Ratings based on 2,108 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Michigan

Great location - gorgeous views

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: location, views, and large, clean rooms.
Cons: room service
Location: near corner of Wacker and Michigan. About 50 ft to the east on Wacker is a great coffee and breakfast spot.
It was worth spending a little extra for a room with a river view. Spectacular view looking west down the Chicago River with views of the old IBM Building, Marina Towers, and Wacker Drive. Short walking distance to restaurants and the Theater District - short cab ride (if it's too cold) to N. Michigan or to the Art Institute. Rooms are clean and updated, but room service could use some improvement. We asked for some wine glasses for the room, and they were never delivered, but that was a very minor glitch. They have a decent fitness center, and the hotel restaurant is OK, but there are so many other nearby choices, I'd recommend doing a little exploring. Overall I'd stay here again, and would recommend it to my friends.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel is good and in good place.

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Hotel is good and facing the river in mid of city loop. Hotel facility is good and clean. Staff very friendly. I don't like the noise in the hotel only.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Place to Stay in Chicago!

Posted Dec 20, 2016
This was a beautiful hotel and the city view was gorgeous. Would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Chicago.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Wonderful hotel. Staff was great. Close to shopping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from IL

Posted Dec 19, 2016
The room was nice. And I totally liked it because of the view. We're over looking at the city.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Stayed for the view

Posted Dec 18, 2016
We only had one night to stay in Chicago and I wanted downtown with a view. The hotel room I got gave me exactly that - a wonderful, snowy view of the river. Aside from that, not impressed. The bathroom door looked like it had been kicked in, patched, and kicked in again. In order to latch it, it had to be slammed - felt sorry for the neighboring room(s). And I'm sure they could hear it, too. The rooms are not very insulated from noise. Bathroom floor still had remnants of previous guests' hair lining the outside of the bathtub. Speaking of bathtub - shower was a trickle and the drain took a good 15 minutes afterwards to drain the water accumulated from a shower. And our toilet tissue holder was broken off when we arrived and was just hanging out on the tank of the toilet. It's almost like something went down in that room and it was half tended to and then forgotten to finish fixing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location to Everything

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Overall good experience. Great location in proximity to shopping and entertainment. Reasonable rates.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Girls Christmas trip

Posted Dec 13, 2016
The hotel room was large and roomy, but the bed was very soft and sunken in. It felt like a very old mattress. The room was very clean and the view was amazing. We were asked when we checked in if we would prefer a room with a river view and of course said yes. When we checked out though we were informed it was an additional 30.00 per night for the room. I would not have said yes if I had been informed of the charge. I had to insist that I not be charged for something I was not informed about. They did not charge me, but I felt they did so reluctantly. A bit of a downer to a really fun weekend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and helpful staff.

Posted Dec 12, 2016
The Wyndham is in a great location and the entire staff was helpful during the stay. The hotel checked us in early and made accommodations for us when our flight was cancelled at O'Hare due to snow.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Great location. Beautiful hotel. Will stay again.