Ratings based on 2,033 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Addison, Il

Great location in the heart of the Gold Coast.

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Very close to great shops and restaurants. Lovely neighborhood to walk around. Close to the lake. Beautiful room with spectacular bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location, lovely hotel

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Perfection located to enjoy Chicago. A recently renovated property the rooms are well appointed and quite comfortable. Decor leans toward contemporary but still warm and inviting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Beautiful Hotel in Downtown Chicago

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: We loved the atosphere here. modern yet cozy.
Cons: The food and drinks were really expensive. I had two small scoops of ice cream fro $6.
Location: Everything is near by:restaurants, shops, the water tower...
I would stay here again. Beautiful Hotel in a great location. It's next to Gibson's steakhouse, a must go for awesome steak. Its also minutes away from Michigan Ave which has many restaurants and shopping possibilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice place

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Had a great stay. Would stay again. Nice hotel and a great staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Great location but paper thin walls

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Great location, decent room, but we could hear everything going on in the hallways and in the room next to us, needless to say it's never an enjoyable experience when you can hear your neighbors having sex ......
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Staff extremely helpful and friendly. The vibe/feel of the hotel was amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

New Year's Eve getaway

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Pros: Bed comfort Staff Location Big bathroom
Cons: Nothing
Location: Righ in the middle of the Gold Coast area of downtown. Literally couldn't ask for a better spot.
Had a quick over night stay in a king suite for NYE. Have absolutely no complaints about anything. The place was sensationally good. Staff were excellent to deal with. Very warm and calm. The room was spectacular - huge bathroom with a great bathtub. Nico Osteria did an amazing brunch the morning after.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Clean, modern, and hip hotel. Friendly staff. Nice view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The perfect Chicago hotel

Posted Dec 24, 2015
Would recommend this hotel to anyone, it was the perfect location and had everything you want within walking distance. Would not stay anywhere else. Loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Modern, chic and Excellent Customer Service

Posted Dec 22, 2015
Pros: Decor, ambiance and location.
Cons: n/a
Location: we were close to the Drake Hotel for our High Afternoon Tea which worked out perfectly. Went for brunch and the LUXBAR which is across the street.
I truly enjoyed my stay at the Thompson Hotel. I loved the room decor and space. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was amazing! It was my best friends birthday and the location was perfect! Everything we had planned to do was very close. We came back to the hotel to freshen up for the night festivities and were surprised with a complimentary champagne bottle, two glasses and a personalized note for my best friend. The Thompson Hotel made my best friends weekend perfect! All of the staff was very friendly. Definitely plan to stay at this hotel.