Ratings based on 133 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ USA

Nice hotel with A/C in rooms.

Posted May 29, 2017
Our room was small and there's no elevator in the hotel. Great location and friendly staff. The A/C was great to have as we arrived during a heat wave. I would recommend this hotel and would stay here in the future.
4 out of 5
by Earle

Chinon stay

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice and friendly. Excellent location near old town and good parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: I'd worried about parking, but it turns out there is free parking in the huge square across the street--as long as it isn't market day, which in my stay (October 2016) was Thursdays. The hotel decor is old fashioned, which I liked. I felt like I was staying in a large country house. The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms modern with great water pressure. No problems with internet. The receptionist was really wonderful. I arrived in the evening and she even carried my suitcase up the long flight of stairs to my room while I parked my car. Breakfast was one of the best I'd had, with excellent bread and lots of choice of meat, cheese, etc. This is a great location for exploring Fortress of Chinon, Saumer and wine country nearby, and I'd go to the Abbeye of Fontevraud, which is a pretty drive, to see the tombs of Eleanor of Acquitaine, Henry II and Richard Lionheart if you are a history fan.
Cons: You need to ask how to work the heat, since the French don't keep things "on" if not necessary. That goes for nearly everywhere though.
Location: Chinon is a lovely, walkable town with excellent restaurants and provisioners (bakeries, etc.). There is a free elevator to the fortress from center.
5 out of 5
by ARLYNE from USA

Great surprise

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
Pleasant relaxing stay! owner friendly and helpful Great restaurant nearby
5 out of 5
by Roger from Cambridgeshire

Stopover

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
It was a one night stay enroute
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Hotels
The breakfast is delicious. The only thing I did not like is that,the shower head is just a handheld shower, it is not attached like a regular rain showers type thing. It's annoying, but unfortunately very common in Europe, so it's not an issue exclusively to this hotel.
3 out of 5
by Denise from Merseyside

Good location

Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
Can't fault the location, ate at the sister restaurant next door - excellent. Hotel in need of update, hairdryer did not work nor plug socket in bathroom.
3 out of 5
by Shirley from West Plains, MO

Posted Jul 2, 2016 on Hotels
The room was dark, but the bathroom was large and clean. The location is a bit away from the action of town. The free parking across the street is good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pittsburgh pa

Posted May 12, 2016
Staff great. Lots of fun. Interesting room, love the lobby.
2 out of 5
by Christine from Sompting.

Great position.

Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
We had a lovely time unfortunately the hotel is in a rather tired state especially the room. It was very shabby and lacking comfort. The bathroom although clean had a bath with hand held shower which made showering very difficult and there was no shower curtain so the floor flooded if you used the shower. The bath mat wasn't changed despite getting very wet and dirty.