Ratings based on 2,461 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Great location

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Comfortable room, love the bathroom! Quick check-in. Rooms are decorated nicely. Robes and slippers are provided. Also, nice rooftop!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario

Great location

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Awesome location with super easy access off of Michigan ave.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sherwood Park

great location newly renovated

Posted Jul 20, 2017
The location is a 5 minute walk from the redline train. Walking distance to Navy pier. It looks and feels like a luxury hotel. The rooftop patio just off the lobby would be perfect if the service could step it up. Both times we tried Having drinks and snacks there it took about 30 minutes to get a beer or wine, and 1 hr for a burger.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2017
The staff was great and the hotel was laid out in an awesome fashion. I would highly recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Great location, amazing rooftop, comfy and clean rooms. Staff are helpful and it's close to shopping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grosse Pointe MI

Loved the hotel. Would definitely stay again.

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Everything
Location: Easy walk to the Miracle Mile
Everyone was polite and accommodating, from the valet, to the reception desk, to the concierge. This was my third hotel in downtown Chicago in the last 6 months, and I liked it the best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Great outdoor patio Service was excellent Convenient location
Cons: Needs a pool
Location: Close to everything: Restaurants, Michigan ave, Navy Pier, river walk etc...
We had a great weekend stay at the Gwen. Our room was available early which was a bonus. The rooms were great and beds very comfortable. We ate out so I can't comment on the food but we had drinks on the outdoor terrace a few times and it was great. Free coffee in the morning which is a nice perk. Overall, I would go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

The gwen

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Very nice hotel, good location, bar is a bit average though
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Excellent! Great location and ideal for exploring Chicago
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Newly Renovated

Posted Jul 8, 2017
I stayed here 2 years ago and the hotel was just ok, it was nothing to rave about. Due to where it's located I decided to stay here again only after seeing that it had been renovated. I must say I was totally impressed with the changes and updates. Actually I was WOWED! The decor of the hallways as well as the rooms were simply beautiful. I loved the lighting and coziness of the room. I want to give a special thanks to the bartenders Naomi "MiMi" and Drew who provided us with the utmost hospitality and service. They were very friendly and kind. My only complaint is that on the day of checkout the housekeeper came knocking at the door at 8am calling out housekeeping. When she realized I was still there, and not ready for the room to be cleaned she said she would come back only to comeback a 1/2 hour to 45 minutes later to call out housekeeping again. She apologized, but I kinda felt rushed and a little annoyed by the second knock at the door. However, the second time around this hotel turned out to be a true gem.