Ratings based on 2,171 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from R

Nice hotel, customer service was bad.

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Room door was left ajar all day by housekeeping and when front desk was alerted, no manager called. Was ignored. Not positive!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from austin, tx

Great location. Swanky, fun hotel!

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Just a great location for a three day weekend! First time in a non-chain and we loved it!!! Definitely return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from KC, MO

Perfect location and great suite!!

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: Flexible on check in and check out times.
Loved our trip and enjoyed the retreat of this grand hotel each night.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic location! Walking distance to the beach,

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Great restaurants right outside the door, walking distance to the beach , great boutuque feeling, great advice from concierge for live musi , stand up comedy , bike rentals! Would definitely stay there again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel!

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Loved the accommodations. Beautiful room, great staff& service. Close to all of the action.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's Almost the perfect place

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Everything is right there. Quiet when it should be and the staff is top notch.
Cons: I just could not bring myself to give it 5 stars overall because they could improve on a few very little things.
Location: Location is fantastic. I would highly recommend it.
We had a wonderful stay. I would recommend the Thompson to anyone and would stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County

Prime location - Hip and Happening spot!

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: The design was nice, it was obvious the designer put thought into the Thompson. The layout in the room is practical and spacious, bright and modern.
Cons: The business center was not a business center. It is just outside of the elevator and could easily be in one of the many rooms.
Location: Just North of Magnificent Mile, tons of shops within walking distance. Just outside of the hotel, you're nestled between many popular restaurants!
I've stayed at a few hotels in Chicago, and nothing compares to my experience at the Thompson hotel in Chicago. I really enjoyed my stay, the rooms were spacious with a well-designed layout. I loved the floor to ceiling windows bringing in some nice natural lighting AND the view was a nice perk! Many hotels in Chicago are in historic older buildings and with that comes a lot of problems -Thin walls, small bedroom and even smaller bathroom, small windows, dark layout and overall not worth the price I'm paying. I would recommend the Thompson for anyone who wants a nice up to date modern room in a historic neighborhood. History is great to learn about but not worth comprising. I really liked strolling around the neighborhood and admiring the Gold Coast of Chicago.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good area. Enjoyable stay

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Everything was as expected. Nice hotel. Good area. No complaints at all
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Ein Minuspunkt gab es, wir hatten im 7. Stock ein Zimmer nach hinten. Leider waren dort die ganzen, riesigen Klimaanlagen installiert und machten die ganze Nacht einen Lärm. Sonst eine gute Lage und freundliches, zuvorkommenden Personal, um 11 Uhr war das Zimmer schon gereinigt, was selten der Fall ist. Zum empfehlen.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Great hotel and great location Absolutely loved it but unfortunately was little thrown back by my room cleanliness. My bathroom sink was not clean and the minibar had some stuff from previous guest. But I think this must be one off. Would definitely recommend this hotel