Ratings based on 2,384 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and close to all the shops!!

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Amazing place, excellent staff and very helpful. They know how to follow instructions. The rooms are very comfortable And they have incredible view. It was easy to get to the places we wanted to visit. Everything was walking distance. The decor can take your breath away and make you easily believe you are somewhere in London!!! Beautiful!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love the charm of this hotel and great location!

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Perfect place to stay and see and do all the things we did on a beautiful Chicago weekend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

great location....right on the red line "L" train.

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Starbucks, Merz (?) bath shoppe adjacent, oversized rooms with 2 bathrooms
Cons: bedroom decor is ready for an update
Location: red line "L," shopping, restaurants, theatre
pleasant service, clean room. gorgeous historic lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, Co

Very clean and maintained well. Friendly staff.

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Beautiful hotel.
Cons: I did not like how expensive the hotel parking is.
Location: I was able to walk to just about everywhere that I needed to go.
I enjoyed my stay. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. There was on restaurant in side the hotel that I ate at where the temperature was a bit on the cold side but other than that, it was a pleasant experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Beautiful

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Beautiful historic hotel in a perfect location. Walking distance to restaurants and shopping.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic Chicago Hotel

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Don't expect modern state of the art amenities, but do expect a clean, well run, historical hotel. Perfect for a couple trying to get away for the weekend and wanting to stay somewhere that screams old Chicago. Make sure to try out the Italian Village which is a block and a half to the West.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Beautiful historic downtown hotel.

Posted Feb 14, 2017
My favourite Chicago hotel. Full of history and a gorgeous hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

A taste of history at a great price

Posted Feb 14, 2017
We had a wonderful time at the Palmer House Hilton. The staff was very friendly and courteous and it was very clean. Our room was small but very tastefully furnished and had a nice view of the skylight window over the fitness area and pool. They upgraded us to a king for only $10 more and it was very comfortable. The sitting room is gorgeous and makes for many photo opportunities, plus it's just a cool place to sit and relax, enjoying a beverage and the music. Some downsides were: there was no coffeemaker in the room, which we thought was on the level of a Motel 6, and we thought we'd have to pay $9 for a pot through room service but found out upon checkout that we could've gotten one but we had to ask for it. This was never mentioned but would've been helpful. The pool was kind of a disappointment too-it s smaller than in the pictures and filled with kids. It closed at 9 so it wasn't open late enough if grown-ups just wanted to enjoy. The hot tub was also tiny, and the 'capacity 5' sign was repeatedly ignored and not policed-not good in such a cramped area. We tried the steam rooms too but they were scalding hot. Also there was no vending machine on our floor, although the sign to the room said there was. Still, minor drawbacks to a fantastic hotel in such a cool location. We love Miller's Pub and were delighted to find out it was right outside. Plus just being in downtown and part of the nightlife in a posh hotel for a bargain-less than $100 for the night-couldn't be beat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice old Hotel with History parking is high but a

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: History
Cons: pool
Location: downtown area if this is what you like.
self parking was high and I was charged more to park in wrong lot
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago, Illinois

Excellent pairing with Hamilton experience

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Nice charm! Upgraded to business class which apparently is a much bigger room. Perfect for my family of 4 with a roll-a-bed. Short walk to Hamilton. Great location and staff at hotel.