Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was a place to stay.

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Pros: I liked the fact that there were rooms available. After staying there I realized why.
Cons: The place was very dirty. There were no towels in my room when I checked in.
Location: Run away from this place.
This was a place to stay as were very tired and needed a hotel. I needed towels upon check in as there were none in the room. I asked the night clerk for towels, he got me some with no questions asked. When I got to the room, the towels had make up and hairballs on them. It was filthy and disgusting.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for 1 night

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Not so quiet with the other people that stayed. I was only there 1 night so it was manageable. Found a cockroach in the bathroom light. Kinda gross
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fairfield, CA

False Advertising & Bad Location

Posted Jun 6, 2015
Pros: They allow dogs. The swimming pool was nice.
Cons: Need to renovate and redecorate their rooms. Need to have a security person keeping the homeless off the property. Remove the free breakfast from ad.
Location: There is a wonderful dog park on the Feather River.
This hotel advertises a free continental breakfast on Expedia. There is no breakfast! It is also located in a seedy area with a lot of homeless people running around at night scavenging through the garbage dumpsters and plugging in their cell phones on an outside electrical outlet right next to our room. They do allow dogs for $10.00 per dog per night but the carpets are filthy and the tv only has basic cable. The internet is spotty. I will not stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sycamore,Il

Old motel, a/c old and noisy

Posted May 23, 2015
We wanted to stay in Chico Ca but couldnt get a place there. Sunset Inn was not great but it was available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Robert from San Jose, Ca

Great place to stay.

Posted May 11, 2015 on Hotels
Our second stay at Sunset Inn. Contrary to some opinions, this is a great place to stay. Room was clean, and had a fridge, microwave, coffee maker and a safe. Had plenty of room, and enough towels etc. Complimentary soap, shampoo and body lotion were in the room. The queen bed in our room was actually a King size bed (no complaints)and very comfortable, and a bonus was very nice pillows, not your typical flat uncomfortable motel pillows. I called and told the staff I would be checking in late, and was told "no Problem. When I arrived about 9 PM, I was greeted by a friendly person and check in was fast and painless. Checkout took about 10 seconds. Did not use the pool but it looked clean. There is no breakfast available on premises as advertised, but that was not a problem as we were eating with family nearby. We would stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from calif

not comfortable for disabled only 1 room avail

Posted May 9, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: Put chairs in rooms, Had I been told there would be No handicapped room, I would have gone elsewhere. There were 2 of us that are disabled.
handicapped room unavailable, tho I was told it was mine. No chairs in room, coffee maker filthy. Cockroach in shower. Windows would not open.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 6, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reno, NV

No hot water & police arrest at our front door

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: Bed was decent and close to highway.
Cons: Clean up area, we did see someone wandering by cars and checking to see if they were locked.
Location: Chico is a short drive.
We had someone running from the police who was apprehended a few doors down from our hotel. We weren't sure what was happening but we watched someone get arrested right in front our door. Luckily no one was hurt but hearing "come out with hands up" at 10 PM at night with 2 kids isn't the most restful night. First night our shower handle for hot didn't work, it was fixed the next day so I'll give them credit for being prompt.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reno

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Clean room-pool was extremely dirty. There was no continental breakfast that was listed on website, just coffee.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fairfield CA

Old motel in need of repairs and cleaning

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Advertised (reservations stated) continental breakfast but was not available. Scary neighborhood. Rooms old and in need of repairs; dirty