Ratings based on 1,041 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Walkable loop location.

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Right in the middle of the theater district. Location.
Cons: Negatives: charging for WI-FI. Really?
Great staff allowed early check in. On return to hotel, doorman always said, "Welcome back."
Comment from EPC
Aug 24, 2015 by theWit Guest Relations Manager, EPC
Dear Witty Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at theWit. We appreciate the kind words about our friendly staff, and hope to be able to welcome you back to theWit again soon! With Kind Regards, theWit Guest Relations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Good hotel

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: Amenities
Cons: Requests to customer needs, free Wi-Fi to all guests
Good hotel, in a fun location just right across the river. The amenities are very nice, however our TV was broken and it took the hotel approximately 8 hours to fix it. After a call to the front desk failed in anyone coming to resolve the TV issue, we called again several hours later and were told that it would "be a while" before someone could fix the TV. This was a disappointment to us as we didn't feel that our needs were a priority. Other than that, I was happy with my stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2015 by theWit Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Witty Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and reviewing your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed our amenities and location. We also appreciate your constructive feedback, and apologize for what happened during your stay with us. The needs of our guests are one of our top priorities, and we regret the inconvenience that you experienced. We appreciate your patience and understanding, and hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back to theWit again soon! With Kind Regards, theWit Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago suburbs

Stunning views located in heart of city's action

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Friendly staff checked us in quickly and gave us fresh, warm cookies! The room was even better than we had anticipated: a stunning view of the Chicago River and Marina towers, with a gorgeous spa tub, large enough for two, that was perfect for a late night bubble bath. Very comfortable bed that gave us the best night's sleep we'd had in a while. Short and scenic walk to House of Blues, Trump Tower, the River Walk, and scads of great bars and restaurants. Rooftop bar was scenic and cool. Wish we had stayed more than the one night and can't wait to go back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2015 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Witty Guest, Thank you for choosing theWit, and sharing such a fabulous review! We are thrilled that you had such an enjoyable stay, are delighted that you found our central location ideal for exploring Chicago. ROOF, our award winning roof top bar and lounge is a great place to enjoy cocktails and the breathtaking views from our 27th floor. We are thrilled that you had the opportunity to enjoy it while you were here. We hope to see you again soon! With Kind Regards, theWit Guest Relations Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Misled on rooftop

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Pros: Good location.
Cons: Cleaning was delayed and I had to request someone clean close to 5:00 in the evening. Turndown service as an option would also been a good option.
Location: 5 minute walk to Millennium Park and Michigan Avenue.
When booking the hotel we were exciting to check out the rooftop bar (which was supposed to be the hippest place in town). Unfortunately, we were told that even as guests of the hotel there would be a minimum $400 spend to reserve a table for later in the evening. Additionally, if we wanted to go up without a table, we needed to stand outside with the general public. We stayed 5 nights and the room wasn't inexpensive. I would have thought we would have been treated better given the circumstances.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2015 by theWit Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Witty Guest, Thank you for choosing theWit, and also sharing your constructive feedback with us. I regret that you did not have an opportunity to visit ROOF during your visit. Due to ROOF's increasing popularity, the venue quickly reaches its approved capacity. To ensure access to ROOF during your stay, we highly encourage all guests to make a table reservation to guarantee access. Registered hotel guests (maximum of 4 per room) that do not have a reservation will receive waived cover charge and will join our general admission cue on Lake Street. ROOF is open to the public and access is available on a first come first served basis if you do not have a reservation. If we do have the privilege of welcoming you back, our helpful Concierge would be happy to assist with reservations to ensure seamless access to ROOF. With Kind Regards, theWit Guest Relations Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Club atmosphere was not for me

