Ratings based on 266 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chiefland, Florida

We had to evacuate during a hurricane.

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Big bed.
Cons: Wash the carpet. My feet became dirtier from the carpet than from the parking lot.
Location: Near to Walmart, Burger King and Taco Bell.
I wish we were on vacation rather than evacuation. The staff went the extra mile.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from HAVRE DE GRACE.MD

NOT DAYS INN STANDARDS

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: LOCATION TO WHERE WE HAD TO BE
Cons: MORE DETAIL TO GUEST NEEDS
WE HAD PROMBLEMS FROM DAY ONE. NO HOT WATER IN SHOWER. MOVE TO A ROOM WITH KEY PROMBLEMS. THEN FINAL EVENING NO FRESH TOWELS TO SHOWER WITH. HAVE STAYED IN OTHER DAYS INN. FIRST TIME WE HAVE HAD ANY PROMBLEMS
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Very disappointing room for such a new hotel. The cover for the air conditioner was in the tub when we arrived. The light on the dresser was missing and the staff had to go out and buy more. The fixtures at the sink weren't clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Cons: Cable tv was out of service. Room had aa strong musty smell
The hotel was ok. Staff were friendly and competent. Although the room was clean, it had a strong musty odor that never went away.,TV service was well below standard.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Maybe worst ever

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: The Lighthouse Restaurant 5 minutes away in Fanning Springs has the best soft shell crab dinner I've ever had.
Sink had been broken on 4 sides and glued back together. Chairs in room were so sticky you stuck to the fabric when you tried to get up. Spent the money on the outside of the building (which looks nice). Should have spent it on the customers rooms instead.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't stay here!

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Nothing
We arrived at check-in, which took forever because she kept talking to another employee while we were checking in. We paid for a room with a king bed and that is on our reservation through expedia, but when we arrived, we were given a room with two double beds and they would not change it. When we walked into the room, there was a bug in the curtain by the A/C. This made my skin crawl all night. I had to use the bathroom and went straight to the toilet and sat down only to find it was wet. Maybe it had just been cleaned? Even though it was 9:00 at night when we arrived, so our room was supposed to have been ready hours before. I got wet and then went to get a towel to dry off. There were no towels in the room. I called down to get towels and was told I had to wait on them to get out of the dryer. We just wanted to shower and go to bed at this point, but had to wait for 45 minutes on towels. I asked for 2 towels, 2 wash cloths, and a hand towel. They arrived with just two towels and when I asked for wash cloths, she said she didn't know we needed those "too". She never came back with them. I would never stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

CHECK YOUR CREDIT CARD!!

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: Their Bookkeeping!
If you stay at this hotel, you need to make sure that your bank card has been correctly charged BEFORE you leave or you may have charges show up on your bank statement 8 months later, as I did.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Worst Stay Ever!

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: The staff were friendly.
Cons: The whole experience.
Location: It is located centrally so we were able to go explore places every day. We went to several spings, visited family and even went to Daytona for a day.
Not one thing went right with this stay. We had to go to the front desk every day to ask for towels, including the day that we checked in. One day when we went to ask for towels we were told that we would have to wait because there were no clean ones. Our room was only cleaned one day. The door key didn't work after the first couple days and we would have to go to the front desk to get them fixed. (They were never put near a phone.) We even had to go ask for toilet paper. We took our own trash out. We didn't have a liner for our ice bucket. Online states there is a fitness room. When we asked, we were told that they no longer have it. The tv channels were very limited.
1 out of 5
by richard

Worst stay in years.

Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
Not clean, bad smoke odor in room even though the whole hotel was supposed to be smoke free. They had an ashtray on the table in the room. At check in there was a guy hanging out talking to the employee, they acted like I was rude for interrupting their conversation. The pillows were completely worn out and useless.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to give feed back on your stay,I do apologize that you weren't happy.We are not a smoke free hotel we have eight rooms.If there was an ash tray on the table in the room then you had a smoking room they come with ash trays placed in the rooms again only in the eight smoking rooms. If you would have came to the front desk about the pillows we would have replaced them for you . We are on surveillance 24/7 the staff is not aloud to have any one hang out on their shift. I can rewind the cameras at any time to review the employees. If someone was in the lobby with the desk clerk it was possibly another guest ,again I can go back on the cameras if you would like .Thank you , management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bognor regis

good basic motel

Posted Jun 6, 2017
good basic motel rooms. pool and outside areas are clean and comfortable if well used . staff are cheerful and helpful. breakfast is basic but good. all in all you get what you pay for.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by Suelynn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We would like to invite you back if you are in the area. Thank you again. Suelynn and days inn staff