for valet, parking and extra but nothing about deposit . You need to make it clear ( what we paid for and most of all what we expecting to pay on arrival.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2017
Very close to many Attractions, foods and shopping.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for leaving some feedback about your recent stay and for the five-star rating! I am so glad you were happy with our proximity to local attractions. We hope you enjoyed Chicago and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario Canada

Great hotel hidden in a great location

Posted May 16, 2017
Great location in the heart of the magnificent mile Chicago. The staff is excellent, the concierge could have been more knowledgeable The room is spacious and have every thing we wanted also very clean The price is just right
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AZ

Great location and nice hotel.

Posted May 14, 2017
It was a great room and hotel over all. Asked for a view since it was our first time but saw office buildings which was disappointing. Overall great place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Practical and close to everthing.

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: Quiet, modern and recently renovated.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Close to shopping, Chicago river and Millenium Park.
Very nice modern hotel. Recently renovated. Modern style. Close to everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything. Great hotel. No complaints

Posted May 12, 2017
We stay on Mag Mile quite often and this hotel is definitely in the top three. Would recommend!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No value for money.

Posted May 9, 2017
Expected more. Did not know es a pet friendly hotel / I suffer from pet allergies
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Great place to walk to everything.

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: In the center
Cons: $70 for parking seems high coming from a small town of Cincinnati where we pay $20 for valet. But I saw that is the going rate for the big cities.
Had a fabulous time at the Gwen. Waking distance to all the shopping and eating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Nice Boutique Hotel

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: Proximity to sights and eateries.
Cons: housekeeping, lighting, front desk staff.
The front desk check in was a bit disappointing, though somewhat expected since there was only one person and 5 individual parties checking in, I think she just got flushed. The rooms are nice and with a new art deco look. Most of the hotel appears clean and updated. The nicest folks were the doormen – who wouldn’t have thought! They do have a nice bar area, though not much of a view, depending on where you’re at in the hotel. They do have a nice connection to the mall, which is nice if it’s cold and raining outside. The hotel is conveniently close to most eating places and shopping. You’re also close to the Riverwalk and sights.