Ratings based on 326 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from alabama

The manager was very accommodating and helpful!

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Although this hotel is very dated in its decor and appearance.... I found it clean and comfortable. The manager was especially kind and very helpful! Don't let the "shabby" appearance fool you. This place is clean and friendly and a great location in the island. My only complaint is that the lobby is open 24/7 and freely accessible from the front and back door with no one manning the front desk. I would however go back to this clean friendly establishment!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We are so grateful to you for the opportunity you give us to acknowledge the effort of our staff to be so accommodating and helpful. Thank you sso much for the compliment on the good location of our hotel.We are glad to hear that you found a clean and comfortable stay with us. We can't wait to serve you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Close to beach. BBQs to use.

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: The family atmosphere.
Location: The state park was next door and the museum a short walk up the street. Shops close by and across the street too.
Loved that we could cook our own meals on the BBQ and not always have restaurant food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We greatly appreciate the time you've taken to give our hotel and leaving us an excellent remarks. We are glad that you found the majority of your experience to be satisfactory. We thank you for your business and hope to see you in your future visit
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Father's Day nightmare

Posted Jul 11, 2017
First room the clerk attempted to put us in smelled of cat urine. Next room had a nonworking TV and AC unit. Sad part is the owner was aware of the issues with both rooms prior to our arrival which was apparent when I dug further into past reviews. Sad part is this hotel has a prime location on the island in regards to access to the beach. The hotel desperately needs renovating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Your comfort and convenience are our top priorities and know that we are always looking for ways to improve upon the guest experience. We will conduct an investigation on the claim you mentioned rest assured that we will address it immediately. We hope you return to show you a far better experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth it

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Upon arrival, the worker we spoke to was very nice, he let us know we could save 5% if we gave the hotel 5 start rating on a traveling website. We were going to do so however, when we arrived to our room it was not what we expected. First thing we didn't like was the fact that there were ants in the drawers. Next, the tv was unclear, there was cable but it was very staticky. Additionally, the free wifi that was advertised was very very slow. Lastly, my mother and I have found bug bites on our bodies since our stay and they resemble bed bug bites. I don't want to assume they are from the hotel but we don't have bed bugs at home so I'm not sure where else we could have gotten them. Even if the bug bites aren't from the hotel, there are many reasons to choose a different place to stay. Though they do provide free breakfast and coffee, it did not outweigh the cons especially for the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your feedback. It was a pleasure to welcome you, however we are sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant stay with us due to the services rendered (or lack thereof) provided by our housekeeping staff. Guest comfort is our priority and having said this we all will ensure your future stay is a pleasant one.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Garnet Valley, PA

Absolutely horrifying

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Zero
Cons: Everything. Knock it down.
Location: The fact that it sits in front of the campground makes it worse.
Words cannot express how awful this hotel is! Guests cammped out on the small deck all night and then they turned out to be our neighbors. They fought so loudly that their idiocy spilled out into the hallway and ruined one of the pictures at 3 AM. The beds are too all. The rooms are so tight. The bathrooms are scary and desperately need paint. I was terrified of bed bugs it was so filthy. Only 2 bath towels were provided for the 3 of us and when I politely requested more, they were never delivered. I wouldn't stay here again if it was FREE!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I apologize for the disturbance that occurred during your stay at our hotel. I understand that the error occurred through no fault of your own and I hope we have been able to resolve the issue to your satisfaction.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rockville, MD

Great place to get away for a couple of days

Posted May 12, 2017
The last time I stayed at this place was many years ago when it was the Blue Heron Inn. It may have lost some of its folksiness since then, but Shay and the rest of the Days Inn staff were very considerate and helped make my stay a pleasant one. It's located relatively close to the wildlife refuge and beach and within walking distance of an Asian takeout place that's open late (a big plus for me). I don't understand why more people don't visit Chincoteague at this time of year.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback about your recent experience in our hotel. It is heartwarming to hear that you were pleased with the accommodation and services. Thank you for letting us know. We look forward to your next visit!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DE

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Close to everything within reason. 5 mins to beach, great location.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind comments and review regarding your most recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location. We are all looking forward to your next visit, and we will make sure it will be just as enjoyable.
3 out of 5
by elton

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
Stay was OK...but room was a little small. Lots of noise, but acceptable.
3 out of 5
by SHARON

Great location, a bit run-down, overworked staff

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
Our Double Room was really only set up for one person. The bed had only one table on the side and only one light next to the bed. The very small room was cluttered with an oversized lounge chair and footstool. Wi-fi is free but difficult to get access to. We kept loosing the connection. It is very obvious that the photos on the hotel website are of another location. One of my concerns about this hotel is that the person working the front desk early Friday evening, was also working there all day Saturday and Sunday morning when we checked out. There did not seem to be sufficient staff. The conditions of the hotel were tatty and a bit worn. The bed was very comfortable. No one cleaned the room during our 2 day stay. Breakfast offerings were slim, but there is not really adequate space in the lobby for offering more. The pool was not accessible. It seemed like mostly families were staying here and many international travelers. The location to the Chincoteague Reserve is perfect. One could not ask for a better location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels