Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Niagara Falls, Canada

Great location. Highly Recommend.

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Great location in a beautiful town. Walk the streets and enjoy the little shops along the way.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from KYOTO,JAPAN

Good breakfast

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Food
Cons: ドアが閉まりづらく、鍵をかけるのに少しコツが必要だった。
Location: 歴史的な建造物群の中の施設なので、シティーホテルの快適さを求めるのは間違っていると思います。
翌日の式典参加のため1泊しました。 部屋は、ドアが閉まりづらかったり、調度品が痛んでいたり、多少の我慢は必要かもしれません。 ただし朝食は、いわゆる「Full breakfast」で、チェックインの時に朝食の時間とメニューの好みをチェックするシートを渡され、その日中にフロントに渡しておけば、翌朝その通りの朝食が用意されていました。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Quaint and comfortable

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Really cute and comfortable room. Ate at the pub below and it was nice (fairly standard in fare). All in all - a pleasant stay
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Lovely historic hotel, excellent location

Posted Jul 19, 2016
We stayed for one-night in July in a four-poster bed in the Jethro room. It was a beautiful room, lots of character, with a wooden beamed ceiling, open fireplace, and of course the lovely four-poster bed. The bathroom was huge with a massive bath-tub, and separate walk-in shower. The location is perfect - directly onto the High Street, with separate access to the room from Sheep Street so you don't need to go into the Red Lion. And despite being so central and right on Sheep Street, it was very quiet and hardly any passing traffic. The carpark has approx 7 spaces so you might need to park on the High St if it is full. We decided to have dinner here as it had good reviews and we were both pleased with our dishes - steak & ale pie, and fish & chips. Both good portions, very hot, and tasty. Breakfast was excellent, and lots of choice. You have to select what you want the night before from the cooked breakfast list, along with a time slot - starting at 8am. There was also juice, cereals and yoghurts which you could help yourself to. The only things to be aware of are: 1) If you are quite tall (my partner is 6ft 2"), you will struggle to fit in the bed as there is a wooden board at the bottom. 2) The floor boards from the room above creak quite a lot and you can hear noise and movement. 3) Breakfast only starts from 8am, so could be an issue if you need to leave early 4) The curtains in the Jethro room were very thin so an eye-mask if you are a light sleeper !
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Restoration

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Beautifully restored historic inn in the quaint village of Chipping Campden
4 out of 5
by Dana Roger from Langley BC

Quaint old Inn with great service

Posted Jun 12, 2016 on Hotels
We had a one night stay in June 2016. The check-in was friendly and efficient. The room was clean and well maintained, the decor was appropriate for an inn of that age. Service in the bar and the restaurant was excellent. Its a great old with tremendous character, I'd go back without hesitation.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Storybook location. Beautiful, quaint property.

Posted Jun 5, 2016
Pros: Historical building that is clean and cozy.
Location: Cotswolds .... Pure magic!
Fun, charming, interesting, clean, comfortable, helpful staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Harpenden

Cosy pub

Posted May 27, 2016
Pros: Central location and cosy atmosphere.
Cons: Hot water to the big bath!
Location: The village is wonderful and we had a fabulous walk up to the top of the hill and looked out over all the countryside.
We were here for a one night stay and the room was large and comfortable..Large bath but couldn't seem to get hot water there in the evening!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A pub with rooms

Posted May 20, 2016
Very pleasant stay. Staff helpful and friendly. Room was comfortable and breakfast good. Parking in a busy town was useful. Enjoyed our stay but nothing startling.
3 out of 5
by Ellen from Watford

Lovely location made up for average hotel

Posted May 11, 2016 on Hotels
Positives: Staff were very friendly and obliging. Hotel has great location and the four poster room we were given had it's own entrance from the street. The hotel oozed historical charm. Downsides: Our room didn't feel especially well maintained. The decor was shabby in places, the bath was unusable due to faulty taps, and loo seat was wobbly - as was the bed! Breakfast options were also a bit limited - great for people who enjoy a full english but not so great if you prefer veggie or healthy options.