Ratings based on 149 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sf Bay Area

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Cons: Didn't understand how to work the control for the TV, but at 10 pm no one answered at the desk.
Location: Nice choice of eateries.
Found staff more than helpful and quite pleasant. Was great to have complementary breakfast (up to $10) but would not recommend the almond lemon pancakes. Gritty and plain. Staff in restaurant though was great.
5 out of 5
by PHILIP

Favorite Hotel in Chico

Posted Aug 13, 2017 on Hotels
Always great.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2017 on Hotels
Beautifully renovated historical hotel. Great service and insights into local area. Breakfast was outstanding (and restaurant staff was great).
2 out of 5
by Shanda

Not worth the price

Posted Jul 31, 2017 on Hotels
We booked the hotel for its reputation and location. The location was everything we expected, within downtown Chico. The hotel was not what we expected and definitely not worth the inflated price. The room was tiny with no exceptional amenities to speak of. The bed was uncomfortable and wiggled excessively with every move. The shower was a tiny box shower that was not clean with spots of yellow gue and black in the grout. It was very loud as the person above us paced all night and all morning. A positive is that there were Aveda products in the room that smelled wonderful. We also received $10 passes for the restaurant next door that was delicious.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Victorian charmer in downtown worth the extra cost

Posted Jul 30, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel. Comfortable beds. Aesthetically attractive architecture. Very friendly staff. Costs more than a chain, but worth it. It was very memorable.
4 out of 5
by Eric

Good Location, Average Experience

Posted Jul 26, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is located in a newer building in the vibrant downtown area. The hotel itself is designed in an older historic style. My 3rd floor room, a Standard Queen, was comfortable and clean, functional, but really nothing special. The hallways were the narrowest I think I’ve ever seen, a mere 42-inches at some points. Front desk staff were friendly and welcoming. A few minor disappointments - the restaurant and lounge were closed on the night of my one-night stay (they're closed Sunday and Monday). This was easily offset by the proximity to numerous restaurants within walking distance. My room had a view of the parking structure next door; not great. The breakfast vouchers paid for a cooked-to-order breakfast the next morning in the adjoining restaurant, but the service was average at best a spotty even though there were several manager-types wondering around. The omelet I had was sub-par in my opinion.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, would stay here again

Posted Jul 24, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel in town with free parking in garage right next door. Lovely furniture in the lobby, rooms nicely decorated. We were given $10/each vouchers for breakfast in the downstairs restaurant. Huge windows but plenty of privacy
4 out of 5
by Paul

nice stay in downtown Chico

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
nice, central location. The hotel is clean and quiet - staff were friendly and efficient. Parking was great and free and the morning breakfast was first rate. The room was clean but is a bit dated - the bed wasn't the most comfortable. The pillows and sheets could be replaced with newer and higher quality ones. The shower was nice and roomy but the showerhead was too strong and unadjustable and should be replaced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Super hotel in great downtown.

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Super convenient. Everything works. Great restaurant.
Cons: Staff should warn loudly about rules in parking lot, which is shared with metered facilty. I misread sign and got a ticket.
Location: In downtown shopping area very near university and farmers' market. Sierra Nevada brew pub is about 2 miles.
Stopped overnight there to go to market next morning.
4 out of 5
by Chuck

Great location

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
Great location downtown and close to University.