Ratings based on 2,530 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2017
The staff was wonderful and the bed was very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Westminster, BC

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Cons: I didn't like the glass door in the bathroom.
Great location. Convenient to everything and lots of restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Excellent hotel in a great Chicago Gold Coast location. Close to restaurants and shopping, with many transportation options.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Traverse City MI

Memorial Day get away

Posted May 30, 2017
Awesome hotel, quiet, large rooms. Bed is very comfortable and location is great. Close to MI Avenue and wonderful near by restaurants. The hotel restaurant is fabulous and the entire staff is helpful and friendly! We will be back, stayed there four times now.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Loved it!!!

Posted May 11, 2017
The Thompson hotel was amazing. We loved the area it was in! Surrounded by little restaurants and shopping. Very european feel. Hotel staff was incredible and helpful. Loved our room and view! We also used the car service and it was fabulous! We will definitely be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Kristal , Hotel Management
Rebecca, thank you for the incredible review and for sharing your stay with us! We look forward to your next stay!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dhahran , Saudi Arabia

Nice location

Posted May 11, 2017
Excellent location, nothing else otherwise. Very average in every thing. Several other hotels around it provides much better experience. Definitely not stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Torrance CA

Great location in the Gold Coast neighborhood!

Posted May 9, 2017
Stayed at the Thompson for 4 nights, it's in a great neighborhood within walking distance to the shops of Michigan Ave and so many good restaurants and bars. Hotel staff were super friendly and helpful, we loved our driver, Murphy, who dropped us off at dinner one night. The hotel has a complimentary car that will take you up to 3 miles. Hotel bar was very happening each night, we dropped in after dinner at Nicos and had a yummy cocktail called the Cloud #1. You can also order food from Nicos at the bar. Lots of sophisticated good looking people there! Overall a great experience at The Thompson Chicago, my only compliant is that one of the elevators was out of service the whole weekend so there was only one working elevator, so things were kind of slow. But I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from i

Elevator broke

Posted May 9, 2017
I was there 3 times in roughly 3 months and every time the elevator was broken. It not good because they only have two. So you have to wait a kng time !
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Kristal , Hotel Management
We are extremely sorry you were not satisfied with your last stay with us, and our we thank you for bringing this to our attention. Our goal is always to exceed our guests’ expectations and we will certainly use your feedback as learning moment. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back and offer you the excellent service my team and I are striving for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for the price.

Posted May 7, 2017
This is an upscale Hotel at an affordable price. Everything about it was wonderful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great neighborhood and distance away from shops!

Posted May 6, 2017
Rooms were very dusty. There were stains on chairs. An elevator broke. Hotel staff was not knowledgeable about hotel amenities. Concierge was not available during indicated times of availability. Door staff was hit or miss. Location was great; however, due to expense paired with lack of service, may consider another hotel.