Ratings based on 488 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary ab

It was a great stay.

Posted Apr 26, 2018
I am a trucker and needed a few days out of the truck. The Vedder River Inn was perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2018
Needs lite sign from the south. Breakfast would be good addition.Good to find a Gideon Bible.Very quite and good beds. Liked the shower.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2018 by Sam, Hotel Management
Hi Stranger Thank you for staying with us. We truly appreciate your wonderful response. We do serve a continental breakfast on weekends. We will get the south side light on the sign repaired ASAP. See you next time you are in Chilliwack. Cheers Sam
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from clearwater bc

Couldn't even stay.

Posted Apr 22, 2018
We drove 4 hours from clearwater BC got told as we got here we need a 500$ deposit. Absolutely no hotel asks for that. My grandma has been working at a hotel for about 40 years and has never heard of that. We had to find a hotel in under our money limit. We understand a 250 but nobody is going to give you 500$ plus the room money. Would have loved to stay here but nobody can afford to drop 500$ to stay a couple nights at a hotel. Would rather freeze in my truck.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2018 by Sam, Hotel Management
Hi Kim We are not sure if you are Kim or Jake as we did receive an email from Jake mentioning the same and complaining about not being able to speak with the manager and so he would go and try to put negative feedback online. We did reply to say that the front office manager will be available Monday-Friday. Here is our response to your query: We do have a damage deposit policy which is as follows: If a guest has a credit card, we will do a preauthorizarion for $200 plus room stay and we take an imprint of the card to cover any damage caused by the guest. If the guest is paying cash or by debit then we do not have an imprint available so we secure a damage deposit by a deposit of $500 in cash or debit. This amount is returned upon checkout if there is no damage to the room. This policy has stood the test of time and ensures that guests treat the rooms with respect and care. We do get the odd guest who will nevertheless cause damage and that's where the damage deposit comes into play to help pay for the cost of repair. We hope this helps. The room deposits are also mentioned on the online travel agencies and our website. Sincerely
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

BEWARE if you book this hotel online.

Posted Apr 22, 2018
Pros: Nothing. Had to take photos of existing room damage as I was concerned I would be held responsible. Copies attached to this review.
Cons: 1) Front counter staff. 2) Reception 3) "Light continental" breakfast was a joke, a counter in reception. Not even a table to sit at. 4) Management
Stayed there recently. On arrival to check-in (8 PM) the reception door was locked. Sign said back "within 15 minutes"... so there we stood, waiting. After a while a woman finally arrived to open the door and let us in (Strike 1) The same woman then went around behind the check-in counter. We advised we had booked online and had pre-paid. The check-in woman demanded we provide both a credit card and photo ID, which she proceeded to scan, and then print. My FULL credit card scan & number was now visible sitting on the counter. I was told to pay a $200 hold charge and handed a payment machine. When I asked why it was necessary when they already had a copy of my credit card and drivers license, I was told "company policy". When I expressed displeasure and asked about options, we were told we could put down a $500 CASH deposit if we wanted to stay.. even though I had pre-paid! (Strike 2). Cancelling was not an option as they would not refund my money, so I was forced to agree to the hold charge. I then asked to speak to a manager and was told he would call me. He never did (Strike 3) Next day I checked my card and the clerk had charge $200 twice ($400 total). I called my credit card company and they confirmed that two $200 = $400 charge was held pending. (Strike 4). It was evident this class act clerk double charge on my card because we had challenged the first charge. Went back the next day but no explanation or apology. Again asked manager call me. He never did.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bremerton WA

Nice Hotel

Posted Apr 17, 2018
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Housekeeping
Location: The hotel was not far from the fairgrounds
The hotel was very quiet, the only thing wrong was the housekeeping
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2018 by Sam, Hotel Management
Hi Diane Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback. Did you complain about housekeeping to the front desk - they are open 24/7 and available to handle any issues. Next time please let us know immediately so we can resolve the issue at once. Cheers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean affordable accommodations

