Ratings based on 2,356 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisxonsin

Luxurious and conveniently located

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Amazing rooms and bar area. Hotel is right in the middle of everything we wanted. Restaurants and shops right by the hotel. I would definetly go back. The one thing that could make this hotel better is a hot tub or pool. Use self park acceso the street and you will save some money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Location, decor, staff
Had a wonderful time staying at the Gwen this past weekend. We stayed in one of the newly renovated rooms and it was beautiful and spacious. The lobby is gorgeous. Staff was very nice and helpful. Chris the bartender was great. We had to wait for a friend was was arriving late and chatted with him for awhile.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

Nice hotel great location

Posted Mar 24, 2017
This was a nice hotel. We were in a newly renovated room and it was beautiful and very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

Beautiful hotel in downtown Chicago

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: All of the above . . .
Cons: Seriously cannot think of a thing!
Location: This Hotel is in the heart of the downtown area. Nordstrom's is right across the street. It is near some fabulous restaurants.
I had a short stay (one night) and was looking for a hotel in downtown Chicago. On the Expedia website, The Gwen was one of many that fit my criteria. I basically chose it because it had a nice website and was within a short walking distance to the Restaurant we were going to that evening and the room rates were comparable to others in the area. I am so glad I chose the Gwen! What a great find! This hotel is modern, extremely well maintained, the rooms were pristine and had all the amenities you would expect in a five star hotel. The lobby and bar areas were open and inviting and the Hotel staff were very welcoming and accommodating. Breakfast was the only meal I had there. My omelet was delicious and the service was again friendly, prompt and accommodating. I will definitely recommend this Hotel to others and hope I get the opportunity to visit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wilmette il

Nice updates hotel

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Very nice updated hotel and it's close to everything!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love the hotel!

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Great Hotel, perfect location, wonderful staff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: Its location downtown.
Cons: The sheets could be a bit softer but that may not be possible.
Location: Nordstrom across the street. Very close to the mile of shopping and to Northwestern campus.
On business to attend class at Northwestern. Able to walk everywhere I needed to and take the train to/from O'Hare.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really convenient

Posted Mar 11, 2017
I really loved it, the location was really convenient and close to everything. I am definitely planning on coming back soon. The best hotel in Chicago as I see.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Newly renovated. Excellent location.

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: New rooms
Cons: Still at higher floors to avoid renovation noise.
Location: Magnificent miles shopping and dining.
Adjacent to the Magnificent Miles, great for shopping and dining. Most of the rooms are newly renovated. They are still carrying out renovation works on the 5/F which can therefore get a bit noisy during the day. Lobby and the lounge bar are great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location and nice lobby.

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Location and lobby ambience.
Cons: Rooms are in need of renovation.
Location: Shops and restaurants.
Stayed at the 5/F. Room dated. Construction noise during the day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2017 by The Gwen Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Chicago. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy the condition of your room. We are currently undergoing full renovation of all the guest rooms that is set to be completed in April. I hope you give us another chance and choose to stay with us again. Sincerely, The Gwen Hotel