Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tampa FL area

Nice, local atmosphere with some ammenities

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: Location, friendliness, and restaurant.
Cons: Although a area, we would have liked a safe in the unit. Slider to balcony difficult to open.
Location: Small, quiet, "low key" island area (think old Florida). At edge of town. Boating, Fishing, kayaking, beach & golf cart rental to tour town.
An older facility, "local" atmosphere, nicely refurbished, in a great location. Staff was welcoming, friendly, and helpful. Very clean rooms, comfy bed. Excellent restaurant with water views, reasonably priced for fine dining.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2016
Went to cedar key for a 2 day vacation, to relax and enjoy. Not the place to be safe.
2 out of 5
by Erin from Winter Park, Fl

Needs to be updated

Posted Mar 23, 2016 on Hotels
My husband came here for our anniversary. We usually stay at Pirates cove but it was booked. It had a great location and a nice balcony overlooking the beach but that was about it. The room was so old and outdated that it was falling apart! Drawrers were broken, the handles came off, the tile was broken, the fridge was rusty and the beds were on cheap metal frames and were old and uncomfortable. Thank goodness I had a free night to cash in from hotels.com because if I had paid the full $400 for the room I would have been pretty mad. Did I mention it smelled funny? We will definitely not be staying here ever again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Promised king size bed but got queen.

Posted Feb 23, 2016
Pros: Good view of gulf
Cons: Needs updating. Paid for king bed and had to settle for queen. Expedia should refund a portion of rate.
Location: Not much to do.
Very disappointed with queen size bed. Paid for King. Want refund for difference from Expedia. Hotel would not refund. Said it was Expedia's fault.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location for relaxation

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Had a wonderful stay. Property is older, some maintenance issues but nothing of major consequence.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

delightful quiet town

Posted Oct 4, 2015 on Hotels
The room we got had ocean view, which enhanced the experience. The restaurant at the hotel is really good, fresh food, and the prices are comparable. The town was dormant that weekend, but the locals are the most amicable people we've met in a long long time. The pier, where all the action goes on, was within walking distance, we walked all weekend, although you can rent golf carts.
5 out of 5
by David from Palm harbor

Relaxing in Cedar Key

Posted Aug 15, 2015 on Hotels
Good location. We were walking distance to all of the restaurants on dock street. Some were closed for the slow season.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loved Cedar Key

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Pros: Hotel was dated but definitely adequate. I felt like it was clean and useful. I would definitely stay there again. Pool was nice. Beach next door
Location: Definelty tour the islands with Down Home Adventure tours very interesting. If you want to fish I'm prolly looking for a different options.
Cedar Key is awesome if you are looking to relax. It is small old town Florida. I had four teenage girls with me that I was worried about but there was not a single complaint. I won't want to take smaller kids that need a lot of entertaining but teens with friends was good. If you want to relax this is the place. Locals are friendly and helpful. We loved it for three days. We toured the islands and Suwannee River by boat. Cedar Key is an estuary so the ocean is not blue but brown and beaches are limited. If you are looking for bells and whistles this is not the place but if you want chill. This is it. FYI closest Wal Mart is 30 miles away. Word is that locals are fighting commercialization and it tells.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Watch out for Expedia

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Great place. Beautiful views. Amazing well equipped kitchen. But thanks to Expedia we paid way more than the resorts regular price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

Nice hotel enjoyed our stay except for two roaches

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Close toneverything
Cons: Cleanliness
Could be cleaner.