Ratings based on 467 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Great location near to the Water Tower

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Mostly friendly staff, nice clean rooms
We used the hotel as base for exploring Chicago. It is well situated with plenty of shops, restaurants and bars nearby. The train station is five minutes walk away as is the Water Tower mall
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel great location

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Great location, breakfast included. Good place to stay while exploring the city. Safe area. Free bottles of water. Friendly staff.
Cons: More variety in breakfast, more hooks in bathroom, faster draining tub.
Location: Near beach, John Hancock, Water Tower, bus routes, restaurants, shopping.
The Tremont is very close to Oak Street Beach and the John Hancock building as well as shopping and many places to eat. Easy access to buses running up and down N. Michigan Ave. Not far from a Walgreens if you forget something or need cheap munchies. Our stay included breakfast. To our surprise breakfast was served in Ditka's restaurant which is attached to the hotel. Nice atmosphere. Simple but satisfying breakfast of eggs, hasbrowns, cereal, bagels, danishes, and yogurt. Although the last day the milk was off, sour. We had a view of the John Hancock from our room. Would like to have had more places to hang things in the bathroom and the tub drained slowly. Also, when we checked in our key card didn't open our door. We had to go back down to the lobby but another employee apologized and reprogrammed the key and gave me an extra one. Check out was easy and friendly. Free bottles of water in your room everyday which was nice to have while exploring the city. No fridge. Overall pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Mom/Daughter stay

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Ambience.
Location: Close to Michigan Avenue and the great stores available there.
This is the second time we've chosen to stay at The Tremont. The staff has always been a delight to work with and our stay is always enjoyable. The hotel isn't new but we like the feel of staying in a hotel that reminds us of the hotels in Europe. Will definitely stay here the next time we're in Chicago!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Niagara, WI

Nice hotel, great location. Staff was helpful

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Buisness trip stayed one night and arrived late. Everything was great, room & bed were very comfortable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greenwich, CT

Don't stay here -Not enough beds, no hot water

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Manger and front desk attitude, booking (booked 3 people in room for 2), they need to purchase cots and extra pillow and blankets.
Location: who cares about this when you can't get a good nights sleep?
We paid for a suite for myself, husband and teen daughter. Upon check-in, I asked whether they would bring a cot or whether it had a sleep sofa for our daughter who was joining the second evening. I was told it had a sleep sofa. Second night, I asked them to make up the bed and when I went to check it, it wasn't a sleep sofa. I asked the manager for a cot, but he said they had none. They were "sold out" and he sent only two sheets for her to sleep on! They sent a blanket after I complained again - no pillow! My 5'7" daughter slept on a settee 4 feet wide despite us paying so much extra for a suite. Manager tried to blame expedia but I had told woman at checkin we were 3 and asked how the 3rd would sleep also Expedia confirm also said 3 people. Nice try on his part to blame others. To make it worse- there was no hot water pressure - just a trickle and this is their "signature suite" complete with piano. No matter what you pay, they don't care about giving you what you booked or trying to make you happy once they screw up. I guess business is so good they don't care if you ever go back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

excellent view. family guest had wall view. ok.

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Across the street from Loyola's Water Tower Campus.
Cons: Keep the same.
Location: Restataurants, shopping, views. Theere were not any protests:). Staff was great and very efficient. They knew what they were doing.
Wow! Comfortable, relaxing, quiet. No more questions.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2016
No mini fridge nor microwave. But you can request one. For the rate you pay thst should be included. Overall it was an ok stay. Probably puck a different one next time though.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rockville, MD

Magnificent Mile hotel

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Great location by the Magnificent Mile, restaurants and fantastic architecture. This hotel is charming, updated, and almost everything you need for a memorable stay whether business or pleasure. I would love to stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Cute and lovely

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Location: One small block away from Michigan Ave.
This has to be the cutest little hotel in the city. We absolutely enjoyed our stay here. The staff was helpful and provided great service. Rooms clean and comfortable bed. The last day of my vacation I stayed in this bed the whole day.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Beautiful

Posted Jun 20, 2016
We had an amazing time the room was beautiful close to everything. I will definitely stay there again