Ratings based on 6,795 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central Iowa

European Charm/Proximity

Posted May 26, 2017
We love staying at the Whitehall because of its Old World charm and proximity to Michigan Ave. (restaurants, shopping, museums), the El, Lake Michigan waterfront, Millenium Park, Grant Park, etc.!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

Weekday Chicago Vacation

Posted May 23, 2017
Had a really nice stay at this hotel. Great location being a street over from Michigan Avenue and a very affordable hotel. Would definitely stay here again. Only gripe we had was that the bellman was a rude and grumpy older Hispanic gentleman and that our room was next to housekeeping and very noisy. Would rate this 3.8/5 stars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel close to everything

Posted May 19, 2017
Very nice comfortable hotel , close to everything . Staff were very helpful. Very comfortable bed with good quality linen , hotel a little dated but overall we would stay again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MI

Good location

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: The location was nice.
Cons: Very hard beds.
Location: Good downtown location close to shopping.
Nice historic hotel. A little pricey compared to other comparable hotels in the area. No lobby to hotel and entrance is a little confusing. Overall adequate place. The beds were quite hard and needed more blankets in room. No coffee maker in room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2017
Clean room, friendly staff, nice ambience, great location on Magnificent Mile. The first room I stayed in was very good with a coffee table but there was no study desk . Luckily, the next day I moved to a room with a study desk, but no coffee table.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario Canada

Comfortable hotel with great location

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: I liked the size of the hotel, and the location. Our room was a good size.
Cons: The bathroom fixtures need updating. We could not get hot water from the tub as the fixture was broken. It was fixed immediately.
Location: The location is great. The hop on hop off tour bus is close by, as well as the John Hancock and Water tower buildings are close.
We were visiting Chicago to celebrate a birthday and found the hotel to be comfortable and quaint. The location is perfect for visiting the main downtown area. The hotel could do with some updating. The staff were pleasant and helpful. Chicago is a wonderful city!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2017
Great location, great rooms. It reminds me with Paris hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2017
Front desk amazing people. The room was nicely appointed. The bed was amazingly comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Very nice "boutique" hotel

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: Old-world architectural features; "period" music from the 30s-50s playing in public areas.
Cons: Wallpaper. probably needs replacing, due to moisture. My window shade was broken so I couldn't raise it to enjoy the east view.
Location: Right off Michigan Ave. Couldn't be better. Lots of high-end shopping, transportation & restaurants close by. Easy reach of several museums.
Very friendly & helpful staff. Built in an earlier day, it is on the smallish order--tiny elevators, hallways, etc. but what it lacks in spaciousness it makes up for in attentive, friendly customer service. Probably originally was an apartment building. I miss a spacious lobby. Here pretty cramped. Foods was excellent in the restaurants. This hotel was renovated, however I think it may be time for a general fluff. Dampness & moisture is causing some of the wallpaper to come off and probably carpeting could use replacement. Yet, it is a charming, cozy place with beautiful old-world features, woodwork, etc. I especially enjoyed the nostalgic Sinatra-style music playing throughout the public areas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from From Michigan

Nice hotel close to shopping

Posted May 11, 2017
Staff were very courteous and helpful. Hotel very nice and accommodating!