Ratings based on 6 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Jakob from Blantyre, Malawi

Superb service and food

Posted Jan 10, 2016 on Hotels
We had booked one night as a stopover one our way to Lusaka, but unfortunately we had a problem with the car next morning 150 km after we left Chipata. Got a lift back to the hotel where the reception were very helpful and got in contact with a good mechanic (on a Sunday). In the end the whole family returned to Chipata and had to stay for another two nights, while the car got fixed. But a really nice stay, the surroundings are nothing spectacular situated along the main road, but the rooms and the service were really good, the food was fantastic and cheap and the pool facilities also nice. All in all an unexpected pleasant hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2016 by Khetiwe, Hotel Management
Dear Jakob, Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Chipata. We are delighted to receive your compliments regarding the service and food and we will certainly congratulate our TEAM for their exemplary service. It was a pleasure to accommodate you and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. Kind regards, Khetiwe
5 out of 5
by Andrew from Donhead St. Andrew, England

Posted Jun 19, 2015 on Hotels
I regularly visit this hotel. Past experience has shown that this is probably the best hotel in Chipata in terms of efficiency and the friendliness of the staff. Nathan in the restaurant and Andrew in the bar are always particularly welcoming.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2015
Dear Valued GUEST, Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments about your recent stay at Protea Hotel Chipata. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF you commended for their exemplary service. It was our pleasure to accommodate you and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Protea Hotel Chipata and to hearing from you again. Kind regards, William Wood General Manager Protea Hotel Chipata
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Schöner Stop vor dem Zoll

Posted Mar 23, 2015 on Hotels
sehr angenehme Unterkunft mit offenen Restaurant mit Blick auf den Pool.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Feb 10, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent for the location. Only problem was that the pool was closed for repairs!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 30, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Sam

Protea Chipata---a hidden gem

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Pros: Pool view. Staff. Food. price
Cons: More mosi control
Location: hummmmm...Chipata is not really a tourist destination. But if you are traveling between anywhere in Malawi and Lusaka, Zambia this is a great place to
Great staff. Wonderful food. Pool overlooks beautiful African bush. A real hidden treasure. Seems there is always 1 rogue mosi in the room....just be prepared for that!