Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
Nice pleasant hotel, though not a very scenic neighborhood. Near to Chikmagalur town but away from hustle bustle. Welcoming staff and okay food. Not totally a Taj experience, but this hotel does provide a class stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, Peaceful stay

Posted Dec 12, 2015 on Hotels
Overall it was a good comfortable stay. It all started well when "The Gateway" upgraded my room to a cottage looking at the size & diversity (with my mom) of our family. Though it's a Taj property they don't seem to advertise it maybe as few of the facilities (like pool) remains unusable (way too many insects due to the location & tough to clean continuously I guess. Can look at indoor pool maybe). Room service was ok & food variety for veg was bit limited. Breakfast buffet was adequate for us though some might feel it is less compared to other 3 star hotels in bangalore (should remember this is the best around the area still).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice relaxing stay in Chikmangalur

Posted Jul 1, 2015 on Hotels
Best hotel of Chikmangalur! I visited there for a relaxing weekend and the property was just right with lot of activities inside the hotel itself!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely setting, nice rooms, bad restaurant

Posted Jan 1, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful setting and clean, modern, comfortable rooms. Catering was very average, however, with long delays for the food and the bill at the end. The food is extortionately priced too. I'd recommend staying but not eating there.
3 out of 5
by lingaraj from Bangalore

Over Priced Hotel

Posted Jun 21, 2014 on Hotels
Its a very small property andaverage Taj property, overpriced it does not provide any value of the money the property is very old need renovation badly. The property has nothing much to offer if you have small childern.The food is very expensive.Avoid this property and look for better destination
4 out of 5
by Vijaya from Bangalore

A nice, cozy property

Posted May 9, 2014
Pros: Service and overall ambience
Cons: Food variety in buffet and Spa services.
We stayed at Gateway Chikmagalore for 3 nights and it was quite a pleasing experience. The property, although small compared to other similar properties, is cozy and comforting. Staff here are exceptionally helpful and accommodating. Rooms are spacious and comfortable...however would recommend a makeover for their baths. The food is excellent and refreshing, and certainly suited for the cool climate of Chikmagalore. The service (restaurant and in-room dining) might get a little slow sometimes, but again, this is a place for you to relax and unwind, so no complaints. The general infrastructure (Pool, game rooms etc) is well maintained and is ideally suited for couples and small families who would like to spend some quality time together.
3 out of 5
by ravi from Cambridge, New Zealand

Nice hotel at a nice location, and that's it.

Posted Jan 12, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: Cleanliness and maintenance of the grounds.
Location: Great trip to the cofee estate - the guide was great.
Disappointing level of maintenance. Cleanliness just ok. During our stay I could see a plastic bag floating in the water in the swimming pool. bird droppings had not been cleaned. Games room is aqn insult to the guests. The only redeeming feature is the extremely friendly staff at the reception and the restaurant.
5 out of 5
by Deepta from Bangalore

Quite location

Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels
Enjoyed my stay.
5 out of 5
by Suresh from Bangalore

Quite location

Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels
Very comfortable. Staff caring and ever helping to make stay memorable.
2 out of 5
by Vinod Nehemiah from Bangalore

Graet Location

Posted Nov 9, 2013 on Hotels
Enjoyed our stay. Loved the coffee trail.