Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Yorkshire

Unfortunately right next to a main rail line!

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: Beer garden in the shelter of the trees really was lovely - you could ALMOST block out the noise!
Cons: Standard of fixtures no more than average, and a bit of personal service wouldn't go amiss.
Location: There is a bus stop right outside for easy access to Bath without the parking hassle. Box itself is pretty with a couple of pubs and restaurants.
As detailed on their web page, The Northey Arms has been recently renovated with new rooms added to the rear of a really pleasant garden with lots of mature trees and play equipment for children. Unfortunately, the hotel is right next to a very busy road into Bath and the new rooms are no more than ten metres away from an exceptionally busy rail line which was noisy right into the night and from the early hours of the morning. The rooms are very clean but quite small. It was a case of style over substance with our room boasting a very expensive solar powered Velux window, but paper-thin bathroom door. Bathroom floor tiles had also started to crack already and it smelt damp in there. Meals were okay, but drinks expensive. We didn't find the staff rude, but they didn't go out of their way to provide excellent service. This is definitely not a 5 Star location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small room.

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Heard a generator noise running all night. Bit scruffy outside. Poorly lit dining area. Wouldn't rate it anyway near a 5 star.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester

Nice hotel convenient for us as we were visiting i

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Everything excellent. Don't know why the first question reply turned orange when the other boxes turned yellow
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel outside of Bath

Posted May 14, 2017
Beautiful hotel with nice rooms, good breakfast, and friendly staff. After our experience I would recommend either staying directly in Bath or getting other transportation into Bath so that you can then walk around the city. DO NOT try to drive around Bath yourself. Otherwise, this is splendid place to stay. Be aware that some rooms are in a detached building from the main hotel and they are along the railroad with trains running by occasionally. This is not too bad though since the trains are quiet and short.
4 out of 5
by Kathleen

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
Very clean, very friendly and helpful staff. Would stay here again and recommend it to friends and relatives.
4 out of 5
by Annette

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
The Northey Arms is excellently placed to visit Bath. We also visited Lacock, Castle Combe and Wells. We used the Park and Ride when visiting Bath which worked really well. The food was excellent especially in the evening with generous portions. Our room was in the separate building and contrary to other reviews we hardly noticed the trains. Our room and bathroom were spacious but some of the tiling in the bathroom was cracked on the walls, floor and around the window. The accommodation was very warm as was the water. The Dining Room was not especially clean, the carpet needed a vacuum and one of the windows and the window pane looked very tired. However we slept very well and our room was very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

Ideally located for Bath

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Lovely little hotel on the main road into Bath. Stayed here for one night as cheaper than staying in the centre. Room was lovely, clean and well presented. Food in the evening was excellent and staff were attentive even though it was very busy. Our only downside if you can call it that was that the price of drinks was extortionate but then so was pretty much everywhere in Bath.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing! Amazing! Amazing!

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Location: Very close to Bath,
Staff were lovely, rooms was nice size, with amazing bathrooms. The thing I would recommend the most is the food, I would happily travel back for the amazing dinner I had there. The staff were so nice and accommodating throughout stay. Will definitely be returning!
5 out of 5
by Marion

Pleasand one night stay for family party locally.

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Accommodation in the new lodges at the back of the hotel was excellent. Beautiful modern interior with really comfortable beds and linen. Enormous shower and bathroom. Television and coffee machine provided. Breakfast in the hotel was very good and service slightly slow because it was so busy. We would definitely come again and recommend it to friends and family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Uxbridge, UK

12 minutes from Bath centre.

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Rooms, restaurant, roaring fires, location and cleanliness.
Location: 12 minute drive from Bath centre.
Spotlessly clean rooms and very modern. We had three rooms but try to plump for room number 6 in the annex. Very large and fabulous bathroom. Nice breakfast with choice of cereal, fresh orange juice and vast selection of cooked. Wonderful restaurant which had a lovely atmosphere and had a couple of fires which were lit for us as soon as we walked in for breakfast, nice touch. Would certainly recommend. We'll be back.