Posted Jul 20, 2015
The hotel is clean and decorated very nicely. I would expect nothing less from a Doubletree. The staff is wonderful! The only reason I rated this as a 3 is because the club upstairs in the evening got to be very annoying. I could not get the elevator timely (and there are 4 of them) because of the number of people going up there. You are stopped by security to see your room key downstairs every time you come in and out because if you are not a guest you have to pay for the club. The drunk and VERY annoying people coming in and out were just too much for me to handle. That is the only reason I would not stay there again. BUT if clubs are your thing then you will like it very much.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2015 by thWit Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Witty Guest, Thank you for stay with us, and also providing such candid and constructive feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed the quality of service from our friendly staff, and also found our hotel to be clean and nicely decorated. We were disappointed to read of the issues that you experienced, and apologize for any inconvenience that they caused. I do hope that you will allow us the privilege of welcoming you back again in the future. With Kind Regards, theWit Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stockholm

Modernt hotell med bra läge

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Personalen var väldigt hjälpsam. Rummet var jättefint och fräscht, bra städat. Det enda som var dåligt med rummet var att det var svårt att stänga toalettdörren som var en trög skjutdörr. Fanns ingen frukostbuffé, utan hotellet hade en restaurang där man kunde beställa från en meny, vi provade aldrig den utan åt frukost ute på olika ställen. Bra läge, man kunde gå nästan överallt och även nära tunnelbanan och tåget till OHare flygplats. Lite oljud från tågen som går nedanför hotellet men det hade jag läst om i tidigare recensioner så det var jag beredd på och inget jag störde mig på. Vi var väldigt nöjda med vår vistelse.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Fun sisters weekend!

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness, proximity, staff
Cons: Use of a microwave for the hotel guests would be nice since we had leftovers and couldn't heat them.
Location: My sister and I walked everywhere! We were close to Michigan Avenue with lots of shopping. We also walked over to Eataly from the hotel.
Had a great time at the Wit with my sister. We took advantage of the spa and had pedicures done. They were short staffed due to an employee calling in but the girl who did our pedicures was wonderful and did an excellent job! The room was perfect for the two of us and the hotel was close to Michigan Ave, lots of shopping and dining nearby! Great place to stay! Would definitely recommend this hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2015 by theWit Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Witty Sisters, Thank you for the fabulous review! We are thrilled that you had an enjoyable stay, and found theWit to be the perfect location for Chicago adventures. We hope to see you both again on your next visit to the city. Warm Regards, theWit Guest Relations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2015
The hotel was great, they need to upgrade the web page. I had a car and the Web page had a price for parking and when we got there, they charged more even when I showed them the price that was on the web page
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2015 by theWit Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Witty Guest, Thank you for the review, we are delighted that you enjoyed theWit! I apologize for any confusion regarding our parking rates. Our website is currently up to date as are the parking rates posted at our front door. The website also notes that rates are subject to change. I hope that this issue does not deter you from returning. We appreciate your business, and hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, theWit Guest Relations Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago, IL

Convenient next to the Chicago Theater

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: Convenient to where I was going. Room was ok for 1 night.
Cons: Curbside needs to improve. Food was awful. Eat at the Asian restaurant across the street instead.
Location: In theater district and close to Michigan mile and Grant park. Lots to do outside the hotel.
Check in was easy, no lines. Valet parking curb is very congested, right at the corner. Cars are whizzing by, be careful getting out. Not sure it was worth $65. You can self park, but the garage is 2 blocks away. Only booked there because it was next to Chicago theater. No pool. There is club on the 27 th floor, open to the public at night. Can get noisy at night, lots of drunk people in the elevator, elevator has lines at night. Had to stand in the rain to find my card key 10:30 at night, security would not let me even in the lobby! Room was ok. The bathroom has a sliding door, with no lock! Not ideal with kids! Room service got every dish wrong, went back to get something he forgot on my tray. Food was not worth it, did not even want to have breakfast there the next morning. Was ok for one night. Probably would not stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by theWit Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Witty Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We were happy to read that you had a seamless arrival experience and that you were pleased with our location. However, I regret that we did not fully me your expectations. Feedback such as yours, allows us to continually improve. We appreciate your comments, and will be sharing them with our team. We do hope that you will consider staying at theWit again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not family friendly.

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Perfect for 20 something partners. Not good for family oriented stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by theWit Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Witty Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We strive to offer a great experience for all of our guests. I regret that we did not meet your expectations. If we do have the privilege of welcoming you back, we would be happy to accommodate any special preferences or requests that might make your family more comfortable.