Posted Apr 11, 2018
Pros: Clean, affordable, friendly staff
Cons: Make sure rooms are a comfortable temperature when guests check in esp during extreme heat/freezing temperatures
Location: Convenient location near shopping, restaurants, rivers, lakes, hiking
My only issue was that the room I was assigned to was NOT pre-heated. I had to turn on the heat myself. It felt like the heat hadn't been on for days. It was a snowy, freezing night when i checked in. The room was so cold the heat could not keep up. It literally took several hours for the heat inside the room to reach a comfortable temperature. (and that included me running the hair dryer for extended periods in order to speed up the heating process). My comfort rating is based on my time spent AFTER the room reached an acceptable temperature.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2018 by Sam, Hotel Management
Hi Andrea I do not see a reason why you want to make anonymous posts but still use the same language as your earlier review. we responded to your earlier review - nonetheless we will respond to anonymous Andrea now. when you had an issue with the lights and heater you posted a review from the room rather then just calling the Front Desk which is open 24/7. When I read your review I realized you were still in the hotel so I directed FD to attend to you. The notes show that they showed you how to operate the bedside lights which come on with a switch by the entrance. They also showed you how to control the heating system through the thermostat mounted on the wall and not by fiddling with the unit. In our understanding all issues were resolved however seeing this 'anonymous' post means that the issue is not resolved in your head - is there anything else that we can do for you apart from labelling that the hair dryer is to be used for drying hair only Cheers Sam
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey, BC

Not a good experience, stay away!

Posted Apr 10, 2018
Pros: The exterior looked nice and upgraded.
Cons: The website photos of the rooms did not match what we found. This was a "bait-and-switch".
Location: Central location close to Cultus Lake.
The exterior of the hotel looked okay. During check-in a $200.00 damage deposit was placed on my credit card. That was the first indication that this might be a different hotel experience. We had booked a room with one queen bed. Upon checking into the room we quickly decided that the room was not acceptable. The room had been smoked in and a mixture of stale smoke and air freshener assaulted the olfactory senses. The furniture was beat-up, chunks of wood missing on doors and bed base. It looked like a punk band had partied in there. Called the hotel desk. The young woman, who actually was very friendly and tried to be helpful, offered a room with two double beds and said that this was their only remaining room. The room appeared to be acceptable. Later in the evening, after returning from a family function, I tried running the heater as the temperatures had dropped. Heater did not work. Called front desk. The same young clerk arrived to help, she could not get the heater going either. She offered a small space heater which I declined and I requested two blankets. The covers on the beds were thin and there were no extra blankets in the room. She returned with two blankets. The blankets were not folded. It appeared as if they had just been yanked off some beds. The cleanliness of the blankets could not be determined. Morning: Coffee maker and coffee found, yeah! I pour two cups and my wife says, "My cup is cracked and it leaks". Will not return, do not recommend!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2018 by Sam, Hotel Management
Hi J I thought we had already responded to this review earlier. i can confirm that the blankets given to you were fresh from the laundry and not 'yanked' from some other beds. Upon checkin we tell all our guests that we are open 24/7 should the guest need any help - we wish you would have called the front desk and your cups would have been replaced immediately. We like our guests to be happy and we trust you will give us an opportunity to serve you again in the future. Happy travelling
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Short stop

Posted Apr 7, 2018
Nice hotel but was only there for a very short time. Came in at 10pm was gone by 6am.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2018 by Sam, Hotel Management
Hey RM Next time try to spend some time here - there's lots to do - but you can start by going for the river walk first - just hearing the water going over the pebbles and seeing the water flow into the reflections can put one into a tranquil state faster than you can spell tranquil See you next Tyme Cheers
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Vancouver

Nice stay near our music venue

Posted Apr 2, 2018
We visited Chilliwack to see a band at the gem of a bistro/music venue, Tractor Grease, on the way to Chilliwack Lake. The Vedder River Inn looked like it was the closest accommodation. It turned out to be perfect and we will stay there again when we go back. Fun weekend from Vancouver. Rooms were recently renovated and were very clean. The staff was terrific, and there were some breakfast items in the lobby including fresh fruit, muffins, coffee type fare. The place was full this winter Saturday night. The rooms are basic, but with so much to do in the area, we were just looking for a place to sleep. We ate breakfast at one of their recommended spots, Jimmy J's and it was really good. Dinner at Tractor Grease, and wow, you have to go there if you like good bands and good burgers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2018 by Sam, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback. We look forward to your next visit to Chilliwack. Cheers
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Older Hotel

Posted Apr 2, 2018
Pros: The price was reasonable for what was provided.
Cons: Curtains on windows.
Location: Location was great. It is just off a busy roadway (Vedder Road). Walking distance to shopping and eateries.
The staff were excellent. The rooms are large. The linens and bed coverings were clean but had old stains. Windows had blinds but no curtains to block outside lights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2018 by Sam, Hotel Management
Hi John Thanks for your review. We have new linens released regularly. Will advise housekeeping to be careful and filter out the old linen. Cheers and we look forward to seeing you on your next stay in Chilliwack