Ratings based on 1,705 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Nice hotel under construction

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: New beds, the staff was very nice. Nice swimming pool.
Cons: Close the rooms until the construction was finished, clean the place up and re-open.
Location: The location was good. It was close to lots of dining and shopping, Children's Discovery Museum, etc.
I went for the higher quality hotel with the Atrium in the middle just incase we hit bad winter weather. Expedia did not mention that the hotel was under construction.The entrance was closed, we had to use the side door. At 8 in the morning they starting pounding and drilling below us and above us. I could smell the dust when they started working. The trees in the Atrium were all full of dust. We were given brand new rooms close to each other so that was good except the first night I had a hard time falling asleep because I could smell paint still evaporating. The heaters were not working either. They just blew cold air. We ate at the restaurant and the food was good. The indoor pool was finished and good, but had a scare the day before we got there when my daughter saw the pool was closed on their website. I called and it had just been reopened. If I would have known we would be in a construction site I would not have gone to this hotel. It was not healthy. The other crazy thing was that they had a Holy Roller healing service in the Atrium Saturday afternoon and some guy was screaming hell, fire, and brimstone on a loud speaker. It was very disturbing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good place for a bridge tournament

Posted Feb 20, 2017
They have newly remodeled rooms close to the playing site. The staff is very friendly and help with anything needed. The rooms are large so that people can visit. The bed is very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us during your tournament. We appreciate you leaving us a review of such high regard. I will make sure to commend the staff for a job well done. We hope to have you back again. Best regards, Kent Tweeten - Guest Experience Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 31, 2017
It was easy to check in. The room was new, large, and comfortable. Restaurant food was good and convenient. I liked the time allowed for breakfast
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us at the Wyndham Glenview Suites, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. I am glad to read that you enjoyed our new rooms and hope to have you back again soon. Best regards, Kent Tweeten - Guest Experience Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pool was closed for repairs. Although that information is posted on their main website I went through Expedia and didn't notice. Wish Expedia could find a way to alert others when repairs are being made to a hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us at the Wynhdam Glenview Suites, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. I would like to apologize for the ongoing improvements we are making to our pool area. I will work to try and improve the notifications of its current status. Outside of the pool I hope that you had an enjoyable time with us and look forward to your return. Best regards, Kent Tweeten - Guest Experience Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Construction woes

Posted Dec 28, 2016
The rooms at the Wyndham are spacious and clean. The staff was responsive and helpful, but the hotel was under construction and our family, tgst had rented 4 rooms, encountered several problems. One room was without heat over a two day period. It took us one night to realize this. The staff then attempted to fix this but that attempt failed, leading to another night without heat. Eventually, it was repaired. Another room was located right next to the breakfast area where the movement of tables and chairs and the conversations woke us early every morning. I would never have rooms adjacent to this area, yet they have several. Again, the hotel personal were friendly and helpful, but our stay was less than pleasant due to room issues.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Linda, thank you for staying with us during your visit to the Glenview/Chicago area. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review about the stay. I am happy to read that our staff was able to accommodate you needs. We would like to deeply apologize for the issues you had with the heating and room locations. We are working to improve all our rooms at the hotel and take full responsibility for having not accomplished that in your situation. We hope that you can return again in the future so that we can provide you with accommodations to match our staff. Best regards, Kent Tweeten - Guest Experience Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

We cannot recommend this hotel

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Close to where we planned to shop.
Cons: Customer service.
Location: Great shopping areas.
The room was cold (62). The water was shut off for construction (we were told 2 hours before the shut off in the very early morning)...there were other rooms available (we were told later) that were not in the constructed areas path. We felt we should have at least been given complimentary breakfast for the inconvenience, but we were told we should have told them our room was cold and asked for another room when told the water would be shut off. It seemed to us that customer service was a low priority. We were very disappointed. We canceled the rest of our stay at the Wyndham Glenview Suites of North Chicago. We feel that customer service should be #1 priority. We are not picky people and give people a second and third chance but we feel we were given a very negative experience. There was also no mention of 2/3 of the hotel being under reconstruction in their listing on the web.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2016 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
MJ, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to leave us a review about your stay. We appreciate the feedback as we work hard to improve our property each and every day. I would like again apologize for the unfortunate experience you had due to our current renovations. I am sorry that you did not see our listings for the prices concerning breakfast and that we are currently under renovations. Best regards, Kent Tweeten - Guest Experience Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Good hotel

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Cons: There is some construction work going on in hotel.
Location: Good location
We like to stay in this hotel and will definitely book it in a future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2016 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Nat, thank you for staying with us again at the Wyndham Glenview Suites, we appreciate the feedback. I am happy to read that you enjoy staying with us while you are in the area. I am sorry that the current renovation was an inconvenience during your stay, but invite you back again in the future to a practically new property the next time you visit. Best regards, Kent Tweeten - Guest Experience Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A construction zone to be avoided!

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: It is a great location. I am sure it will be beautiful once the renovations are complete.
Cons: Close during construction!
We were unaware that the hotel is undergoing extensive renovations. The rooms were dated and dingy. The wallpaper in the bathroom was peeling. The noise from construction was annoying. Thankfully it stopped at night.The bathtub faucet leaked all night and the toilet handle had to be jiggled to stop it from running. The thermostat in the room had to be cranked up to 85 degrees before the room heated up. There was no comforter on the bed, only a very light cotton blanket. The mattress sunk in the middle and it offered no support. The fire alarm went off twice at 2am and the front desk was obviously annoyed by the volume of people checking to see if it was a false alarm. They were rude and unhelpful. The only way to charge your phone or tablet was to unplug a lamp in the sitting area or the alarm clock by the bed. The television remote did not work.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us at the Wyndham Glenview Suites, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us feedback about your stay. I would like to apologize for the downfalls you experienced during your time with us. We understand that during our transitional period it affects our guests and for that we take full responsibility. I can assure you that each point that you made will be addressed as we continue to improve our property. Best regards, Kent Tweeten - Guest Experience Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Thanksgiving stay

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Close to family in Glenview
Hotel is under construction will become Mariott in the future. The staff was helpful during check in. After arriving in our room the smoke alarm was giving a low battery alarm maintenance was called and they arrived promptly to fix it. The 2nd night of our stay there was a blasting of the fire alarm for a short period then went silent, they are installing new system for the hotel and may be working out some bugs, but at 1am it is a little inconvenient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2016 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your stay. We truly appreciate the feedback as we work through this transistional period. I would like to apologize for the inconvienences you experienced due to our switiching over to a new fire alarm system. I can assure that the late night alarm was not something scheduled and we take full responsibility for its sudden hiccup. We hope that the next time you visit family we will see you again. Best regards, Kent Tweeten - Guest Experience Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Under remodeling

Posted Nov 27, 2016
One of the light switches did not work and the tub leaked from the faucet. Could not hardly get up from the couch.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Larry, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate the feedback as we work through this transitional period. I would like to apologize for the light switch in your room. We work hard to maintain what is left of the hotel that has yet to be renovated and it appears in your case we failed, for which we take full responsibility. I hope that we can have you back again so that you can see the changes we are making everyday. Best regards, Kent Tweeten - Guest Experience Manager