Ratings based on 232 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If you're planning a trip to Chico, stay here!

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: Downtown is less than five min away - CSU also. Shopping and Dining nearby
Without doubt, this is my favorite hotel in Chico, and my new go-to place when I'm in town. The whole staff, including management, is extremely friendly and helpful. It's a few minutes away from downtown, easy access to hwy 99, and right by a 24 hr Denny's. The building is older but it's been maintained. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and much nicer than I anticipated. They were doing remodeling of the bathrooms during my stay there, but the noise was limited and stopped pretty early. I was in one of the rooms that had just been redone, the new bathrooms are awesome. If you're planning a trip to Chico, stay here! Its a budget priced hotel with the feel of a hotel much more expensive, plus the people who work there are great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Guest, Thank you for your great review! It's our pleasure to be your new "go-to place", we're happy to have you. I will definitely pass your review along to the staff, as I know they will appreciate it. We'll look forward to next time! Warm Regards, Dina Patel General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Comfortable, clean place to stay.

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: Clean, comfortable, friendly staff
Cons: Nothing. We were happy with our stay.
Super 8 was a pleasant surprise. We usually stay up the road at BW Heritage Inn but they wanted twice the price for a less comfortable stay. Super 8 has friendly, helpful staff, clean, comfortable rooms and a well stocked breakfast. The bathroom was huge and I liked the walk-in shower. Easier on the old bones. Plus, it was far enough away from the sleeping area that I didn't wake my husband when I used the facilities in the middle of the night. My only complaint the whole stay was they had the TV set on Fox News at breakfast. I hate Fox News! The rest of our stay was great. Will stay here again when we visit family in Chico. Thank you for making it a pleasant experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Hello, and thank you for your kind review! It's wonderful to hear that you were happy with your stay. I will share your review with the staff, I know they will be pleased as well. We will certainly look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Chico. Warm Regards, Dina Patel General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

My Retreat in Chico

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: The stay this year marked the 10 year anniversary for using the motel as a "base" from which to explore other parts of the city. The best part about the motel is that the managers--Dina and Barry--continue to manage, and many of the service employees are still working at the motel. A friendly fact after a long flight helps. Quite close to where my 97 year old aunt is staying.
Cons: No complaints; really close to perfection. I did, however, find a speck of dust on my computer screen :-)
Location: I went to the Bidwell Mansion, the River Park, the old downtown area--great antiques--the local artisans market, and Chico State University.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 28, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Hello James, Thank you very much for your review. It is our pleasure to welcome you back each time over the last ten years. We value guests such as yourself greatly. We look forward to your next trip through. And I do apologize for the spec of dust! Thank you again. Warm Regards, Barry Patel General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hawaii

Close to everything

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Everyone pleasant and very helpful , very happy with my stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2016 by Barry, Hotel Management
Hello Danny, Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you were happy with your stay. Our staff is genuinely friendly and helpful, and they will be happy to hear it recognized. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards, Mr. Barry Patel General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2016
The flapper was broken and there was water coming out consistently. Breakfast was all cold.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2016 by Barry, Hotel Management
Hello Guest, I would like to apologize again for the situation with the flapper, we did fix it as soon as we were able. Our breakfast does consist of mostly cold items, but the waffles are hot - you make them on the waffle iron. Thank you for sharing your review. Best Regards, Mr. Barry Patel General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to where my interview was.

Posted Oct 3, 2016
It was pleasant except for having to walk up the stairs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello, and thank you for sharing your review. We appreciate your feedback. Best Regards, Barry Patel GM
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok for a night or 2

Posted Sep 28, 2016
For a quick overnight or two it's fine. Staff wasn't real friendly. Continental breakfast pretty basic. No elevator so careful if you don't want stairs. Rooms were clean & appear recently remodeled - beds comfortable
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2016 by a, Hotel Management
d
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york ny

Bad hotel had bed bugs

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Was not a good one at all we had to wake up middle of the night and book another hotel because we had bed bugs all over the room .. we go biten and we had to wash everything and dry it for 90 minutes
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2016 by Barry, Hotel Management
The following response is respectfully submitted. First and foremost it should be noted that this isolated incident has been taken very seriously by the staff and management of this hotel. Please keep in mind that a hotel does not manufacture such situations, but rather can become victim themselves. Our guests, past and future, should not be alarmed as there is no bed bug problem. Although an isolated occurrence, anytime a guest is not satisfied or is uncomfortable for any reason, it is a concern for all of us at our hotel, as guest satisfaction and comfort remain our top priority. Regarding the incident in question, the room was immediately taken offline. A staff evaluation was conducted, followed by a thorough professional examination. Not until it was 100% certain that the room was suitable for occupancy was it returned to inventory. The guest was also personally contacted by the General Manager, and given a full refund. This incident is both frustrating and alarming, as we host thousands of guests each year, consistently providing excellent service and comfort. We unequivocally apologize for the inconvenience and discomfort this guest experienced and once again, we would like to assure you that our hotel does not have a bed bug problem. We take every step including staff training and implementing professional preventative programs to ensure this. Employees of our hotel are firmly committed to guest satisfaction and excellent guest experience. We would like to personally invite you to experience this for yourself. Sincerely, Barry Patel General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Woodland, CA

Convenient, nothing special

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Comfortable bed.
Cons: Breakfast area too small and selection limited, even for a continental breakfast.
Location: Near CSU Chico, the Bidwell Mansion, and Bidwell park.
Convenient, older facility, but well maintained. Breakfast room way too small and lacking many basics of even the base continental breakfast. Room was clean and comfortable. Be aware, no elevators to 2nd and 3rd floors.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Lisa, Thank you for your detailed review. I am happy to see that overall your experience was positive. I apologize that you found the breakfast lacking. However, we follow the hotel brand requirements. We, unfortunately, do not decide what the breakfast consists of. Please join us again if you're in the Chico area. Kind Regards, Dina Patel General Manager
4 out of 5
by Andreas

Positive Überraschung

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
Das Preis-Leistungsverhältnis dieses Hotels ist sehr gut. Wir haben uns sehr wohl gefühlt und können das Hotel nur empfehlen. Es ist allerdings nicht so leicht zu finden, obwohl es zentral liegt.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertung. Ich bin froh zu hören, dass Sie mit den Unterkünften zufrieden waren Bitte besuchen Sie uns wieder , wenn Sie jemals in der Gegend sind. Freundliche Grüße, Barry Patel Generaldirektor