Ratings based on 8,496 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Formerly Grand,

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: The ceiling in the lobby. Good location.
Cons: Take better care of ALL guests.
Location: Good location. Near Art Institute and Symphony.
My visit was a disaster. The hotel was overrun by a farmers convention who turned the hallways into their party space. The management did nothing to control this despite repeated pleas from the disturbed and angry other visitors. A nightmare! Room service is way overpriced. Charged extra for a packeage being brought to my room. However, the maintenance fellow who removed the hairball clogging the bathtub drain was very friendly and quick to respond.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: Location
Nice lobby, and bar areas. However, our room was very small and the room service staff woke us up on the check out day at 9am by knocking at the door and then just walking away (we didn't request a wake-up knock).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Beautiful historic hotel

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: Location, historic building
Cons: The bathrooms in the regular rooms need updating.
The Palmer House is perfectly located within walking distance of all the activities of Millennium park as well as the Art Institute of Chicago. The hotel staff went out of their way to accommodate our many requests including a mini-fridge to store milk for my newborn and a crib. We had a wonderful time and will definitely stay at this hotel again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from OHIO

right on the parade route

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: sometimes the room smelled bad
Location: parade, Christmas bizarre on Daley Square (ChrisKringle), deepdish pizza at Giordano's, the Bean, The Shedd Aquarium
This is a great place to stay if you are in Chicago for the McDonald's Thanksgiving Day parade. I purchased the breakfast for 2 days and we ordered room service 1 night. The Thanksgiving Buffet was too expensive so we did room service instead and it was very good!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Lovely grand dame in the heart of Chicago!!

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: Price, location, service, staff, everything.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Theatre, dining, Art Institute, shopping, Lake Michigan, Field Museum, Grant & Milineum Parks.
Beautiful, well maintained historic hotel in the heart of Chicago. Decorated for Christmas, fun to watch families come to admire and to take pictures by the Christmas tree.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect for a weekend get-away

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: The hotel has great style. The ambiance, the art-work are all nicely done and take care of.
Cons: Booked the hotel through Expedia. Though Expedia lets you add Hilton Honors#, we were not awarded Honors points for the stay.
Location: Close to Millennium Park and Art Institute of Chicago. 15 minute walk to Lakeshore Drive. 10 minute drive to Michigan Ave for shopping!
Stayed there only for a night but had a wonderful stay! The view from our room was great - could see the Trump Tower. The staff was very friendly though it was very busy with it being the Thanksgiving weekend. Ordering food via room service was easy and convenient - just save the order on the tablet and call to confirm the order. Food was delivered in a timely manner as well. Thanksgiving parade is right outside the hotel on State St. Would definitely stay here when we come back to Chicago and recommend it to our friends :)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice hotel in the middle of the downtown area.

Posted Nov 30, 2016
great experience. if they have free internet, I would rate it 5.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

very nice historical hotel!

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Visit the lobby and enjoy a cocktail there is great experience!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Play on State St

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Old, classic, with the modern touchs and upgrades.
We wanted to be on State St and close to Macy's. This was perfect location. 2 blocks to Macy's, another block west to Christkindlmarket, and back to Michigan Ave to Millennium Park to see the bean. A lot of food choices all around also. We were able to sit right outside of hotel doors to watch the Thanksgiving Day Parade. We had chairs and sat right on the curb, front row. Very cool.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great place to stay

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Very elegant and conveniently located within walking distance of Chicago's landmarks and shopping. The staff was on top of anything I needed.