Ratings based on 207 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
33% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chico

dated and worn out inside room

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: not buy room here
Location: shop, food, parks
not a good choice, motel 6 better option... didn't pay 1 star rate, disappointed
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Americas Best Value Inn , Hotel Management
Dear unsatisfied customer. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D ftom Eureka ,CA

Avoid at all costs!

Posted May 2, 2017
Worst hotel I've ever stayed at! Room was old and not maintained- shower felt like I was you g to fall through the floor! Noise and yelling and banging in middle of night both nights - no one ever did anything to stop it. No sleep either night!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by ABVI CHICO, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We are sorry to here that you had a very unpleasant stay and we thank you for letting us know. Every guest deserves a well kept and maintained room with the proper customer service needed. Our rooms are currently being updated and our staff has been reminded how to handle noise complaints. We are fully responsible and apologize for your stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central Coast, CA

This is a terrible hotel that's close to downtown.

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: It is close to downtown.
Cons: The whole place needs a good remodel.
Location: It1's a few blocks from downtown. On Thursday there was a Farmer's Market with lots of people out and entertainment.
We stayed two nights. When we arrived the room smelled musty and dusty, the air conditioner worked but it was loud. On Friday night a huge party of young kids showed up after 11pm to continue a rowdy party until after 2:30 am. It is clear that only exterior paint has been added to give it a bit of show everything else is very tired as we were after staying there.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by abvi, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We are sorry to hear that your stay was not satisfying. For any further issues with noise while staying at our establishment, we recommend to report a noise complaint to our front office staff who will quickly resolve the issue quickly. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We checked in and could not stay in our room.

Posted Apr 10, 2017
We checked in it was a "smoking" room. It was disgusting. We ended up at my daughters apt on the couch. It is unfortunate due to demand that this hotel does not have any standards. Front desk person was very nice and totally understood. Refunded our money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Front Desk Chris, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time out to write a review. It is unfortunate that you were not able to stay with us due to an unexpected smoking room. This situation does happen and is sometimes unavoidable. We apologize for the time that was wasted on your behalf.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Rug dirty. Cockroaches. Front dest pleasant. Would not stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
The people at the front desk were very nice. When we checked in we signed a waiver saying there would be no guests in our room & we would abide by the noise curfew. I think we were the only ones who abided by the rules! People were up making noise all night, doors slamming, a few people having a party a few rooms down from us with people in & out & drinking until all hours of the morning. I called the front desk twice, once at 1:30am and again at 2:45am, but the noise didn't stop until about 4am. The room was old & rundown. We will never stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by Ty, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We are ashamed that we could not deal with the noise issue in a timely manner. We have gone over how to handle these situations effectively and properly with old and new members of the staff to make sure guest don't have these unnecessary conflicts. We personally give our thanks for your review as it gives us a check to ensure customer issues are handled. Best Regards, Americas Best Value Inn Chico
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only if you are desperate.

Posted Mar 12, 2017
The place looks ok from the outside but it just needs to be updated inside. Very old and rundown. I was desperate and it was one of the only places that wasn't full. I would not recommend unless you are desperate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 18, 2017 by ABVI CHICO, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We are grateful to have provided you with a nights stay. The rooms are old and renovations are being made but these things take time. Thank you for leaving us a review
4 out of 5
by Ronalafae

good for the price

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
last minute arrangements and they were very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Ty, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving a nice review. Feel free to stay with us again. Best Regards, Americas Best Value Inn Chico
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Ty, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for making time to leave us a review. We apologize to see that you were not satisfied with your stay. Please feel free to stay with us again or give any feedback on how we can make your traveling experience better.
4 out of 5
by Kristy

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Ty, Hotel Management
Thank you for the superb rating!!