Ratings based on 373 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great hotel!

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: Comfort, beds, location, friendly staff.
Cons: Costs...it's really expensive. And if the room rate goes up any more, I won't be able to stay there again.
Location: It's in the middle of everything! Perfect location off Michigan Ave, close to everything...especially shopping.
I've always loved this Ritz...helpful and friendly staff, very clean and comfortable. My only negative is how incredibly expensive your stay can be if you eat there and/or use the spa. Both the restaurant and room service are crazy expensive and the spa services are twice what you'd pay at a spa down the street. So I wouldn't do that again unless it's a special treat. And I'd eat at some of the great restaurants Chicago has to offer rather than order room service. But the hotel itself is lovely and I can't wait to go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from deerfield, illinois

Beautiful hotel our room was lovely. View amazing.

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Wonderful! Except pool and hot tub closed. Staff and service outstanding. Our view and room were spectacular! A great experience overall. Highly recommend!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: The location and the restaurant. We had an enjoyable dining experience and the restaurant staff was the friendliest.
Cons: Check in staff could be a little more welcoming and this hotel could use a face lift.
This Ritz Carlton is connected to Water Tower Place, which is a nice shopping mall. There are also many great stores within walking distance on Michigan Avenue along the Magnificent Mile. This hotel has a beautiful lobby/restaurant area, however, it is an older hotel and is starting to show its age. Being a Ritz Rewards member, I have stayed there 2 times in the last 3 months and was a little disappointed with the service, as I did not find the staff as attentive as some other Ritz Carlton hotels I have stayed at. That being said, the room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. I would stay there again because the great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Perfect location

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Great area, close to great shopping and restaurants, if it too cold to walk, lots of taxis and uber rides, the mall is attached to the hotel, you don't need to go outside!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Thousand Oaks, CA

The Ritz Carlton or what I thought......

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: I liked the Nespresso Machine, even though I flooded the counter a couple times, until I figured out how to stop the water from flowing over top.
Cons: I would improve the mattresses and bedding. Remove the wet bar sign because there was no wet bar in the room. Better elevators.
Location: Location, Peterson Avenue Chicago, IL.
The Ritz always had such a fine reputation! I was disappointed though in so many ways. First, the elevators, very anxiety provoking. Perhaps after the 4th elevator you got lucky enough to squeeze into a spot. Restaurant service, where did our waiter go? He seemed very nice and attentive. My shower caps, disappeared. Even the one I had connected to my toiletry bag. Yes, she did leave a new one, but I was saving the extra one for my daughter. Bed, humm, have you ever tried the ones at the Four Seasons? No dips, Ritz Carlton beds have dips. I have to say, I won't be back especially for the amount of money I spent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Perfect stay

Posted Dec 8, 2016
My sister and I were downtown to see Hamilton & the Ritz was the perfect compliment to our trip. The room was spacious, staff was exceptional & the fresh fruit in our room upon arrival was unexpected but absolutely was the "icing on the cake". Kudos!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colombia

Excellent location, great mall just beside!

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Staff is great. Location very convenient and the hotel facilities are very good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful hotel on Mag Mile

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Wonderful hotel with excellent staff. My wife and I enjoyed the excellent location for shopping and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2016
I love staying at the Ritz. It's so so wonderful. The room was immaculate. The service was beyond outstanding. It's my favorite place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best beds

Posted Nov 22, 2016
The beds are incredible!! Beautiful friendly hotel with sophisticated elegance.