Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
25% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Extremely Disappointing Experience

Posted Jun 22, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Outdoor pool
Cons: Staff. It is a hotel after all, you're going to have international guests. Get someone who can at least speak 4 words of English!
Location: Walk to the Center and get a room at another hotel!
I arrived in Chisinau airport at 6 in the morning and took a taxi to this hotel where I had made a reservation a month ahead of time through Orbitz. When I arrived at the hotel, the woman at the front desk looked completely puzzled. She did not speak a single word of English and made it known to me that I wasn't on the book for that day or any other day at all. Having made this reservation a month ahead and wanting to make sure I had a place to stay when I arrived after a grueling 22 hour flight, I was obviously disappointed. The woman kept telling me to wait in Russian, so I waited. And waited and waited. She was very nice and offered me two cups of coffee while I was waiting and allowed me to use their Wi-Fi so I did. After an hour and a half of waiting, I decided that since I really didn't know what I was waiting for and my entire stay in Chisinau was only 1 day anyway, I should stop wasting time and get myself another hotel. So, I made a reservation at another hotel and walked away. I came home to find out that they had charged me $500 for an alleged "no show" reservation which is not only an outright lie but also a total scam! The entire room price would have been $27 had they had a room, been able to keep their end of the bargain and honored my reservation, let alone speak English so they could at least communicate what had gone wrong. They do not deserve to be rewarded for failing to keep their end of the bargain. Do not do business with these shady people!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 22, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is situated at the center, but in a dark street. If you go out at night, the way back can be unpleasent. There is a nice outdoor pool.
4 out of 5
by Mustafa

The hotel you won't find

Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was good and clean, off road parking was great, finding the hotel was impossible, even the local police could not find it
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WA

Bad experience with this hotel when I made reserva

Posted May 29, 2017
Bad experience with this hotel. When I made a reservation I asked for a single room with a king bed but got 2 twin beds. I do not recommend this hotel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from KEY WEST FLORIDA

Posted Apr 15, 2017
The place looks good but that is all. The staff is horrible, incompetent and unprofessional. I booked a room in advance and paid for it with my credit card. When I arrived and tried to check in I was told I owed them the money for my room even though I had a receipt about my previous payment. Instead of accommodating me, girls from front desk were demanding the money and showing extreme rudeness
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cavalier attitude to guests - Evicted from room

Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Hotels
My experience at Hotel Edem was described by the one English speaking member of staff as "terrible". I arrived at hotel Edem on October 7 directly from Chisinau airport. At the reception I went to check in whereby the receptionist informed me it was "not possible ". With some difficulty I found the booking on my hotels.com app. and showed it to her. However it made no difference there was still no room for me. The staff made some attempt to find me an alternative hotel but failed to find one. Fortunately I was able to use the app to book and pay for a room at Regency hotel. The staff at Eden booked me a taxi and asked me if I would return tomorrow when the room was available. I said I would. I returned to Hotel Edem on Saturday 8th at 1pm and checked into room 1. I left the hotel 15 minutes to go on a wine tour. I returned at 7 pm wherein entering the hotel I could see my bag packed and sitting in the lobby. The English speaking staff member said "Sorry we had to give your room to someone who had paid in advance". Then she made her "this is terrible" remark . Fortunately there was a room still available at the Regency where I returned. I am still feeling angry that I could be treated in such a cavalier way by a hotels.com approved hotel. It is not a nice experience to arrive in a non EU country like Moldova and to find that you have nowhere to sleep at 11pm on the weekend of a major sporting event. For this to happen twice in the same short stay is "difficult".
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bait and Switch

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Cons: Service, cleanliness, and pretty much everything else. (How can Expedia host this property?)
Certainly not the experience I am accustomed to with Expedia or any of the bookings I have had in the past. Upon arrival to Edem Hotel I was told that I was to pay more money than I had reserved it for. The pool was drained, fair enough, it wasn't quite summer yet. But we were looking forward to using the sauna so we requested to see it before paying the ADDITIONAL cost of the ROOM. We were told it was in working order and we could use it, it was only after we had already paid for the room that we were told that it would be another ADDITIONAL cost to use the sauna. Once we saw the room, we knew we had been played as fools. Stained dirty carpet, broken shower (not only the shower head, also the shower door didn't close), sheets that didn't even cover the whole mattresses and the mattresses were so blown out that all you could feel was springs. Worst of all, the breakfast was so dodgy with yogurt that had gone way past off, moldy bread, and cold eggs that you couldn't even eat it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Please avoid this hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Pros: Room was large and spacious
Cons: More english speakers Less overcharging
Location: Very far from city centre
Got to the hotel in the early hours. No problems checking in. When I went to pay the next day they tried charging me £12 more than the booking price on expedia. Hotels in Chisinau are already overpriced and cost more than western hotels. No english speaking staff either. I didnt read all the reviews on expedia I only glanced at the rating; if I read them I would not have gone to this hotel. No water in swimming pool.
4 out of 5
by Marc from Cyprus

Edem Hotel, Chisinau, Moldova

Posted Nov 20, 2015 on Hotels
I booked the room and upon arrival the administrator asked if I wanted to add breakfast. I said ok, and let her know that I had to be at the train station by 7 am. Came down for breakfast at six, was told that the restaurant didn't open until 7:30. So, I paid for a breakfast that I could not get. Room had two small single beds. I booked a double. Only place to eat was at least a ten minute walk. Not a great place for a hotel.
1 out of 5
by Hrishikesh from London

The worst place to live in Chisinav

Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
The bed sheets were old and not washed. The rooms are not clean either. Furniture is old as well. There are no curtains so you get up automatically with the sunlight. The hotel has got water problem. I had to leave the hotel in the middle of my stay and shift to other hotel, as there was no water for 2 days.