Ratings based on 171 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Falls Church, VA

Mid-Century Motel

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Just like the motels in the mid-1900’s, you park your car in front of your room. The room is small, but fine for an overnight or short stay. The motel is small (20-30 rooms) and is located very close to the causeway entrance to the island. The staff are very friendly and accommodating.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Mold and mildew on bed skirt.

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Pros: The location was the only thing good to comment on.
Cons: Read my first comment. The place needed to be torn down and built new again.
Location: Chincoteaque, VA is a good location for quiet quaint relaxation near the beach.
Upon scheduled late check in, the room key was left for me as requested. When I entered the room there was a very strong musty smell like a men's locker room. I wanted to request another room but the front desk was closed for the night. I inspected where the smell was coming from and found that the dresser drawer reeked with onions so we never bothered unpacking. I inspected the bed and I almost vomited when I saw green mold and mildew on the bed skirts near the head end of the bed. I realized that I was stuck in a dungeon for the night. I tried calling a ABVI number to see if I could get a hot line but nothing was available so just I just left a message for the next day. I pulled the moldy bed skirt off the bed and tried t I get some sleep. I woke up the next morning and reported the issue to the front desk. The issue was down played with no apology what so ever. I will never book another stay at the chincoteaque America's Best Value Inn or recommend anyone else to stay there. At this point I am concerned whether Expedia will call me back to bring some closure to this issue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Delaware

Nice, family motel with pool, close to beach.

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Price was right for what we wanted. Close to beach and had a pool for evening fun.
Location: Close to beach, lighthouse and national park. Lots of nearby restaurants, stores and funland.
Very nice motel for families for a great price. We had 2 rooms and they were clean and quiet. Pool was clean and close to rooms, with chairs and facilities for us to sit and watch kids. Close to beach, stores and restaurants. Would certainly consider staying there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington dc

Good place to stay if you're focused on the beach

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Not the nicest or cleanest, but it served our needs exactly. Dumped our stuff, went out to play and explore all day, came back, showered, crashed, repeat. The staff was wonderfully kind.
4 out of 5
by Connie

Well Satisfied

Posted Aug 24, 2017 on Hotels
First time staying here, we were very satisfied. Clean comfortable beds, easy access to everything. Walking distant for shopping & eating. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from York, PA

Nice older hotel.

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: Reasonable price for in-season hotel. Clean rooms and extremely helpful and friendly staff.
Cons: This is an older (formerly independent) "motor inn" style of hotel. Rooms could use some updating but everything is clean and comfortable.
Location: If you like a slower pace, this is the place for you. No bars or nightclubs, great beach and nice selection of restaurants - plus wild ponies!
It's a nice older hotel located right on Maddox. Staff is extremely nice and helpful. Prices are very reasonable, with an onsite pool. Parking is right outside your room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by EVERY BODY LOVES RAMAN, Hotel Management
THANK YOU FOR STAYING WITH US GLAD YOU LIKE IT WE TRY OUR BEST WE LILE TO HAVE YOU BACK CALL US AT ANY TIME
3 out of 5
by Hang

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Freeport, NY

Casual, pet friendly, inexpensive lodging

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Friendly, casual atmosphere
Not the fanciest, but a great deal for the price. The property is lovingly maintained with beautiful plants all around. Warm welcome, and friendly staff. Not fancy, just basic rooms where fido is welcome, good for families.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean Room, Friendly and Helpful Staff

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: I liked its close proximity to Assateague Island, as I was there to see the ponies.
Cons: Replace the Welcome mats because these are worn out (Walmart). Replace the air conditioner (room 161).
Location: Eat at AJ's restaurant. The bar is rather dingy and messy, but the restaurant is really nice and the food is really good for a good price.
Mr. Raman spent time when I arrived showing me on a map where I could find the restaurants, etc. He even mentioned that I should bring bug spray if I was going to walk the trails on Assateague Island, and boy was he right. The mosquitoes were very tiny with very hug appetites! The room facilities were clean and the beds very comfortable. I would suggest that a simple change such as outside door mats be changed from the very worn out ones to new (Walmart) mats which actually show the word Welcome (a nice touch when we are far from home in a strange land). The air conditioner was old and a little damaged on the outside, which isn't extremely important except that it also would not shut off (room 161) when the on/off button was pushed so I ended up unplugging and re-plugging it because the motor was running even when it was off...maybe a fan motor. Very nice and friend staff, helpful and smiling. I will stay here again.
5 out of 5
by mary

Posted Aug 12, 2017 on Hotels
Loved it