Ratings based on 230 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel near the college

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Wife found mice dropping out in the open in the first room and then in the second room. So at that point she had to request a refund and go to another hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent place for the money

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Staff was great.Breakfast could be better.Needs a fixer-upper.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Utah

Not impresed

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Pros: Lobby, front staff
Cons: Overall cleanliness of the rooms. I didn't really want my 8 month old crawling around on the floor within the room.
Upon arrival at late at night there were multiple light bulbs out in the living room area leaving only one light in the main area. We did find a couple bugs that were in our bed (not bed bugs) and the bathroom was not very clean in terms of the bathtub was brownish as well as the tile. The lobby however looked really nice and well kept but the rooms could use some attention.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old outdated room smells musty

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Cons: Update room
Location not bad walking distance to down town. Room old outdated musty smelling
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

If price is your driver...

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: Price and proximity
Cons: Carpet cleaning; breakfast supported
Location: Easy walk to Downtown Chico and Chico State; plenty of food, drink, and nightlife. Bidwell Park is a regional gem.
Seems to be a trend in this region that economy and budget hoteliers are opting to accept mid- to long-term residents to fill guest rooms. Heritage Inn in Chico is among the properties that leads me to perceive that as a trend. Front desk staff are fine, if under-supported by the property and circumstances. Housekeeping is OK from the ankles up, and carpet cleaning is not only somewhat outside the rubric of a housekeeper's daily room turns, but also a marker of the level of investment, involvement, and engagement that Management or Ownership has with the property. Just because it's a "Dog Room" does not imply that I want to share in other peoples' dog's 'accidents.' I paid a pet fee; hire someone to run a carpet machine and clean that - ahem - carpet. In the meantime, if price is your driver, wear slippers. The breakfast was woefully unsupported on a day that the hotel was sold out the night before. No coffee; scant food supplies and the 'breakfast' was supposed to have a half-hour to go. Highly disappointing. It's frozen egga-muffin. How hard is it to take out of the freezer and put it in the guest-access fridge?
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sonoma, CA

Party

Posted Sep 28, 2017
I should have known when asked for a $50 deposit 'in case we have a party' that it would be noisy. Finally by 2:30am it quieted down. Breakfast was Kix cereal!! If you had 6 quarters you could get a coffee or a soda from the machine. Oh, and the ice machine was out of order. If you are a family or an older couple, I would choose somewhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Not bad, you get what you pay for. Be sure to throw a towel under the front door to prevent the cold air from getting out. It's a bit dated, but it's Chico. I came home without bedbugs or any bad experiences, so it wasn't too bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lompoc, CA

Good hotel

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Central location
Cons: A little updating
Location: downtown restaurants, shopping, parks.
We chose it because it was located downtown and near many of the places that we were visiting. The carpet was a little worn but it really didn't matter to us. We were just looking for a nice quiet place to spend the night with a pool. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. We would stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Check before your commit

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: The location is a major plus. Looks clear on the outside, but wait till you enter the rooms.
Cons: Must provide working, reliable internet services - its advertised in the your wen site... Must provide ice machine for the guest. New room electronics
Location: In downtown on the major streets. Easy walking access to the city.
No internet service is a major issue...No ice machine for quests. Rooms and electronics date back the early 70's, when they are working. Management aware of situation but not willing to invest to correct. Event the staff was complaining.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Basic, no frill accommodation

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Good location for walking to downtown and historical sites.