Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Very nice

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Place is great along with their food. Town is very quaint. Why I could not give them a 5 rating, wifi was very spotty and unreliable. Definitely would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Stylish B&B with a little history

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Lovely house decorated with style and respect for its history - the author of Thomas the Tank Engine lived here. Breakfast was cooked to order and tasty. Make sure you observe the check in times - this wasn't obvious on Expedia - but the owner was very friendly when we found him in the annexe at the back! Plenty of evening meal options in the area, although many requiring a car and booking in advance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Bob, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your kind review and feedback Alan. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Lorne House.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to pretty villages

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: The breakfast was good and the breakfast room pleasant.
Cons: More time and care could be taken check in recommending places of interest nearby restaurants or pubs for dinner..
Location: Villages of Corsham and Castle Combe are especially pretty. Corsham Court is a historic house and garden within a few miles.
The rooms could be updated however it was comfortable. The owners could make a bit more effort at check in and explaining what was available in the area for sightseeing and restaurants etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Bob, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback Patricia. We always endeavour to provide information on local restaurants and places of interest where required and indeed our guest book lists 11 local pubs and restaurants which we are personally happy to recommend. Having lived in the area of 17 years we are also only too pleased to suggest places of interest locally. We are both surprised and very sorry if you felt that insufficient information was made available to you and this impacted on your stay, an aberration which is highly unusual as our many excellent reviews support.
5 out of 5
by Nicholas

Smart Country Village Hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
I found Lorne House a very pleasant place to spend a short break in rural Wiltshire. The room was comfortable with a great view and an ensuite shower room which was clean and nicely tiled. The proprietors were friendly and helpful, providing a welcome breakfast in pleasant surroundings. A short walk found a good public house and curry restaurant. There is local history to suit any railway enthusiast or military historian. Close to Bath and Chippenham, finding Lorne House is extremely easy. There is parking and a frequent bus service to the urban areas during the day. Well recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Nice find convenient to take bus or drive to bath. Good breakfast. Feels like home with lumpy bed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london, UK

Brilliant weekend getaway from the city

Posted Mar 6, 2017
The staff are incredibly helpful and welcoming. The room was gorgeous with a modern bathroom. I would definitely recommend this for a short break.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Arrived and shown a lovely triple room. Lovely shower with HUGE towels and toiletries. With a great breakfast in the morning all in all a great b and b
5 out of 5
by Alyson from Portsmouth

Lorne House

Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
Very helpful staff and clean room in lovely area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great room and clean

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was very nice and the decor was great. It is on the outskirts of Bath, but it is a 16 minutes drive from this accomodation. If you are willing to drive, then great. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great hotel near Bath.

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Great time and terrific breakfast! Easy trips to surrounding area.