Ratings based on 2,362 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2017
wonderful stay! Bathroom very small needed more counter space. Beautiful hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Room was nice but a little small but still cozy. Had good food at potters . Check in was fast despite reviews saying otherwise. The parking attendant in front of entrance was very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

A Chicago Classic

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Located conveniently in the Loop, the Palmer House is close to shopping, shows, and museums. The "L" and subway are only a few steps away.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Posted Jan 13, 2017
They charge $75 a day to park and they charged us $114.89 and said we used there mini bar when we never touched it. House keepiuwas great but everyone else was very rude. Never again will we stay here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful historic hotel; terrible staff

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Cons: Train employees on how to treat customers!
I booked my hotel through Expedia months in advance, but when I arrived, the front desk clerk had no record of my reservation, and was extremely rude. She acted like I was trying to pull a fast one about my reservation, even though I had the paperwork to confirm that I had a reservation. She was not at all helpful - tried to send me away and tell me to come back later - even though there were rooms available. I finally had to demand to see a manager before I could get a room. I wrote a letter to the hotel manager about my experience with the front desk staff, and he has not bothered to respond. I've stayed at the Palmer House several times in the past, but have no intention of going back there again, given their horrible customer service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from IL

Heart of Chicago

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Elegant, close to everything you need in Chicago. The history of the place makes you pause, and want to slow your pace.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Cons: the maintenance in the bathroom, the water was not hot and the showerheads did not give out much water
Location: the hotel is near the Monroe stop on the Red Line so it's close to Millenium Park, Willis Tower, Art Institute
It was great! Beautiful architecture and really nice room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Too much hallway noise

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Too much hallway noise. Sound travel right through the room. However the room was very comfortable and clean. Just wish there was more sound proofing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

classic downtown hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Pros: location, ambience
Cons: The retaurant menu is not what it once was.
Location: shopping, theater, business
I come to Chicago for business several times a year. The Palmer House is a comfortable, elegant, centrally located hotel. If I can, I arrange to stay there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madsion, WI

Great public spaces, paper thin walls

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Pros: Love the lobby and the shops.
Location: Location is excellent. Close to Millenium Park, the Auditorium Theatre, State St. shopping.
The lobby experience here is just great -- beautiful, historic room with good food / beverage service and wonderful people watching. But, our room was teeny, tiny and the walls are paper thin. We heard everything in the next rooms and had terrible sleep.