Ratings based on 2,530 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Incredible vibe, great service, views, bed

Posted May 6, 2017
morning has a nice bar area with velvet couches and a translucent ceiling, serves good coffee (bright/not smoky or dark) and mighty leaf teas. almond milk or soy would be a good addition. glad they had a full cream option for carb-free/keto coffee drinkers. great place to relax after a rough night out and plan the next day. i had a good view facing south. nico and fig and olive are right there as is a starbucks and a cupcake shop and u can open the window for fresh air. carpet isn't as plush or soft as other top hotels but nbd and my room was by the elevator and across from stock room so it was a bit noisy at random times with carts rolling and doors slamming. also the shower is very nice!! but the door isn't a perfect seal so it leaks a bit. mirror lighting is good but not "good lighting" for selfies or a good judge for how u look in natural ambient lighting. mattress is incredible and huge and supportive, best sleep i have ever had. never felt so restored after a long plane ride and it was so welcoming to plop down after a cold chicago day. staff was always warm, made everything just easy for me. when speaking i could almost feel the caress of focused attention. lol the vibe of this place, can't be quantified in a numerical rating, is unique and calming and the neighborhood is perfect (feels like georgetown in DC). i will only stay here next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Posted May 5, 2017
Great location, comfortable bed and big room. Staff is super friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monterrey, Mexico

The room was to small.

Posted May 3, 2017
I was supposed to get an upgrade, but they said that nothing was available. We had to ask housekeeping for shampoo and soap because they wouldn't replace new ones when the room was made. Close to a lot of nice restaurants, but I really expected a better room for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC area

A perfect weekend getaway!

Posted May 2, 2017
We had a wonderful stay - Great Lake view room, perfectly appointed and quiet. The surrounding area has tons of shopping and dining options! I would highly recommend the Thompson.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

An excellent stay.

Posted Apr 28, 2017
I loved this hotel. It's right in the heart of Chicago with lots of shops and restaurants nearby. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was spacious and well appointed. I would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boca Raton, FL

Nice hotel, beautiful location

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Beautiful hotel, beautiful room
Cons: I really don't think I ever waited this long for a room to be ready
Location: Great affluent area Great restaurants close by
Unfortunately room wasn't ready until 4 pm but I guess that's nice t too bad Also, they advertise a car service when booking but no offers once you are there No paper delivered to your door either
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from perth Australia

Nice hotel and comfortable

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Friendly staff, clean comfortable room. Noisy air-conditioning,. Good location . Only ask for high floor for better river views. We had deluxe river view but on 9th floor with only partial views. Overall it was a good hotel and location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

Stylish hotel in great location

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Overall stay was great. Guys on the door super friendly and helpful. One quibble we had was the house keeping - they didn't clean our room til very late In the day. They didn't replace the loo roll, the tissues and the shampoo/ shower gel - we had to ring and ask.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Gold Coast Hotel

Posted Apr 4, 2017
A great hotel with great service in the heart of Gold Coast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice trendy hotel good atmosphere

Posted Apr 3, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay in the Thompson hotel. Excellent staff. Good bar and restaurant. Nice views and good location.