Ratings based on 874 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2017
room was comfortable but dated. Location is ideal for Wrigley field.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Wrigley Field

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: proximity to wrigley field, was able to walk to the game and seemed safe.
Cons: They have probably maximized what can be done to this old hotel.
Location: Wrigley Field
Old hotel, some charm. Don't know where they took the picture of the room on this site. Our room was tiny, creeking floors, bathroom wallpaper peeling off wall. Seems overpriced for what we got. They have a quaint old room with long old wooden tables for continental breakfast. Staff are friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from McHenry, IL

Nice, clean hotel!

Posted May 15, 2017
Hotel was very nice, clean, comfortable bed! There were loud people on my floor and had to call front desk 2x but they took care of the situation. I would stay here again without hesitation!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Would recommend, with caution...

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: The staff is fabulous!! From checking in with Mona to checking out with David, every staff member greeted us often and checked on us.
Cons: The building is old - lots of character! - so noise will happen. Provide white noise options in the first floor rooms??
Location: Located in a beautiful neighborhood just off Lake Shore Drive. Walking distance to Wrigley Field and a great local pizza joint called Si-Pie.
The incredible staff, fun "neighborhood" location and unique hotel ambiance is what made this stay a success. However, it is a very old hotel and we were placed on the first floor, directly next to the check-in desk (there is no "lobby"). The floor above us creaked anytime the guests above moved...and they didn't check in until after midnight. Also, the pipes are connected, so every time one of the rooms flushed or took a shower our sink gurgled loudly...also, at all hours. Our room was extremely cold when we checked in. I asked about this and was assured the heat would kick on eventually. However, after a couple of hours with several layers on, we asked again and were given a space heater. It did the trick in just a few minutes and, sure enough, the heat kicked on a little while later and we were plenty warm all night. The staff always saw to our needs!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location but needs updated

Posted May 10, 2017
Close to Wrigley field and the lake. Great charm but is in old building that could use a lot of updating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: Older hotel with great employees and close to ball park
Cons: Serve complete breakfast
Location: Next to lake shore and walking distance to many restaurants
Arrive at hotel at 5pm to check in and was greeted by employee to check us in and one to take our bags!Super nice people and answered all our needs!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas

The rooms are nothing like the pictures

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: Close walk to the Cubs game
Cons: Take down the posted pictures of the rooms and replace them with more accurate pictures. It was very misleading.
Location: You have to go see a Cubs game. It was a once in a lifetime experience going to Wrigley field
The staff was great but I was disappointed with the hotel after the pictures of the rooms look nothing like the actual rooms. For paying $200 per night I expected a room like what the pictures showed. Instead, we got an old room with old AC window units. The only heat you have is this tiny 3 inch little hole in the wall that blows heat and that's it. The room was very old and outdated. Plus we were also disappointed that they said they have a continental breakfast and when we get down there is is literally cold cereal and pastries. Do not let the pictures of the rooms fool you. I don't know where those rooms are but I can assure you they are not in that hotel. The one thing I would recommend this hotel for is it is a short little walk down the street to see the Chicago Cubs game which was very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2017
Nice hotel has old world style we would stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: The staff was amazing
Cons: A major renovation of all the rooms!
This hotel is in a great location but is in dire, dire need of a renovation. It is cute and charming on the exterior but we were very disappointed with our room - the carpet was extremely worn, the wallpaper in the bathroom was moldy and peeling near the shower and the sink among many other things. There was a small window in the shower that was broken and bent that let cold air in. The photos in the listing are very deceiving and do not show a true depiction of the hotel rooms. The staff was FABULOUS though, probably some of the best customer service I've ever encountered.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Awesome location!

Posted Apr 22, 2017
We took our one year old and stayed three nights. The staff all loved him even when he was in places he wasn't exactly supposed to be.