Ratings based on 1,131 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Enjoyed our stay!

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean, and air conditioning worked great when it was hot and humid!
Location: Close to restaurants, shopping, and Willow Creek Church. Easy access to I-90. Drive to downtown Chicago took between 40 minutes to 1-1/2 hours.
Overall we enjoyed our stay at Wingate in Schaumburg. Would definitely recommend!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, Michigan

Hotel close to the airport

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Liked the beds most of all!
Cons: Occasionally, you could hear guests walking around above us as our rooms were on the third floor.
We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The beds and pillows are to die for. Nice hot breakfast in the morning.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mountain Home Arkansas

Close to convention site

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Welcomed by staff..quick check in...pointed location of cart for luggage...made it easy to settle in. Breakfast bar was filling. Love having beautiful yellow bananas with no bruises. This was not my first choice for my stay as my previous reserved hotel closed and did not notify me. Thanks for making my stay great in spite of the difficulty. Wingate will be my choice in the future
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Amazing! Simply amazing! Great room; comfy bed; clean room; lots of space; clean hotel; no bad smells; free parking; amazing breakfast selection and space; friendly staff; kind and helpful staff .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Cheap hotel - kind of horrible

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: One good thing is it was cheap.
Cons: Most of their services, staff, decor, rooms, and pretty much everything that was highlighted in my experience.
Location: Schaumburg; a great city with good local food.
Staff is very slow; not very friendly or helpful. Took us 20 minutes to check in since the clerk had to review 'check-in materials and processes' and was not very friendly - seemed confused or lost while speaking to him. The decor and colors are very unappealing and give the venue a bad appearance. The room itself was rather small - marks on the fridge and over the counter; those were not cleaned and the room smelt horrible. The bed was not comfortable and not many sheets or blankets were provided. The colours and carpet in the room were not nice at all; gave it an old retro vibe - if the hotel was a bit more modern in appearance it would greatly enhance someone's stay here I am sure. 'Breakfast' was a small table of granola bars, pre-packaged muffins, oatmeal and coffee. Reviews about this place were horrible - although it has a three star rating on Expedia (as I post this) other hotel views found on google said it was horrible and most people advised to avoid this place. Also they didn't have much A/C on and it was always stifling hot in the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2016
The hotel is not as big as it looked in pictures, but overall still was a nice hotel. The room is big enough for my husband and I. We both enjoyed it. Breakfast was great! The workers are friendly, except for one of the house keeper. We had told her that one of our light bulb is out and it seemed to us that she didn't bother to care. The location of the hotel isn't bad at all. It is close to stores and restaurants. The things I would say that I didn't like about the hotel is the elevator. Each time you're in it, it feels like it won't ever open again. Just wasn't a smooth elevator. The other thing is their parking space. Their parking area is quite small!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Walls are paper thin

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: the staff was accommodating
Cons: sound proofing the walls - having hotel staff speak to guests who are running the halls at night or making noise that is disruptive to sleeping guests
Location: We were right near Woodfield mall - plenty to do -
It was difficult to sleep with all the noise. Kids running around on floor above us. I could hear the man in the next room snoring and his wife talking to him (muffled tones). The hotel staff was really nice but we would never stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WI

easy access to shopping, food and entertainment

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: clean, good breakfast
Location: Medeival Times, Miniature Golf, Good dining, IKEA, large mall
nice room for 3 adults went on 2 day trips into Chicago area for the Aquarium and the Lincoln Zoo
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in Schaumburg

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Overall good experience except the receptionist for a late evening check in.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The MANAGER of the hotel was EXTREMELY rude!!!

Posted Aug 2, 2016
I will be contacting the owner about many things that will not fit in this area BUT in short the manager of the hotel was the rudest man I've come across in a lon time he treated the 4 if us horribly! All other staff was very nice, well except for housekeeping. They didn't clean the room fully, make the beds, replenish coffee, cups, and toilet paper. It was an extremely important weekend as not only were we celebrating my daughters birthday... but I also had to let her know my life expectancy is less than 6 months.... I called ahead and everyone I talked to was VERY nice and accommodated a few special requests but he was the first person of contact and kinda set a tone as it was a suprise to celebrate and then to deliver bad news and comfort one another and he knew this and still was rude the entire weekend!