Ratings based on 1,152 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great facility, horribly run

Posted Aug 14, 2016
It's hard to give a low rating to a hotel that on the surface is perfectly nice looking. My experience was terrible even though the beds were great and the room nice and clean. I stay at Starwood hotels regularly, and this was the worst run W, ever. The parking was just a gouge: charging $66 for their garage. I had entered the incorrect dates as I was booking and called right away to amend, but the manager refused and insisted on charging me a night stay to make change the date. When I asked for tea service to be sent to my room, they sent a kettle and 50 bags of sugar, but no tea! And had to wait Again for tea bags to arrive. Checking out they didn't send the bill automatically, I had to special request an itemized bill of each nights stay--what hotel doesn't send you the slip automatically today? And then after checking out, the very nice but clearly overrwhelmed bell person lost my luggage for quite a while. No one helped him; the staff were all just standing around near the concierge stand saying they didn't know anything. How is this OK?
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami, fl

Nice 3.8 star hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2016
W City Center is ok. Pretty close to a few areas, there are better locations to stay at. The lobby smells like a 100yrs worth of cigarettes that will probably never go away. The beds were very comfortable but that's pretty much it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Did not get room ordered - Dirty Drapes

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Ordered King did not get it despite hotel acknowledging order. Blamed Expedia. Drapes had a large stain - made room feel dirty. Decore and furniture seemed cheap.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Staff great, location great, cleanliness poor.

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Loved the location and staff were very helpful but the room was not cleaned well, poor room location for the price and very tiny room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Check your credit cards after staying.

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Cons: Add a coffee pot.
After checking out, the hotel emailed me an itemized bill totaling $178.87. This reflected the cost of our parking and room service, and was completely accurate. However, upon checking my account the next day, I realized the hotel did not charge me $178.87, but instead decided to round up and charge me a flat $200. There was no explanation provided, and we did not damage the room in any way, use the minibar, etc. I have contacted them directly for an explanation of the discrepancy but have been ignored. Also, there is not a coffee pot in the room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wisconsin

Great place to stay

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Upscale with great customer services. Room was nice, quiet and clean. Walking distance to restaraunts an the magnificent mile and other activities. Concierge was very helpful and friendly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Checked in was told room wasn't ready. Wasn't given any explanation why it wasn't ready ready. After waiting over an hour was given a room that wasn't the room I reserved, again given no explanation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Rude manager

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: nice bliss toiletries; comfortable bed.
Cons: rude rude rude night manager ; cozy rooms are insanely small so be prepared
Location: nearby downtown and easily walk-able to the Willis tower. Stay at the La Quinta for half the stress and attitud, double the room and the same location
Booked a spectacular room and was put in a cozy room due to arriving late after a delayed flight. Asked to be moved to the room I had booked and confirmed with the front desk that if i checked out of the cozy room the morning of my second night they would hold the spectacular room for me. Checked out and left my bags at the front desk and confirmed that i would be able to come back and move into the room after my meetings ( this is the middle of the week in downtown Chicago so you can imagine that many people staying are here for business). I returned later in the evening to find that they again had no spectacular rooms available because they had "tried to call me to confirm I wanted to move." Leaving aside for a second that i had already confirmed i wanted to change rooms, when i asked what # they tried to call they told me they had called the room? It's the middle of the day in the middle of the work week! The vast majority of their customers are not going to be sitting in their rooms and yet I was repeatedly told that they had "called me" and then gave the room away. No one ever mentioned they would be calling to confirm, as if they had I would have given them my cell,and when i pointed this out to the manager he immediately freaked out and started saying that he "didn't like my tone" and was dismissive and rude rather than even offering a "sorry" or something to make up for the inconvenience of checking out of my room only to check BACK INTO the same room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Center of town - perfect location

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: A fan in the bathroom. Needed more towels
Location: Taste of Chicago, Museum, Willis (Sears) Tower
Starwood Hotels are always my first choice and this one did not disappoint. W City Center in downtown Chicago is centrally located and just down the street from the museum. Keep getting this message: Unfortunately, we can't post reviews that include room rates, insults or profanity, personal details, website addresses or phone numbers
3 out of 5
by Lee from Milwaukee

2 star hotel, 5 star rates

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
Disappointing especially given hi cost. Very small double room - only 1 chair. Tiny 1 person bathroom. $15/ day for (slow) Internet connection. Very slow restaurant service for breakfast.