Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by John

Good hotel, excellent staff.

Posted Mar 16, 2017 on Hotels
Codru Hotel faces Ștefan cel Mare (the Great) Central Park and is a short walk from Boulevard Stefan cel Mare and the shopping area. A few good restaurants are nearby with excellent Moldovan cuisine and local music. Codru is a nice and clean hotel with excellent food, especially the dinner. They have a good wine selection too - don't miss the reds with the local grapes, Rara Neagra and Sapravi. The staff are English speaking and were excellent. Negatives - not too many, but do they really need to have caged parrots within the dining room? The chap impersonating a cat was pretty good but I would rather have him flying in the beautiful forests of Moldova.
5 out of 5
by Paula M

Warmth and comfort in Chisinau

Posted Feb 12, 2017 on Hotels
For international travelers wanting a comfortable, friendly hotel near UN buildings and a 10-minute walk to central business district, the Hotel Codru is very nice. I hear it has been bought by a bank and may not exist much longer, though. That will be a pity. A receptionist made taxi reservations and reservation at Cricova winery, which was nice to have done for me.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great choice

Posted Dec 3, 2016 on Hotels
A great hotel with a fantastic breakfast and a perfect location for exploring all the charming sights of Chișinău. Staff could be a bit more attentive and the WiFi connection was very sketchy in my room. Furthermore, I expect individual toiletries in a 4* property and not dispensers in the bathroom and shower.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good place

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels
Good hotel, could use some updating, but room was comfortable, clean, and large for Europe. Very good breakfasts. Avoid the wine shop in the lobby; they are charging restaurant prices.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from UK

Good situation close to park

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: Location, and a good room that worked for me.
Cons: Cannot comment due to short stay
Location: Walking into park, and within a walk to a few bars/restaurats
Only arrived late and checked out next morning, but have booked to return on the 31st for 11 nights
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2016 by Teodor Birsa, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Geoff, thank you for your kind review. We are looking forward to your next stay with us!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Surprise discovery of the great wines of Moldova

Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Hotels
Staff was very helpful. Breakfast was good but not great. There were no in room safes.. We did feel that door to our balcony did not lock properly but it did look over a beautiful park. We were assisted with private car transportation to a nearby monestary and also to Varna, Bulgaria.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your valuable feedback! Best regards, Teodor Birsa, General Manager.
1 out of 5
by GALINA

Terrible place to be stuck for nine days.

Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Hotels
The security guards were very rude. The wi fi was inexistent in my room, and i had to use it in the lobby. The overall customer service was poor. Other then the location being right in the center city, i cannot say one good thing about this hotel. I would never stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Galina, Thank you for your feedback, although it is nothing to be proud of. I have personally looked into the issues mentioned in your review. We have substantially increased the strength of the wi-fi signal. We have also changed all the staff in our security service. Nonetheless, please accept my apologies for the unpleasant experience during your stay. Best regards, Teodor Birsa General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent modern hotel

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Codru is right in the centre of the city, my room with a generous balcony overlooked Pushkin Park. The room was very clean and well appointed. The foyer area was spacious, modern and well designed. The bar was very reasonably priced with well trained friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2016 by Teodor Birsa, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for the positive review. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Anna from Kiev, Kyiv city, Ukraine

Great for business travellers and public events

Posted Nov 20, 2012
Pros: Room, room service (food)
Cons: Public areas, incld. breakfast area
Location: Excellent location; most central; easy to get to anywhere in the city; cute green park in front; quiet and cosy
Stayed there for business in Nov 2012; excellent center city location with cute park in front; the rooms are cosy, nice bed, neat linen, free WiFi; room service and reception was very polite and friendly; ordered from room service menu - excellent food (though the menu quite limited); breakfasts are included and are Ok; yet, it's a big Soviet style hotel with many floors, public spaces (incl. breakfast area) are chilly, look old and unfriendly; generally, had a very nice stay; strongly recommend for business travellers and big events if you need conference rooms and accommodation for participants under the same roof.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2016 by Teodor, Hotel Management
Dear Anna, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and for your kind words as well. I am pleased to let you know that since your last stay, all of the hotel's public areas have been fully refurbished. We are looking forward to surprise you with our new look next time!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Alte Gebäude

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Das Hotel liegt sehr zentral, Frühstück ist gut. Das Personal bemüht sich nicht genug. Das Zimmer ist sehr alt ausgerichtet und das Hotel ist ein sehr alte Gebäude. ( sieht überhaupt nicht gut und auch nicht wie im Internet.