Ratings based on 124 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Rebecca

Crackiing pub and guest house

Posted Nov 13, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice stay, staff very friendly, food superb, rooms comfy and well equipped.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 22, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Ronald

Great Pub with Accommodation

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
Great staff, great food and great room/location would definitely revisit if in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Farnham

Lovely old Inn, close to Goodwood

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Cons: Softer mattress
It was really busy due to Goodwood races, but the staff were extremely friendly and the food was excellent, with good service.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Superb location

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Hotels
Superb location in Sussex countryside. Food excellent - best risotto I have ever tasted! Portion size is very large!Lovely walk into Singleton and great location for visiting Goodwood. Only downside: room 4 and 5 (twin rooms) are separated by a very thin partition wall. When guests in next room came in at midnight we were woken up by their voices and movement. Shame because room is lovely and in the morning you can sit outside in the sunshine with a cup of coffee. Well decorated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Penzance

Beautiful quiet location in Sussex countryside.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Very good food and lovely garden in which to eat and drink. This clearly made it very popular with locals.
Cons: We could perhaps have been warned in advance that it would be extremely busy in the evenings for dining.
Location: Seemed to be plenty to do but we were involved in a wedding. Will definitely be back to explore the location.
I was very pleasantly surprised at the quality of the inn which was a random choice online. The room had everything we needed though was perhaps just a little small. The situation was idyllic and peaceful. The breakfast was excellent and the service good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dont expect to pay the price you book

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Not much to recommend. The location is lovely, but the rooms are cramped, and the food is barely average. Vey busy in the evening. Staff are polite
Cons: Transparent pricing.
Location: Goodwood, Chichester, nice walking. Singleton open air museum, west dean gardens
Rip off alert! This place is basically a pub with rooms. But because it's close to Goodwood the managers think they can rip off their customers with overcharging and dubious practices. I booked through Expedia, at the price they quoted on the Internet. I got an e-mail confirmation from Expedia, turned up at 6pm on the night, only to be told they were going to charge me £60 more per night 'because the wrong price was on the website and it's the festival of speed'. Excuse me, what happened to honouring an agreement? They claimed to have sent an e-mail to me with the new information, but I never received it and they didn't give me a copy, so I've no way of telling whether they did or not. At that time of the day, I didn't feel I had much choice but to pay up. But that kind of sharp practice should be unlawful. And to be honest, whilst it would have been ok at the original rate, it was rubbish value at the increased rate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Twickenham

Weekend stay

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: It is attractive and beautifully situated in the Sussex countryside. The staff were all pleasant and friendly and helpful. The accommodation was great
Cons: I can't think of anything
Location: See above
The room was clean, comfortable and well equipped. The staff were welcoming and the atmosphere in the bar and the restaurant was warm and cosy. We ate in the restaurant on both evenings and there was a good choice of food all of which was delicious and the breakfasts on both mornings were excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

excellent in every way

Posted Feb 15, 2017
I stayed in one of the courtyard rooms, a most comfortable en-suite twin with all amenities. Plenty of tea/coffee etc. provided. The breakfast was excellent. Staff friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Excellent find - wonderful brief stay.

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: Lovely genuine welcome and comfortable stay.
Cons: Nothing we could think of.
Location: Chichester: small, friendly, Cathedral City; Chichester Festival Theatre; Goodwood Racecourse; Weald & Downland open-air Museum; Beaches.
A lovely find, well-situated just outside Chichester - open-hearth fires in the grates, and lovely atmosphere throughout. Delicious, finely-presented food and much to choose from. Overnight stay in very comfortable Room, with good-sized ensuite and fine shower. Genuinely-welcoming but not guest-fussy staff.