Ratings based on 2,475 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Charlotte

Boutique hotel in a great location

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Great design. High quality furnishings. Friendly and efficient staff.
Cons: Our only issue was with the noise generated by the air conditioning unit. It was a very cold day, and the heat came on frequently, waking us up.
Location: The location is great for shopping and eating out. Breakfast at the Original Pancake House was superb and plentiful. Share the omelette - it's huge.
The hotel has a very warm design to it and makes hanging out in the reception area and the bar very comfortable. Access to the floors is controlled via room keys. The rooms are very bright with large windows and nicely appointed. The bathroom is modern and high quality. Beds are very comfortable. The location is perfect for going shopping and for eating out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Clean rooms, great staff, excellent customer service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

Great hotel centrally located

Posted Mar 12, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay here. Beautiful hotel, with easy walking to restaurants, shopping and the water. The bar has excellent mixologist's, the food was good and the rooms very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The place to stay in Chicago

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Great hotel close to the lake and lots of restaurants
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Another great stay in Chicago!

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Great location, in a quiet part of town, yet close to the action. A few blocks from Michigan Ave and a rather elegant setting. Nice bar and servers as well. Free coffee in the morning is a nice treat!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Modern hotel close to everything

Posted Mar 5, 2017
I had a wonderful stay at this hotel. Beautiful lobby, bar, restaurant great decor smelled great. The room was nice and clean sheets were crisp bright clean bathroom. Great smelling toiletries, bath robes and slippers provided. Great views from the room. The location is prime close to everything restaurants, bars, shopping, fine dining and budget friendly dining. Exceptional value will definitely come again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Excellent facility and great location!

Posted Feb 28, 2017
I really liked everything since the moment I arrived to the valet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bloomington, IL

My favorite place to stay in Chicago.

Posted Feb 28, 2017
The Thompson is always a good choice. From the moment you pull up you're greeted with a smile from the valet. The hotel is very beautiful and cozy. It's got a cool lofty, eclectic feel. I really love the way it's been designed. And the signature scent is so inviting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Outstanding Hotel

Posted Feb 25, 2017
In the heart of the Gold Coast with high walkable scores. Back and front of the house provide excellent service. Nico best place for breakfast and would like to have opportunity next time to have lunch/dinner there. Spent a week there as I had a combination of business and personal events.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the Gold Coast

Posted Feb 22, 2017
We stayed here for the location and it did not disappoint. Check in was easy with no hassle and the Front Desk was very friendly. The room was clean and quiet. The highlight of the suite was the tub! It was an amazingly deep soaking tub that was exactly what was needed after each day of walking the city. Valet parking was extra but it was easy in and out as well. Over all a great stay.