Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Staff was nice and helpful. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Close by Denny's.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! I will share this with the staff, I know they will appreciate it. Please join us again if you are in the area! Kind Regards, Dina Patel General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Cons: The staff...they should not be working in customer service.
The hotel staff harassed us. They froze our funds so we had no money. They also red flagged us for making a report about our missing money. They had construction going on which was fine except they put us right over where they were working so it shook the lamps and we couldn't hear the tv.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Hello Guest, I am terribly sorry if you felt harassed in any way. There must be information that I am missing from this situation that made you feel that way. You stayed in our hotel 16 days, checking out and back in every 1-2 days. The renovations started prior to your first night and were well underway, and you did not make any complaints to anyone on staff. The first we heard of any unhappiness was from corporate offices, whom had received a complaint from you. We made every attempt to make you comfortable; we changed rooms several times and gave you discounts. You were made aware that renovations were still underway and would continue, yet you continued to come back on your own to rent additional nights. After a second complaint, again not made with us but with corporate offices, you were even given a free night. When you returned again, that was when we declined to extend your stay. We made this decision because the renovations that you had made complaints about were still ongoing. You were clearly unhappy, so we thought it best that you find lodging elsewhere. Days later is when we heard from corporate that you filed another complaint regarding your money. We have not, and would not freeze someone's funds. In fact, we worked with credit card processing to find out what may have caused any funds to be held. Ultimately, there was nothing on our end that caused any of your funds to be held. In conclusion, we thought it illogical to continue to rent rooms to you, being that all our attempts to make you comfortable were unsuccessful, and we had no part of any funds being held. Best Regards General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central Oregon

Good value

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: Read "Write about you experience"
Cons: Breakfast bar
Location: Lobby has tourist information
Close to rt 99 exit 387A we asked for and received a quiet room. With the AC/heater fan on low, we did not hear the traffic. Bed was very comfortable and supported our aging backs though the bedspread slipped off each of our three nights. A very large flat screen TV offered many cable channels. The desk was a bit worse for wear, but that's not at all critical. The desk lamp had electric outlet which we used. Bathroom would be upgraded we were told, but it was fine for us: plenty of hot water, very clean, toilet worked perfectly, etc. Breakfast bar was average (cereal, white waffles, breads, rolls, yogurt); we like more protein so we ate out (Denny's is a walk away) after enjoying Super 8's coffee and juice! The only down side was the heavy feet above us on our last night; we were so tired that we fell asleep anyway. As our stay was early winter, we didn't use any outdoor facilities, except the parking lot!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello, and thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback very much. I am glad to hear that overall your stay with us was pleasant. I have made notes of things to work on based on your review. I hope to see you both in the future. Kind Regards, Dina Patel General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

If you're planning a trip to Chico, stay here!

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: Downtown is less than five min away - CSU also. Shopping and Dining nearby
Without doubt, this is my favorite hotel in Chico, and my new go-to place when I'm in town. The whole staff, including management, is extremely friendly and helpful. It's a few minutes away from downtown, easy access to hwy 99, and right by a 24 hr Denny's. The building is older but it's been maintained. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and much nicer than I anticipated. They were doing remodeling of the bathrooms during my stay there, but the noise was limited and stopped pretty early. I was in one of the rooms that had just been redone, the new bathrooms are awesome. If you're planning a trip to Chico, stay here! Its a budget priced hotel with the feel of a hotel much more expensive, plus the people who work there are great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Guest, Thank you for your great review! It's our pleasure to be your new "go-to place", we're happy to have you. I will definitely pass your review along to the staff, as I know they will appreciate it. We'll look forward to next time! Warm Regards, Dina Patel General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Comfortable, clean place to stay.

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: Clean, comfortable, friendly staff
Cons: Nothing. We were happy with our stay.
Super 8 was a pleasant surprise. We usually stay up the road at BW Heritage Inn but they wanted twice the price for a less comfortable stay. Super 8 has friendly, helpful staff, clean, comfortable rooms and a well stocked breakfast. The bathroom was huge and I liked the walk-in shower. Easier on the old bones. Plus, it was far enough away from the sleeping area that I didn't wake my husband when I used the facilities in the middle of the night. My only complaint the whole stay was they had the TV set on Fox News at breakfast. I hate Fox News! The rest of our stay was great. Will stay here again when we visit family in Chico. Thank you for making it a pleasant experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Hello, and thank you for your kind review! It's wonderful to hear that you were happy with your stay. I will share your review with the staff, I know they will be pleased as well. We will certainly look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Chico. Warm Regards, Dina Patel General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

My Retreat in Chico

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: The stay this year marked the 10 year anniversary for using the motel as a "base" from which to explore other parts of the city. The best part about the motel is that the managers--Dina and Barry--continue to manage, and many of the service employees are still working at the motel. A friendly fact after a long flight helps. Quite close to where my 97 year old aunt is staying.
Cons: No complaints; really close to perfection. I did, however, find a speck of dust on my computer screen :-)
Location: I went to the Bidwell Mansion, the River Park, the old downtown area--great antiques--the local artisans market, and Chico State University.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 28, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Hello James, Thank you very much for your review. It is our pleasure to welcome you back each time over the last ten years. We value guests such as yourself greatly. We look forward to your next trip through. And I do apologize for the spec of dust! Thank you again. Warm Regards, Barry Patel General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hawaii

Close to everything

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Everyone pleasant and very helpful , very happy with my stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2016 by Barry, Hotel Management
Hello Danny, Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you were happy with your stay. Our staff is genuinely friendly and helpful, and they will be happy to hear it recognized. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards, Mr. Barry Patel General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2016
The flapper was broken and there was water coming out consistently. Breakfast was all cold.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2016 by Barry, Hotel Management
Hello Guest, I would like to apologize again for the situation with the flapper, we did fix it as soon as we were able. Our breakfast does consist of mostly cold items, but the waffles are hot - you make them on the waffle iron. Thank you for sharing your review. Best Regards, Mr. Barry Patel General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to where my interview was.

Posted Oct 3, 2016
It was pleasant except for having to walk up the stairs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello, and thank you for sharing your review. We appreciate your feedback. Best Regards, Barry Patel GM
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok for a night or 2

Posted Sep 28, 2016
For a quick overnight or two it's fine. Staff wasn't real friendly. Continental breakfast pretty basic. No elevator so careful if you don't want stairs. Rooms were clean & appear recently remodeled - beds comfortable
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2016 by a, Hotel Management
d