Ratings based on 2,305 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Great hotel, clean, friendly staff, close to a lot of activities in Chicago.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Was disappointed that we had to pay so much for parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, Ohio

Westin Michigan Avenue is great!

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Pros: I really appreciate that many of the staff have been there for years. The lack of turn-over is impressive. Everyone is exceedling attentive.
Location: Westin Michigan Avenue is at great location across for the John Hancock building. Many sites and restaurants are within easy walking distance.
I usually try to stay at the Westin Michigan Avenue when I am in Chicago. I have stayed there numerous times and have always has a great experience. The staff is very professional and treats the guests very well. The Westin heavenly bed is the best! The Grill on the Alley has a wonderful bar and great restaurant. I am looking forward to my next visit!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Cedar Rapids, IA

Busy, busy!!

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location!!
Cons: Waited in line only to find rooms took 2 hours past check-in time to be ready. Valet parking is highly expensive!!
Location: Great downtown location across from John Hancock Building, Water Tower shopping and Cheesecake Factory!!
Lot of hustle and bustle going on here, wedding traffic and the sort. Not the best family hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tustin, CA

Excellent Location

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Location, Location, Location!
Cons: Customer Service skills were lacking with everyone we dealt with.
We came to town for a ballgame and the Air and Water show. This location was great for both. Close to the subway and close to the lakefront. Shopping and restaurants are plentiful also. My only knock on this place was we'd forgotten our phone charger and the in-room guide said to call the front desk and they would lend us one. I went to the front desk and was told to go to Best Buy (across the street). We also called the operator asking where we could get a spare charger. She also directed us to Best Buy - even though we mentioned our in-room guide said they would provide. She just said no (and didn't ask anyone).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Great location for staying downtown.

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Staff was very helpful. I would stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Rude, disorganized staff.

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Hotel was busy, but you would think everyone working was a first day employee. Clueless, rude - expect more for $250+ per night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from g

Posted Aug 21, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay!! Excellent location!!
Comment from EPC
Aug 29, 2015 by Westin Experience Specialist, EPC
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at the Westin Michigan Avenue! Be well, Bonnee
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location but late check in

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: Location, views
Cons: The check in process. More employees during prime check in hours.
Location: Mirai Sushi was amazing and a 2 minute walk to the beach
We arrived at 3 pm (when we were allowed to check in) and our room wasn't ready until 4:30 pm. They did comp us with a $35 room service coupon but I spent $60 at the bar so I'm still losing. It wasn't worth $280.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2015 by Westin Experience Specialist, Hotel Management
I do apologize for any frustrations you encountered during your stay! We hope that besides a late check in, you enjoyed your stay. Thank you, Bonnee
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Please don't stay here

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Cons: Staff needs to be better trained on professionalism and customer service
Location: Location is best part of the hotel. Very convenient.
I arrived and was told my room had been given away to a large group because they all wanted to be close together, and that I could be upgraded...to a cheaper room. After going through 2 levels of management, I was called a "chick" by one of the managers, and subsequently laughed at by other staff when I confronted her. I called the company customer service line, and asked for an apology, which I was given as the 2nd manager I talked to suggested that I was lying about the situation. This ordeal went on for an hour before I even got to my room. The hotel is old and dirty, not to mention loud during sleeping hours. U have never been treated so poorly by hotel staff! And I also booked 3 massages at the spa, which was run down as well. They were late to start our massages, and my masseuse was terrible. I will never stay here again and you shouldn't either!