Ratings based on 2,842 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Room was okay but worn looking. Bed was jammed into an alcove with no room to walk around it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2016 by Stephen Blackford, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to offer some feedback regarding your recent stay at The James Chicago. As always our great location is something that we are very happy to be able to offer our guests. I do want to apologize that your guest room was not up to your expectations. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back during your next visit to Chicago.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Nice hotel, amazing location. Very accommodating staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2016 by Stephen Blackford, Hotel Management
Dear Oscar, Thank you for taking the time to offer some feedback regarding your most recent stay at The James Chicago. Our staff and our location are two of the things we receive the most comments about and you are correct we do have a great location and a wonderful team who always go above and beyond for all of our guests.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Pros: Clean, convenient, friendliness.
Everybody was super friendly and it was close to Michigan Avenue- just a few steps out the door.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2016 by Stephen Blackford, Hotel Management
It sounds like you fully enjoyed your experience at The James Chicago. With so much within walking distance I hope you were able to take advantage of as many attractions as possible. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, not so nice hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: location is great; lots of restaurants and shopping close by
Cons: hotel needs a serious update and remodel
Location: plenty of restaurants, trader joe's across street, starbucks across street, shopping near by
1 elevator broken down and no signage; room old, dirty, and in need of repairs and paint.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2016 by Stephen Blackford, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback regarding your most recent stay at The James Chicago. As always it is great to hear when guests are so please with our location and makes it easier on them to make their way around the neighborhood. I do want to apologize that your guest room was not up to your standards. We always do our best to ensure all of our guests satisfaction during their time with us. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back during your next visit to Chicago.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent position for Magnificent Mile

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Pros: Polite, friendly including very helpful Concierge staff. Adjoining restaurant very convenient for breakfast, very good sized and clean bedrooms.
Cons: Probably benefit from couple more lifts.
Location: Ideally positioned for major shops, vast range of restaurants and within a very short walk of the 'Magnificent Mile'.
With so many hotels to choose from it was very reassuring that we'd chosen a well maintained hotel. If you want a reasonably priced option, well located for so many amenities then the James is ideal. Just off North Michigan Avenues Magnificent Mile, the James can provide for all your hotel needs whilst in Chicago. From a well stocked and sizeable bedroom (care when using mini-bar as this is chargeable), to spa facilities everything is readily available, you won't be disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2016 by Stephen Blackford, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to offer some feedback regarding your recent stay at The James Chicago. I am very happy to hear that your accommodations met all of your needs during your time with us. It is always great to hear that with all of the option in Chicago you chose us and were not disappointed. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Chicago.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Walking distance to downtown

Posted May 17, 2016
Friendly staff, everything was perfect. I was there for 5 days, and no issues.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2016 by Stephen Blackford, Hotel Management
I am very happy to hear that you had such a wonderful stay during the week you were here with us at The James Chicago. It is great to hear that all the team members you encountered were more than accommodating during your time here. We cannot wait to welcome you back during your next visit to Chicago.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Monza

Ottima posizione

Posted May 17, 2016
Pros: La posizione
Cons: Camere un po troppo minimaliste
Location: La posizione è il punto di forza è vicino al centro, a negozi e ristoranti
Gradevole nel complesso, ottima posizione, parcheggio dell'hotel molto caro
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2016 by Stephen Blackford, Hotel Management
Dear Salvo, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The James Chicago. We are very lucky to be in the location that we are where everything is quite walkable. Thank you for taking the time to offer some feedback regarding your recent stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Qld, Australia

Great hotel near everything in downtown

Posted May 17, 2016
Big room with the most comfy bed, separate seating area, & great bathroom with upmarket toiletries. Staff were all friendly & helpful. Free bikes a nice bonus.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2016 by Stephen Blackford, Hotel Management
Dear Holly, Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at The James Chicago. It is great to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your guest room and the Intelligent Nutrient bath products. I hope you were able to take advantage of our complimentary bikes during your stay, they are a great way to get out and see the neighborhood. We cannot wait to welcome you back during your next visit to Chicago.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Close to all visitor attractions easy to find clos

Posted May 15, 2016
Excellent position close to the magnificent mile near to good restauants
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2016 by Stephen Blackford, Hotel Management
Dear erb, We are very fortunate to be located very centrally with so many attractions within walking distance a vehicle is rarely needed. Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at The James Chicago.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Perfect location, pleasant hotel

Posted May 14, 2016
Pros: Convenient location. Close to L (red line) and most attractions
Cons: Control the heat.
Location: Location is very good - close to Magnificent Mile
We stayed for 5 nights. Room was on the 6-th floor. The windows were looking at the inner yard(very quiet) and you could open the windows !!!! The bottle of fresh water, choice of tea and electrical kettle are on the table. Room and bathroom are spacious. The towels are fresh and white! Fridge, 2 TVs and bathrobes - what else do you need!? The bed is comfortable and sheets are clean.The down blanket was too hot for me and you can't switch off the heat - that is why I gave 4 but not 5 (room comfort)
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2016 by Stephen Blackford, Hotel Management
Dear Luba, Thank you for taking the time to offer some feedback regarding your recent stay at The James Chicago. It sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed your time here and I am happy to hear that your guest room met all of your standards, minus the heat issue, which I will pass along to our engineering team. We eagerly anticipate your return during your next visit to Chicago.