Ratings based on 1,024 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 10, 2017
Fabulous location for Wrigley Field goers and for people wanting to stay in a real Chicago neighborhood
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by maria, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Asheville, NC

Almost Boutique

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: Location, intimacy, cleanliness
Cons: Tub, breakfast, decor, toilet paper
Location: Nuevo Mexicano is a good restaurant around the corner
Decor could be ratcheted up. Rooms have views only of the sides of nondescript adjacent buildings. All the essentials. Comfortable bed. Cheap toilet paper. Weekend staff nice, but some were kind of clueless.The tub was dangerous. The rough padding on the bottom had worn away, and there was neither a tub mat nor a safety grip bar. For breakfast, it seems there could be better options than Jimmy Dean sausage biscuits and canned fruit.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by maria, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted May 2, 2017
Good value for the area. Close to Lincoln Park Zoo. Parking is only $25. Will definitely stay there again when visiting our daughter and son in law.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Chicago weekend

Posted May 1, 2017
The hotel room itself was very small with a smaller bathroom. It was old and needing update. The continental breakfast was very nice!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Supervisor too the rescue!!!

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: Its beautiful and run by professionals.
Cons: swimming pool
Location: Its Chicago are you serious?!
I made a hotel reservation through Expedia at The Willows Hotel for a trip I had planned for over two years. However, immediately after making this reservation found this location would not work for me. within 20 minutes, I contacted Expedia and told them what I had done and that I needed to cancel. Expedia tells me they don't show my reservation and I need to call The Willows, so I do this and they tell me that my name is not on their reservation list and it should be okay. Told me to call back if there was a problem. I went on my vacation for a week and the next morning I wake up and the Willow Charged my room for a nights stay. I contacted Expedia and denied responsibility for anything and told me, that they had no record of me calling them and I had too contact the Willows to see if they can help me. The staff at The Willows gave me a hard time at first, saying I had to get a bank statement and then appeal the charge and phone records. I asked if I could speak with a supervisor and they told me she got into work at 8 am and too call back. I did and She answered the phone. I actually recognized her voice from my cancellation. The supervisor took my name and looked it up and said, oh yes I think I remember you calling me, no problem I'll have the charges refunded to your credit card and I am sorry for the inconvenience. This woman could have really taken my money and made me go through a lot to attempt to get refunded but she didn't. Honest people get my business.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Good location. Good continental breakfast. Room rather small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from La Crosse

great location, quaint rooms

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Location; friendly staff; protein at breakfast!
Cons: I didn't like that the TV defaulted to Fox News-Flavored Product when I turned it on.
Location: Everything! Nightlife, restaurants, bars, boutiques -- all within an easy and enjoyable walk.
I used to live in the neighborhood, so it was nice to stay there during a business trip to Chicago. The location is great -- close to all kinds of fun stuff in the heart of one of America's great urban neighborhoods. It's also close to transit, which made my trips downtown each morning a breeze. I saved my employer hundreds of dollars by staying here instead of in the Loop, and I had a non-touristy experience when I wasn't working. The breakfast was even good: they had boiled eggs and breakfast sandwiches; a big step up from the usual carb-heavy plates of pastries and bagels (they had these, too, though!). I was there during a snow storm and a blustery Chicago March, so the radiator heated the place up just fine. I didn't see an air conditioner, so I don't know how awesome it would be to stay here in August (maybe they put window units in during the summer?).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P.A

business trip

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: the staff was awesome and friendly
Cons: nothing i can think of
Location: very nice dinning and lovely shops
the building is beautiful as well as the surrounding area. many lovely shops and fine dinning. i enjoyed the staff as well as the room was lovely. my favorite part was the hotel does not create waste. a very lovely stay i enjoyed walking around the area you can find any type of food you could lthink of
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moline, Il,

Quaint and Charming

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Very clean and charming; parking garage behind hotel with fast pick up for taxi/uber rides; within 3 blocks of cafes, Trader Joe's and shopping; desk managers very helpful and professional; this was our 8th visit within the past 2 years.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Beautifil Old Charm

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Great location, beautiful, quaint look.
Cons: Thin walls, radiators are a little loud.
Location: Amazing location. You can walk to many places.
The hotel is in a great location. It reminded us of some of the small hotels in Europe. Room was clean and cozy. Prices were fair. Radiator heat that went off and on a few times,