Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SP10

Excellent B&B

Posted Dec 15, 2017
Location: Close to Bath
Excellent staff in a small friendly B&B. Not usually a fan of this type of accommodation but this had all I wanted - big comfy bed followed by a superb freshly cooked breakfast. The room is very well appointed with a large bathroom complete with rain shower and bath along with some quality toiletries. Would definitely recommend
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 17, 2017 by Bob Matthews, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your very kind review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta GA

Excellent B&B near Bath

Posted Dec 13, 2017
Pros: Comfortable beds and clean room and delicious breakfast with many options
Location: In the Cotswolds and near Bath and Cardiff
A delightful B&B in a quaint village conveniently located near Bath. The staff were helpful, the room comfortable and the food delicious. Would be happy to stay again if ever in the area
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 17, 2017 by Bob, Hotel Management
Please come again - thanks for your review!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 26, 2017
All round great B&B. Great location just outside Bath. Bob was very welcoming. Room was very spacious, clean and stylish. Breakfast delicious with a wide choice of options. We would recommend to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by Bob Matthews, Hotel Management
Many thanks for staying with us and for your kind review! Bob
5 out of 5
by Judi

Excellent hotel/b&b in Box - near Bath

Posted Sep 18, 2017 on Hotels
excellent hotel/b&b, met and everything sorted out with no problems. The shower room was excellent and the beds were comfy. The breakfast in the morning was first rate. Owners very friendly. In beautiful countryside just outside Bath. Also excellent meal in pub nearby as suggested in information received.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 29, 2017
Thank you for your lovely comments and feedback; we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much hope that you will visit Lorne House again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Very nice

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Place is great along with their food. Town is very quaint. Why I could not give them a 5 rating, wifi was very spotty and unreliable. Definitely would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 29, 2017 by Bob, Hotel Management
HI Tim, thank you for your kind comments and review; we have 3 separate wifi services spread across the house and have recently updated one of them which wasn't proving reliable so please do try us again! Kind regards, Bob
4 out of 5
by kay

Lovely bed and breakfast

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely B&B just outside of Bath with several local pubs and eateries close by. Only downside was traffic noise at night from our room. Plenty of parking and lovely freshly cooked breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 29, 2017
Thank you for your kind coments and review; we were delighted that you chose to stay at Lorne House and hope you will consider returning in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Stylish B&B with a little history

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Lovely house decorated with style and respect for its history - the author of Thomas the Tank Engine lived here. Breakfast was cooked to order and tasty. Make sure you observe the check in times - this wasn't obvious on Expedia - but the owner was very friendly when we found him in the annexe at the back! Plenty of evening meal options in the area, although many requiring a car and booking in advance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Bob, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your kind review and feedback Alan. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Lorne House.
5 out of 5
by Hua

A very nice BnB

Posted Aug 31, 2017 on Hotels
It is a very nice BnB. Breakfast is great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017
Thank you for your kind comments Hua - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to pretty villages

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: The breakfast was good and the breakfast room pleasant.
Cons: More time and care could be taken check in recommending places of interest nearby restaurants or pubs for dinner..
Location: Villages of Corsham and Castle Combe are especially pretty. Corsham Court is a historic house and garden within a few miles.
The rooms could be updated however it was comfortable. The owners could make a bit more effort at check in and explaining what was available in the area for sightseeing and restaurants etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Bob, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback Patricia. We always endeavour to provide information on local restaurants and places of interest where required and indeed our guest book lists 11 local pubs and restaurants which we are personally happy to recommend. Having lived in the area of 17 years we are also only too pleased to suggest places of interest locally. We are both surprised and very sorry if you felt that insufficient information was made available to you and this impacted on your stay, an aberration which is highly unusual as our many excellent reviews support.
5 out of 5
by Nicholas

Smart Country Village Hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
I found Lorne House a very pleasant place to spend a short break in rural Wiltshire. The room was comfortable with a great view and an ensuite shower room which was clean and nicely tiled. The proprietors were friendly and helpful, providing a welcome breakfast in pleasant surroundings. A short walk found a good public house and curry restaurant. There is local history to suit any railway enthusiast or military historian. Close to Bath and Chippenham, finding Lorne House is extremely easy. There is parking and a frequent bus service to the urban areas during the day. Well recommended.