Ratings based on 547 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WA USA

Best location for visiting Chichen

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Hotel is older but refurbished rooms, lots of space, we had a great sunset view on the 3rd floor facing the Observatory. Grounds are beautiful with lovely gardens, early am lots of tropical birds. Walk from the hotel to the back entrances of Chichen Itza, this is the best part. Food was ok, pricey but that's not why your there. Staff were kind and very helpful. If visiting Chichen Itza this hotel is a great option, would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toowoomba, Australia

Walk to Chichen Itza ruin

Posted Feb 25, 2017
This is a great hotel surrounded by the Chichen Itza ruins. Hotel staff were lovely and most could speak English and there was nothing that was too much trouble. I stayed there for seven nights and enjoyed every moment
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal Canada

Great historical hotel with high class of service.

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Felt genuinely welcome. Will come back. Great food in the main restaurant. Incredibly convenient location. Preferred a superior room in the main building.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

One of the best hotel I have ever stayed!

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Great garden with biggest tree I have ever seen so far, private entrance to the ruin, wild birds to wake you up every morning
Cons: Hotel staff can add more smile on their faces...
Location: Chichen Itza and cenotes
Pros: 1. 92 years old vintage and well-maintained building. 2. Private entrance to Chichen Itza 3. Multiple cenotes nearby 4. Multiple hotel amenities: at least 3 restaurants, 2 swimming pools, 3 souvenir shops 5. Big garden with gigantic trees and various wild birds. Wake up by the sounds of birds every morning. Ideal for bird/nature lovers. Cons: 1. Poor internet connection inside the room 2. Hotel staffs don't smile so much... 3. Only one restaurant remains open after 5pm in the hotel and that restaurant is rather expensive. If you don't want to eat in that restaurant, you have few options. 1. Eat in the restaurant of other nearby hotels. 2. Although Chichen Itza closes at 5pm, the only one restaurant in Chichen Itza remain open until 7pm. It's cheaper than the restaurant in the hotel. So you can eat there and pay 80 pesos to take a taxi back to the hotel, it would still be cheaper than eating in the hotel. You will have to ask restaurant staff to help you get a taxi. 3. Go to nearby village Piste and eat there. 4. After sunset there is not much to do. 5. The private entrance between the hotel and Chichen Itza is only 5 - 10 minutes walk, but it cannot be used after 5pm once the ruin is closed. After 5pm you will have to take a taxi because there is only one highway route that takes a big turn around the entire area. You can talk risk to walk on the highway but it is not recommended and it takes minimum 45 minutes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from somerville, MA

Can't beat the location for visiting Chichen Itza

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: The room was rather dated.
Location: 100 yards from the private entrance to Chichen Itza.
We booked a 2 night stay. Pleasant resort hotel right next to the "hotel entrance" to Chichen Itza. Parking person asked to see our booking confirmation before letting us into the parking lot but from then on, was easy. Porters on hand to carry luggage. Easy check-in. We booked a guide through the front desk for the next day, 8am. Our guide, Juan, was waiting for us the next morning. He was excellent. 2-hour tour for m$900. No lines to enter the site at 8 am. Because the ticket is valid all day, we were able to walk back to the hotel at noon, go up to our room, lie down, then have lunch, before re-entering the site at 2pm. The hotel doesn't get a 5 because the safe in our room was still locked from the previous clients. We reported the problem but it wasn't fixed during our 2-night stay. We couldn't get wifi in the room-- had to go to the lobby or the pool to get a signal. We had no hot water one morning (reported and fixed). The French plumbing meant the the tap labeled C was hot. Overall, the decor was old and tired in places. But the Mayan carved headboard was lovely... A mix... We did their "planetarium experience" the first night. It as more about Mayan legends rather than astronomy but was entertaining. Having said this, you can't beat waking up next to the ruins, being able to come and go during the day, and being able to crash exhausted 100 yards from the exit gate when the site closed at 5pm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kelowna, BC, Canada

Wonderfully maintained old 1920's hacienda

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Location: Chichen Itza and all the magnificent structures of the ancient Mayan people
Calm, very comfortable old hacienda carved out of the jungle complete with walkable pathways throughout an exquisitely manicured property. The multiple choices of accommodation lends its attraction to all levels of travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Awesome Hotel

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Staff are fun and amazing
Cons: Some activities either at the resort or nearby to offer like a bus to a discotheque or fitness classes.
Location: Chicken Itza is amazing. ASK about the night light show
I would recommend this hotel to anyone. If you want to have a quiet time and have private access to Chicken Itza, this is the hotel. The rooms are more than spacious and well adorn as well as being very clean. The hotel staff are amazing. They are fun to be around, will always put a smile on your face and help you with your Spanish if you are willing to give it a try(for those that do not speak Spanish). Will definitely return. The only downside is that Chicken Itza is the only thing available to do at the resort. There are no activities except the spa and no dancing at night. It is a very quiet spot and if that is what you are looking for then this resort has everything for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Louis

Beautiful location and view of ruins.

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Room had great shaded balcony facing the nearby ruin of the Mayan observatory! Electricity in room was only active when a key card, attached to the room key was inserted in a slot on the wall.. a bit inconvenient. Tv channels Very limited and the al la cart restaurant was way to expensive and pretentious in the evening. Lunch buffet was tremendous though, staff was very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the ruins

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: Very close to Chitchen Itza ruins, very nice location with lot of trees around.
Cons: Cleanliness of towels
The hotel is in a nice location and very close to the ruins. The hotel staff is very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel!

Posted Dec 29, 2016
We booked this hotel because of it's proximity to the ruins, but after going there, we wish we could have stayed longer! The setting of this hotel is BEAUTIFUL - trees everywhere, secluded, but not so much that you feel isolated. Staff were friendly and knowledgeable. The private entrance was handy - we entered the ruins site twice and didn't have to deal with any long lines, especially compared to the lines we saw at the main public entrance. The hotel was able to get us a guide at the last minute who shared a lot of information about the ruins, making our visit enjoyable. Overally, highly recommend!