Ratings based on 133 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2016 on Hotels
We, including our dog!, were made to feel so welcome, the staff couldn't have done more, our room was spotless and to finish, our breakfast was excellent, the location couldn't have been better, close to the center of the town and sightseeing We were only able to stay for one night but came away feeling we had spent much longer. We will definitely be booking a weekend away there again.
3 out of 5
by Sylvia

Rooms need to be seen!

Posted Aug 26, 2015 on Hotels
We ended up with a lovely clean room with a great matress and good bathroom. The first room we were offered was on a top floor with no lift and the room was like an attic with a slit for a window...maybe fine for a younger couple but we are 70...with- it and Happening ...I asked if there was another room and she directed us to a motel like room overlooking a roof and then when I asked if that was all she said there was one we would not like facing the front that was just one flight up...we looked at it and it was lovely ,.....why did she hold this room back? We booked a long time ago and for 2 nights....the first 2 rooms were unacceptable!
3 out of 5
by Thomas from South woodham ferrers

Delightful Chinon hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2015 on Hotels
Overnight stay on our journey south. Enjoyed our stay at this hotel and was perfect for our needs. Beds very comfortable and aircon in rooms was a real bonus. Delightful breakfast in lovely breakfast room. Staff helpful & would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Worcester, UK

Excellent small hotel

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Pros: Small and friendly.
Cons: Seating in the room was not very comfortable.
Location: Loire valley so plenty of chateau to visit. Nice river right near.
We were pleasantly surprised at how careful the staff were to accommodate our requirements; the room we were allocated was great for us and the hotel was in a very good location. Breakfast was buffet style but a nice choice and very good choice of teas!
4 out of 5
by Darina from Melbourne

Helpful hosts

Posted Jul 10, 2015 on Hotels
The hosts are very helpful despite them having limited English skills. Mostly the stay was very comfortable and the only main downfall is that there is no lift and a very steep staircase. We ended up leaving our suitcases in the car and taking only the essentials. The staff are very easygoing and do not rush you during breakfast or to check out. There is a pleasant courtyard outside where we enjoyed a picnic and breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra, Australia

Funky Hotel

Posted Jul 2, 2015
This hotel is in a great location, being easy walking distance from terminal 3 at CDG airport. Guests check themselves in at the entry, ably assisted by the staff on duty. There are free computers to use and free wifi throughout. The rooms are somewhat narrow, but the was ample room for the two of us. The bar and meals are were great and we enjoyed a typical French breakfast. This hotel is highly recommended for an overnight stay at a reasonable price
4 out of 5
by Polly from Scotland

Would stay here again!

Posted May 22, 2015 on Hotels
My husband and I were traveling through the Loire Valley and had no particular destinations in mind. We found ourselves in Chinon at the end of a day booked this hotel for one night. We were so pleased with it we ended up staying a 2nd night. We had a standard double room. It was on the second floor and for people who have mobility problems, be forewarned, there is no lift. The room was basic and a bit dated but very clean and comfortable. I'm not a great sleeper and I slept very well both nights we were there. We had a lovely view overlooking the hotel's garden. The bathroom had an old turquoise blue suite of fixtures, a la 1970s I would say. But again, it was all clean and tidy. The garden was available for guest use and had lounge chairs and tables in it. We sat in the garden the first night and drank a bottle of local wine. The lounge area of the hotel is also very comfortable for guests. There are guitars, accordions, a chess board all for guest use. The hotel's location is very good, being right near the river but central to the old part of town. There is a large free carpark right in front of the hotel. You can't park there on Thursday mornings due to a town market taking place, but all other times it's ok and no charge. Overall, this hotel suited our needs perfectly and if in Chinon in future, we would happily stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Well positioned and easy parking

Posted Apr 11, 2015
I would book again. Breakfast self service but eat as much as you like. Parking free!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overnight

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Taking a break on our tour of the Loire Valley, we were very pleased with this hotel. We were offered a choice of two lovely rooms. Excellent breakfast. Peter & Jeanne