Ratings based on 287 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brighton

Great hotel but food was terrible

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Great hotel with amazing views again the food was terrible, lukewarm no taste. We order room service and yet again the panni tasted of rubber. I would recommend the hotel but not the food here
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 1, 2018
Pros: Really nice grounds with beautiful wildlife about and interesting old buildings on site.
Cons: General staff seem to rush about, then others would see something needing attention but do nothing themselves but go to find someone else to deal it.
Overall a nice relaxing stay, with great spar facilities. but service wasn't great at times and the rush of staff members trying to keep up with customer demands made for quite a busy enviroment in the public area. However fantastic grounds, beautiful wild life and amazing old buildings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Nice hotel ... but

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Nice hotel.. but they forgot cupboards or even drawers in the room!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Work being undertaken, staff were unhelpful

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Poor lighting in car park and room was adequate however there was a draft coming in through the window. Staff compared to the other three hotels which were budget were unhelpful. Disappointed in room decor and facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham, UK

Nice hotel in lovely surroundings

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: see above
Cons: see above
Had a lovely stay. The hotel is large and a map was available on request. The Crowne Plaza is attached to the Heythrop manor hotel resort. The decor was modern and facilities in the rooms were fine.The beds were comfy and we couldn't hear any noise from the other guests. We tried out the bar, the spa and the afternoon tea. Two points on the afternoon tea in the Wedgewood room. It was a beautiful space with wonderful views but as we were the only ones having the tea I think we were forgotten as we were only offered only 1 jug (not pot) of tea each. Secondly the Wedgewood themed decor was very impressive but unfortunately the tea was served on/in run-of-the-mill catering crockery rather than eclectic bone china that would have made it special. On the whole though, a pleasant & relaxing stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wing

Nice hotel in a great location

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Lovely location, quiet with great scenery
Cons: Dressing table in our room was chipped so made it look shabby. Bed cover had 2 pen marks on it as well as the carpet and one of the towels.
Location: Walking
Hotel is in a lovely quiet location next to the golf course. There are 2 hotels, Crowne Plaza which is an extension of the old building containing Heythrop Park hotel which used to be a college.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Isolated setting

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: The spa is probably very nice, but I didn't have the chance to use it
Cons: A skilled interior designer, should be employed to improve the appearance of the public areas, with a view to instilling charm and warmth
Location: As indicated above the hotel is a long way from the the delights of Chipping Norton.. Bicester Shopping Village can be reached within 30 mins
Disappointed to find that hotel was in the "district" of Chipping Norton, more than 3 miles from the town of Chipping Norton.. The hotel lacks charm or character
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cambridgeshire

Very nice stay - great rooms and staff

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Rooms were spacious with good facilities. Lived up to expectations and as described on the website
Cons: Pool was very busy on a Saturday afternoon and was a child's club, which of course works for families but not couples or friends looking to swim
Location: Taxis are not cheap into town and need to be booked ahead, as the service is limited. I can highly recommend the Whistlers as a great place to eat
Executive bedrooms were lovely with a fabulous shower and bath. Two large twin beds which were comfortable. Safe and tea/coffee facilities. Only improvement would be better lighting - both bedroom and bathroom were poorly lit for make up etc. But aside that, a great stay. Staff are very welcome and friendly. Good breakfast too. A well managed hotel, which made a nice change
4 out of 5
by Rebeka

Posted Sep 18, 2017 on Hotels
I booked this hotel three months ago as my husband and I celebrated our 5th wedding anniversary and was very close to Blenheim Palace which we visited over two days due to my health. Can't fault the hotel which is in stunning surroundings and got to see a muntjac deer in the woodlands! The staff where very friendly and welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north somerset

Perfect!

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Beautiful setting, friendly and helpful staff too!