Ratings based on 536 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and service, good location

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Location is good. 10-20 minutes’ walk (8 – 10 blocks) to South to the “river” area. It is a nice walk along the “magnificent mile” part of the Michigan ave. There are other hotels closer to that area if you do not want the walk. Just a block from the 360 Chicago Observatory. Facilities are very good. The Lobby is on the 5th floor making in / out of the hotel a bit inconvenient with a separate elevator ride. Because of this the entrance to the hotel is rather underwhelming as well. Lobby area is nice with the main restaurant. You will probably not have lunch / dinner here but breakfast is good. There is a Chinese restaurant and a bar as well that we did not try. Rooms are near excellent. Clean, new and modern although not big. Beds are some of the best I had. The room would have been a top 5 star except for the single lavatory where double is now common on top hotels. Service is excellent with one exception that there was no water in the room the first day. It may have been an isolated case, but you may want to check that when you check in. Front desk and concierge were great. The latter had very good suggestions for restaurants (need to go to “Chicago Cuts” and the “Signature Room”). One exception for the excellent was the night-time service at the main restaurant where we had some drinks – but that may have been just on person, we’ll not count it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2016 by Vincent Prioult, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for visiting The Peninsula Chicago and for sharing your review. We are delighted to hear that you found the location exceptional, the concierge helpful and that you enjoyed your breakfast in The Lobby. We are especially happy to hear that you had a positive experience in one of our newly renovated guest rooms. It is unfortunate to hear that your experience was unsatisfactory with regards to the water in the room, and the beverage service. I will be sure to review this feedback with our team. We are honored that you chose to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Warm regards, Vincent Prioult Resident Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Celebrated our anniversary weekend at the peninsula! It was beautiful, had a great time. Make sure to book ahead of time to eat at their restaurants!! Specially Shanghai terrace!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Very clean rooms. High quality furnishings. Detailed service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reston, VA

Lovely hotel!

Posted Aug 20, 2016
We had a wonderful 3 day stay at the Peninsula. The staff were very nice and nothing was too much trouble. Dinner at Shanghi Terrace was amazing!! We would definitely return to this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madison WI

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Great experience for a short weekend getaway. Newly renovated rooms are smart and amazingly comfortable. Awesome view of water tower, Hancock and lake. We loved the spa and the sun deck. Service is over the top! Location is in the heart of it all.We love this place and it will be hard to stay anywhere else we visit again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from amsterdam

Centraal gelegen luxe hotel, downtown Chicago

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Uitstekend luxe hotel met alle voorzieningen zoals zwembad, healthclub, zonneterras en diverse restaurants. Kamers zijn recentelijk gerenoveerd en voorzien van alle technische snufjes. Badkamer is uitstekend uitgevoerd met alle denkbare amenities en televisie.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

one of the best hotels!

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Great rooms and location. Awesome staff! Will definitely come back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IN

Beautiful hotel & great location!

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Stayed 2 nites & loved the hotel! We felt so welcomed & cared-for. Only suggestion is for hotel to use lighter bedding in summer. Duvet was too hot & heavy for July
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2016 by Vincent Prioult, Resident Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Katluver, Thank you for visiting The Peninsula Chicago. We are happy to hear that our staff made you feel welcomed and that you enjoyed the location of our property. We appreciate you sharing your feedback and I will be sure to review with my team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Warm regards, Vincent Prioult Resident Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Beyond my Expectations

Posted Jul 20, 2016
I stayed at the Peninsula for two nights on a work trip. I was surprised at the size of a regular king room and amazed at the new interiors. The staff was the friendliest and most attentive. Everything about this hotel exceeded my expectations. Pure luxury! I'm in love with the Peninsula!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2016 by The Peninsula Chicago, Hotel Management
Dear Andrew, Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago as the place to stay when traveling on business. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit, your guestroom and our service. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Warm regards, Vincent Prioult Resident Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit, Michigan

Luxury hotel that lived up to its billing.

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: Attention to details like comfortable bedding, luxurious bathroom with TV and phone, and quiet hallways when coming and going from our room.
Cons: Couldn't find a single improvement needed.
Location: Location was central to Michigan Avenue shops and close to Navy Pier which we enjoyed. Plenty of restaurants and stores within easy walking distance.
Everything was first class and we had no issues or complaints with the amenities, staff, service or treatment. We enjoyed a lovely breakfast in the hotel dining room and, after mentioning to our waiter that we were there to celebrate our 50th anniversary, we were surprised with a delicious complimentary plate of fresh sliced fruit at the end of our meal with a "greeting card" of white chocolate with a "Happy Anniversary" wish sitting in the middle of the plate. Totally awesome!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2016 by The Peninsula Chicago, Hotel Management
Dear Marge, Thank you for choosing The Peninsula as the place to stay when visiting Chicago. We are delighted that you enjoyed your accommodations, our service, and location. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Warm regards, Vincent Prioult Resident Manager