Ratings based on 294 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Certainly not 5*

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Pros: Staff and food
Cons: Plenty- see above.
I stayed for a conference, at my own expense. The food served throughout the conference was wonderful, and the staff were all very courteous and helpful. However, I would not recommend your hotel to my friends. I had a lot of problems with the electrics in my bedroom. Two or three times my key wold not work and I had to trek back to reception to get it recalibrated. The bathroom light was flickering when I first arrived, but was fixed by maintenance when I reported it. The wardrobe lights came on whenever I walked anywhere near the wardrobe. Not good in the night. One of the bedside lamps buzzed all the time it was on. The hairdryer didn't work (Housekeeping brought me another one) The window would only open a crack. Glass recycling and staff chatting and shouting outside my window after midnight. Lumpy pillows. Frayed towels. Doors from inside hotel to outside in a terrible state of decoration with paint missing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Lovely Hotel. A real surprise.

Posted Sep 30, 2017
I booked this and my friends were very impressed. Try to stay at park Hotel rather than Plaza if you like old Vs new. Didn't look at adjacent plaza but bar etc was in that and was clean and modern. both hotels are ajoined- just different entrances- a bit confusing when you drive up the massive driveway, but all part of the fun/ exploration feel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice old fashioned hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2017
We enjoyed our one night stay. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds. The decor of the room wasn't to our taste but it was clean and comfortable. For £10 each the breakfast is pretty good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel with great staff

Posted Sep 9, 2017
I cannot fault the hotel. We loved everything from the room, to the grounds, to the staff. I would definitely recommend to stay in one of the main house rooms, doing so really made our stay. The grounds were vast and had so much to explore and do, we didn't even leave the hotel as we originally planned. We can't wait to come back soon to carry on exploring
4 out of 5
by Christian

Noisy Stay

Posted Aug 16, 2017 on Hotels
Nice stay. Great Location. Very noisy in the mornings when service vehicles arrive. spoilt the experience.
4 out of 5
by Daniel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Simon

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 6, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Diane

Conference centre with golf facilities.

Posted Aug 5, 2017 on Hotels
It was a wet day when we arrived at Heythrop Park Hotel. The signage from the main road was dreadful. Once we found the correct hotel (we first tried to check in at the Crown Plaza which is the first one you see when driving up the private access road), the receptionist was busy, there was limited access to the front of the hotel, and parking was prohibited apparently due to fire regulations. We were allocated a room in the Annex, which was across the courtyard from the main building.The old door was propped open by wet towels- a great introduction! Our room was very small (we had booked a standard double room) which was so small that if you had a regular size suitcase you could not have dragged it into the room and past the bed. The window was opaqued and was an old sash type window. We could not get it to stay open to ventilate the room, so had to prop it open using the waste bin as there was no air conditioning. The bathroom was also very small, but modern with what appeared to be a decent shower, however there was a rolled towel across the entrance to the shower, and when we used it we found that, as inadequate drainage, and poor design water was slow to drain; it then washes out across the rest of the bathroom! The room, I am sure would be adequate for a single person but for two, totally unacceptable. Not even up to Travel Lodge Standards. The room had nowhere to hang used bath towels or wet coats! Restaurant, busy, poor service, food ok ish.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful surroundings.....

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Beautiful surroundings, wish we'd had more time to explore the extensive grounds and relax in the spa
5 out of 5
by Mike

Excellent hotel

Posted Jul 23, 2017 on Hotels
The main hotel is stunning and all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The food is amazing and we would definitely recommend this hotel.