Ratings based on 2,171 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Great location. Close to downtown, restaurants and waterfront.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from newburyport

Fantastic location.

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Friendly and helpful staff. Accommodations excellent, location fabulous.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Quaint hotel good location for walking.

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: The location, bar are great. Also, the beds were super comfortable.
Cons: The only part of the trip we didn't enjoy, was our dinner at the Nico. It's the restaurant that is right next to the Thompson. Pricey/small portions.
Location: The location was nice. We walked for most of our daytime accidents and it was easy to get an Uber of Cab if needed.
The Thompson Hotel is a nice boutique type hotel. It's not too big and it's close to restaurants, and a short walk to a good shopping area. The bar was nice, and the staff friendly. They offer free coffee and water in the bar each morning, so no need to spend extra money on going out for coffee.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wichita, KS

Nice hotel close to many attractions

Posted Jun 23, 2016
We loved this hotel and would easily stay there again. It was close to several great restaurants. It was also easily accessible by public transportation and the hotel staff was always ready to get a cab if needed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Great Location

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Pros: We had a great room which is always a bonus
Cons: For us, nothing. If we were to return to Chicago I wouldn't hesitate to choose the Thompson Hotel.
Location: Many restaurants within the vicinity. Close to Michigan Avenue and the lake. Hotel in beautiful tree lined street.
This hotel is the perfect base for exploring the many things Chicago has to offer. We enjoyed coming back here at the end of the day. It's location is perfect and the staff friendly and helpful. Many good places to eat nearby including Nico's at the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham UK

Lovely hotel, great location

Posted May 17, 2016
Pros: Location was great. It's own restaurant and bar were well used and there were plenty of others nearby which makes going out in the evening really easy
Cons: Tea and coffee making facilities in the room so that can make own drinks when wake up in the morning or get back in from day out.
Hotel was great except for one thing - no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. It's minor but being able to make a cup of tea when you wake up or get back in is great. Did order room service once but $21 for a pot of tea!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Súper ubicación en la mejor zona de Chicago

Posted May 10, 2016
Sin duda lo recomiendo y volvería a quedarme ahí. Yo estuve en habitación en esquina y es espectacular.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Cool hotel in good location

Posted May 10, 2016
Really enjoyed our stay at the Thompson. Very comfortable and clean rooms, bathroom spacious and well maintained. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Hotel location excellent, lots of great restaurants/ cafes/ Starbucks around the hotel and only a short walk to Michigan Ave for shops and malls/ other food outlets/ picking up the tourist bus tour etc. Overall a great hotel and would definitely stay if visiting Chicago again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 10, 2016
Great hotel! The room was very clean and the decor is awesome. The bar was great and the staff was very friendly
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 8, 2016
Hervorragendes Hotel mit individueller Ausstattung, coolem Lobby/Bar Bereich und extrem komfortabler Lage wenn man abends etwas unternehmen möchte. Service extrem freundlich.