Ratings based on 989 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2017
We were a little disappointed that the grand lobby was going through a renovation and we didn't know about it before we arrived, but the staff was great and we enjoyed our stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Underwhelming .... & under renovation

Posted May 26, 2017
Didn't know they were under renovation and oddly there was little to no signage to describe & explain this. It wasn't until we asked why the hotel was so underwhelming that we were told. Weird!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful experience! Great room, great bed!

Posted May 19, 2017
Perfect location! The service was wonderful. Great room, great bed, great pillows. This was the perfect place to stay in Chicago. Look forward to to seeing your remodel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 13, 2017
Under remodel and it was not disclosed terrible for the name brand is not acceptable
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MA

If you get the Lake Michigan view, yes!

Posted May 12, 2017
My first night, my room key didn't work so the front desk staff changed my room, but the room was a lower category room than I originally booked. I complained the next day and they changed my room to the Lake view. It was great. I wished they have handled my room allocation accordingly from the beginning.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible service: so much for being "The Ritz"

Posted May 10, 2017
The room was fine to stay in, there was all the furniture you'd expect, and the bed was comfortable. The view was very nice too. However, that all would have been true at a Marriot or the Westin, for a significantly lower price. At least at the Ritz, you know you'll get unparalleled service, right? NOPE - every time we had contact with anyone at the hotel it was disappointing. Everyone was nice.... they just didn't have any follow through, and certainly were not in a hurry to assist us. Our calls to the front desk went often unanswered, and when we could get a hold of someone we had to request our bags multiple times. Even after we were assured that they were on their way on the elevator right now - We had to call them 2 more times, and an additional 20 minutes later we got those bags. It made us miss our reservation (and we were completely fine with carrying our own bags... if they hadn't taken them in the first place). If the service lapse had only happened once, it would be understandable, but every single time we requested something, it was disappointing. I had been told by friends that the Chicago Trump Hotel is the place to stay if you want to really enjoy a luxurious stay, and after staying at the Ritz, I certainly will be trying the Trump next time.... Or perhaps I'll save a few bucks and stay at a Marriott or Westin next time - I'd get a compatible room, and better service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great hotel in a great location

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: Very comfortable, excellent location, great views
Location: Next to Chicago 360, right on Hop on Hop off bus route at Water Tower Place
Great hotel in a great location - very comfortable with helpful staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

could have been exceptionable

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: almost everything
Cons: premium toilet paper
Location: chicago - great location - many many things to do !
everything was excellent accept : cheap toilet paper - after discovering inferior toilet paper requested premium to house-keeping in a note - no response same cheap paper
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Undergoing some improvements

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Nice hotel , lovely big room with great views . Not currently what you'd expect from a Ritz Carlton but that's because it's undergoing some improvements . Small restaurant and bar area , no business centre so no printer - but helpful staff . Will be back to being fabulous I'm sure when completed . Got a great deal on the room though, so reflected in the price .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubuque, Iowa

Premium hotel but some disappointment.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Everything except my comments above.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: The Ritz is right at the center of so many shopping and cultural events.
We have stayed at the Ritz many times in the past. We were very disappointed in the lobby, restaurant, and bar remodeling that is being done at this time. If we had known that they were in the process of remodeling with the loss of one of the biggest reasons we stay at the Ritz, the lobby ambiance, we would have stayed elsewhere. The project will be done in July and we will return for many stays in the future. The staff and the rooms continue to be superb!