Ratings based on 2,512 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Loved it!!!

Posted May 11, 2017
The Thompson hotel was amazing. We loved the area it was in! Surrounded by little restaurants and shopping. Very european feel. Hotel staff was incredible and helpful. Loved our room and view! We also used the car service and it was fabulous! We will definitely be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Kristal , Hotel Management
Rebecca, thank you for the incredible review and for sharing your stay with us! We look forward to your next stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Torrance CA

Great location in the Gold Coast neighborhood!

Posted May 9, 2017
Stayed at the Thompson for 4 nights, it's in a great neighborhood within walking distance to the shops of Michigan Ave and so many good restaurants and bars. Hotel staff were super friendly and helpful, we loved our driver, Murphy, who dropped us off at dinner one night. The hotel has a complimentary car that will take you up to 3 miles. Hotel bar was very happening each night, we dropped in after dinner at Nicos and had a yummy cocktail called the Cloud #1. You can also order food from Nicos at the bar. Lots of sophisticated good looking people there! Overall a great experience at The Thompson Chicago, my only compliant is that one of the elevators was out of service the whole weekend so there was only one working elevator, so things were kind of slow. But I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from i

Elevator broke

Posted May 9, 2017
I was there 3 times in roughly 3 months and every time the elevator was broken. It not good because they only have two. So you have to wait a kng time !
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Kristal , Hotel Management
We are extremely sorry you were not satisfied with your last stay with us, and our we thank you for bringing this to our attention. Our goal is always to exceed our guests’ expectations and we will certainly use your feedback as learning moment. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back and offer you the excellent service my team and I are striving for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for the price.

Posted May 7, 2017
This is an upscale Hotel at an affordable price. Everything about it was wonderful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great neighborhood and distance away from shops!

Posted May 6, 2017
Rooms were very dusty. There were stains on chairs. An elevator broke. Hotel staff was not knowledgeable about hotel amenities. Concierge was not available during indicated times of availability. Door staff was hit or miss. Location was great; however, due to expense paired with lack of service, may consider another hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Incredible vibe, great service, views, bed

Posted May 6, 2017
morning has a nice bar area with velvet couches and a translucent ceiling, serves good coffee (bright/not smoky or dark) and mighty leaf teas. almond milk or soy would be a good addition. glad they had a full cream option for carb-free/keto coffee drinkers. great place to relax after a rough night out and plan the next day. i had a good view facing south. nico and fig and olive are right there as is a starbucks and a cupcake shop and u can open the window for fresh air. carpet isn't as plush or soft as other top hotels but nbd and my room was by the elevator and across from stock room so it was a bit noisy at random times with carts rolling and doors slamming. also the shower is very nice!! but the door isn't a perfect seal so it leaks a bit. mirror lighting is good but not "good lighting" for selfies or a good judge for how u look in natural ambient lighting. mattress is incredible and huge and supportive, best sleep i have ever had. never felt so restored after a long plane ride and it was so welcoming to plop down after a cold chicago day. staff was always warm, made everything just easy for me. when speaking i could almost feel the caress of focused attention. lol the vibe of this place, can't be quantified in a numerical rating, is unique and calming and the neighborhood is perfect (feels like georgetown in DC). i will only stay here next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Posted May 5, 2017
Great location, comfortable bed and big room. Staff is super friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monterrey, Mexico

The room was to small.

Posted May 3, 2017
I was supposed to get an upgrade, but they said that nothing was available. We had to ask housekeeping for shampoo and soap because they wouldn't replace new ones when the room was made. Close to a lot of nice restaurants, but I really expected a better room for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC area

A perfect weekend getaway!

Posted May 2, 2017
We had a wonderful stay - Great Lake view room, perfectly appointed and quiet. The surrounding area has tons of shopping and dining options! I would highly recommend the Thompson.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

An excellent stay.

Posted Apr 28, 2017
I loved this hotel. It's right in the heart of Chicago with lots of shops and restaurants nearby. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was spacious and well appointed. I would definitely stay again.