Ratings based on 250 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Easy access and clean

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Staff was very helpful when I had to extend my stay.
Stayed on first floor three nights and rooms were fine - smoke free and grab bar in the shower. Other three nights were on 2nd floor and smoke infiltrated the room at night, even though there was a smoke free room below, and no grab bar. There is no enforcement mechanism for barring smoking in hotel/motel rooms in California unlike in the "provinces." If you are allergic, good luck with that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

Clean and nice rooms

Posted Mar 19, 2017
the room was awesome and a lot better than i thought it would be, a little noisy upstairs but that isn't the hotels fault.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yreka CA

Decent place.

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Came in at about 8:30 pm. Ho-hum desk clerk. I've stayed at this motel 3 times in the last year. Clerks vary from blase to very helpful. Rooms are good sized. Some are shabby, but others are very nice. Generally comfortable. Convenient to 99 freeway and university. Don't expect fancy, but a good place for in and out sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Hello Jim, Thank you for choosing our hotel for your lodging needs. I apologize if you have had rooms you felt were not up to par, but we have recently renovated our rooms, all are in good repair, clean and comfortable. I hope to welcome you again in the future. Best Regards General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Had no problems with my stay. Staff was friendly. Room was cute.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Hello Guest, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. I like hearing that our rooms are "cute" I don't think I have heard that before. Please join us again in the future. Kind Regards, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington ST

Good location, close to shops and restaurants.

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: the location and comfortable beds.
Cons: A door on the third floor needed to be fixed.````
Location: The access is easy to get to from the freeway. Many historical places are near by. Bidwell Park for one, and it is not far from the college.
The staff are friendly, courteous and hard workers. Will get you anything you need promptly. It is run by one family and they all work hard..
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Hello Guest, Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback from our guests. I am happy that for the most part, you were pleased with your stay. I have notified maintenance about the door, thank you for calling it to our attention. We all do try hard to make our guests feel welcome in a clean and comfortable environment. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best Regards, Barry Patel General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Staff was nice and helpful. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Close by Denny's.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! I will share this with the staff, I know they will appreciate it. Please join us again if you are in the area! Kind Regards, Dina Patel General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Cons: The staff...they should not be working in customer service.
The hotel staff harassed us. They froze our funds so we had no money. They also red flagged us for making a report about our missing money. They had construction going on which was fine except they put us right over where they were working so it shook the lamps and we couldn't hear the tv.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Hello Guest, I am terribly sorry if you felt harassed in any way. There must be information that I am missing from this situation that made you feel that way. You stayed in our hotel 16 days, checking out and back in every 1-2 days. The renovations started prior to your first night and were well underway, and you did not make any complaints to anyone on staff. The first we heard of any unhappiness was from corporate offices, whom had received a complaint from you. We made every attempt to make you comfortable; we changed rooms several times and gave you discounts. You were made aware that renovations were still underway and would continue, yet you continued to come back on your own to rent additional nights. After a second complaint, again not made with us but with corporate offices, you were even given a free night. When you returned again, that was when we declined to extend your stay. We made this decision because the renovations that you had made complaints about were still ongoing. You were clearly unhappy, so we thought it best that you find lodging elsewhere. Days later is when we heard from corporate that you filed another complaint regarding your money. We have not, and would not freeze someone's funds. In fact, we worked with credit card processing to find out what may have caused any funds to be held. Ultimately, there was nothing on our end that caused any of your funds to be held. In conclusion, we thought it illogical to continue to rent rooms to you, being that all our attempts to make you comfortable were unsuccessful, and we had no part of any funds being held. Best Regards General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central Oregon

Good value

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: Read "Write about you experience"
Cons: Breakfast bar
Location: Lobby has tourist information
Close to rt 99 exit 387A we asked for and received a quiet room. With the AC/heater fan on low, we did not hear the traffic. Bed was very comfortable and supported our aging backs though the bedspread slipped off each of our three nights. A very large flat screen TV offered many cable channels. The desk was a bit worse for wear, but that's not at all critical. The desk lamp had electric outlet which we used. Bathroom would be upgraded we were told, but it was fine for us: plenty of hot water, very clean, toilet worked perfectly, etc. Breakfast bar was average (cereal, white waffles, breads, rolls, yogurt); we like more protein so we ate out (Denny's is a walk away) after enjoying Super 8's coffee and juice! The only down side was the heavy feet above us on our last night; we were so tired that we fell asleep anyway. As our stay was early winter, we didn't use any outdoor facilities, except the parking lot!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello, and thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback very much. I am glad to hear that overall your stay with us was pleasant. I have made notes of things to work on based on your review. I hope to see you both in the future. Kind Regards, Dina Patel General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Highly Disappointed

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Hotels
Not much nice to say about this stay. We reserved a room with 2 queen beds but they ran out of those rooms and put my family of 4 in 2 double bed room which was miserably small. The mini-fridge was broken and couldn 't be replaced, and the staff was less than friendly. There are so many better hotels for this price point in Chico.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Unfortunately, it is hard to reply to your review without knowing more details. I have searched through our system (from your posting date and back one week) for any reservations where the room type was changed from two queens to two double beds, and found nothing. I also searched for rooms with four people during the same time frame and again found nothing. I also have no knowledge of any of our refrigerators not working. I wish I could provide some type of a reply that would elucidate the situation. Best Regards, General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2016 on Hotels
The front desk attendant was outstanding and went our of her way to accommodate our needs. I went through Expedia for the reservation and reserved 2 rooms with 2 queen beds. We were only able to get 1 room with two queen beds. fortunately the 2 bed queen room was big enough for a rollaway bed and she was more than happy to take care of that. Also our the TV wasn't connected right in our room and she happily helped us get it working. She also made sure Expedia was contacted to get us credit for the lower cost room. Very pleased with how she handled everything!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Guest, Thank you for your kind review. Our front desk clerks do work hard to make sure our guests needs are taken care of, they are genuinely friendly and helpful. I am happy to hear that you were pleased with your stay. We hope to see you again if you return to the area. Warm Regards, Dina Patel General Manager