Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Cons: need more variety for breakfast . only provide one person for breakfast.
good location. nearby shopping area and interest point.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Great location

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: This is a very nice serviced apartment right in the heart of the city, but once you are up in your room, it is quiet and peaceful with great views.
Cons: The hotel lobby is on the 9th floor and has 3 entrances, if you find the best one on the main road the first time this won't be an issue.
Location: It's a short walk to Arhat Temple and the bright lights of the shopping area around Times Square.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great location, clean & comfy but wrong bed size

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: Excellent room size, layout, furnishings and cleanliness.
Cons: Provide what is advertised.
This hotel has everything going for it - great location, large, clean comfortable rooms with nice views and reasonably priced - but what prevents me from giving it 5 stars for the overall rating is their failure to deliver on the king-size bed that was explicitly part of the booking. The room we were assigned was all of the above except that it had a queen-size bed. When we pointed out the discrepancy with the booking they attempted to assuage our disappointment with a somewhat larger room. Though the room was indeed larger and, as it turned out, quieter (not facing a construction site), there was no commensurate increase in the size of the bed. Breakfast was excellent with choices of English, Chinese, and even Japanese dishes however they would only issue one breakfast ticket per room per night even though there were two of us staying; not a big deal, we just used both tickets the first morning and went out for congee and buns the 2nd. There was always at least one member of the reception staff on-hand who could speak excellent English.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 10, 2016
Very conveniently located with shopping and eatery facilities nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CHINA/USA

It was wonderful. The staff were exceptional!

Posted Mar 14, 2016
Pros: Everything. And everyone.
Cons: None
Location: Perfect location for me. Many things to see and also walking distance to most everything.
As a first time visitor to the hotel but also as a first time at the fabulous city of Chongqing, the staff made it all very easy for me. I was very totally satisfied with the whole stay. Kevin
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Ideal location

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Pros: Everything from cleanliness, location, and staff.
Location: Close to the ports if leaving on a cruise. Central to shopping, dining, everything.
This hotel was amazing. It was actually like an apartment. It even had a washing machine included. Very clean. The staff was amazingly helpful and friendly, and the views of the city were astounding.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Good hotel in a great location

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Pros: Central location. cleanness.
Cons: As mentioned in summary, breakfast and off season air conditioning should be more flexible.
Location: Jiefanbei, chaotianmen are both walking distance.
Located close to the city landmark JieFangBei and walking distance to chaotianmen where the Yangze river and Jialing river merge, this residence hotel is a great option in ChongQing, and I was glad I chose it over another hotel chain. The mattress, pillows are comfortable. Room is clean and you can walk in socks. It has a small kitchen with all necessities for cooking (however I never tried, who would cook if you have abundant restaurants and street food around) and a washer. Very centrally located, walking distance to all downtown attractions. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good wifi coverage throughout. Getting around is pretty easy too, including to the airport, as it's 3 minutes walk to the light rail station of line 1 and 6. Things to improve: 1. The breakfast has both western and Chinese food, the selection is ok but it's way too plain and of low quality, which I think it's a shame that the hotel is in the city where SiChuan food is originated. 2. I happened to be in Chongqing when the heat wave hit in mid October. It was 30c degrees during the day. For some strange reason the air conditioning was only operating during the day but was turned off at mid night by the mysterious "engineering group" and the room temperature would soar to 25c, very uncomfortable. I complained almost daily, and finally on my last night the air con was working all night. Overall, this is a very good price performance hotel and it's highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Great place excellent position really enjoyed our stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ty khuu from Calgary Alberta Canada

Very nice apartment and central for every thing

Posted Nov 14, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Carole from Buckinghamshire, England

A good value alternative to a hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2010
the Somerset Jiefangbei is not a hotel but serviced apartments but the facilities are just the same. Taxi drivers don't know where it is, so keep the phone number handy and the reception desk will explain to them. The studio apartment is small but adequate with a little kitchenette. They provide pans, dishes and cutlery but not even salt so if you're only there a night or two you probably won't use the kithcen - if you're there longer, there is a supermarket just down the road - and a veg stall just outside the building. It is situated on Minzu Lu, right in central downtown chongqing so shops are close by and its easy walking distance to both of the cable cars and Chaotianmen square. We enjoyed a morning in Ciqikou village wherethere are snacks and giftshops a plenty. And of course the Three Gorges boat trip - brilliant!